We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Chipping Norton hotels

Crown and Cushion Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Crown and Cushion Hotel to your Saves list
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
45%
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Chipping Norton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Thomas N Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (384)
  • Photos (78)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (107)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    103
    61
    62
    87
See reviews for
74
182
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited restaurant on Friday evening as they had an advert outside,2 steak dinners & a bottle of wine for 25 pounds.It was lovely and we would recommend.Great value,polite staff and a night out which didn`t break the bank!Keep these kind of offers and we will keep coming back.Also we pop in for lunch often and are never disappointed.good portions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

stayed weekend 13/7 2014. found car=parking to rear of hotel.allocated room 21 which was supposed to be upgraded. room had old furniture which was shabby. skirting board was grubby as was the walls . the bathroom was ok & looked to have been recently refurbished . restaurant was shut so walked across road & had good meal @ blue boar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was oldy worldy and very quaint but the bedrooms need a face lift. My problems were the bedroom was very small, the bed was like a hammock and my wife had to sleep on the floor, but she did not sleep.2nd night they provided a z bed but one of the slats broke in the night and the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was a good size but rather tired. The bathroom was very dated with no proper shower (just a handheld over a freestanding bath) and basin taps that are loose. We were above the kitchen, so there was a noisy extractor fan outside window. The staff were dreadful. The owner was totally uninterested in booking us in (my wife... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jcs1945, Owner at Crown and Cushion Hotel, responded to this review

We as a company take complaints very seriously and we do all we can to ensure you have a good stay at our hotel. We are very surprised to receive these comments. We could not check you in early as we explained check in is from 2pm as guests only check out at 11am. However if we had been made... More

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location,staff and choice of food and drinks were very good.Reception staff and bar staff were excellent. One young man from Poland,Daniel, was polite,helpful and lovely to talk to. The hotel is very old and would benefit from some refurbishment. Our bedroom was quite good for the price but the decor was suffering from some fatigue.As retired travellers we would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good stuff: warm welcome, lovely old building, swimming pool, clean room, well stocked bar, super location. The not so good: the wifi in our room did not work and the decor was a bit tired. The four poster bed looked like it had seen better days too. There wasn't enough loo roll and no one answering the phone at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

.....the Room 14 was directly above the passage between the Bar and Restaurant and the smell of those smokers in this passage way, both when passing through and in our bedroom just detracted from a wonderful stay. The Polish staff were very friendly and obliging. The breakfasts were plentiful and varied in choice from cereals to full cooked English and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We picked this hotel for a 2 night stop over on our way home. Attracted by a four poster bed we booked with the proviso that the room is easily accessible as we are both disabled and also have to carry a lot of luggage and equipment. The room, No.39, was situated at the top of the very tight car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Narberth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is ok! cleanliness is fine, but staff attitude is very poor! It's a shame because the place has potential, it's just poorly run with a don't care attitude. We waited about twenty minutes at reception before any one acknowledged us and then we were treated as if we were disturbing them, this continued later with the bar staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What can I say? An old English hotel with surprisingly large rooms. The furniture is quite old and the bathroom isn't according to contemporary standard. But the major drawbacks are: 1. Access to most of the rooms is difficult due to extremely narrow corridors and stairs, especially if you have to carry large luggage. 2. The breakfast is awful: dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Crown and Cushion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Crown and Cushion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Cushion Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown and Cushion Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Crown and Cushion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown And Cushion
Crown And Cushion Chipping Norton

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer