We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Burford hotels

Golden Pheasant

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Hotel amenities
Golden Pheasant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Pheasant to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Burford
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Danny K Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    67
    35
    32
    16
See reviews for
15
134
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (202)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in January 2015, a very cold couple of days, but our room was very warm when we entered it, always a welcoming sign. It was a ground floor room in an annexe, just yards from the main building, and the car was immediately outside. Plenty of hot water at all times, and a comfortable room. One thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly it should be said that Burford is a fine example of Cotswold beauty and style. Set on quite a steep hill, the high street has shops and inns on both sides of the road and it's easy to spend a day or two in Burford. The Golden Pheasant is perfectly located right in the heart of the town, on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stirling
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately I was in the area on business for three days so didn't get to see much of the area (although I have visited before) and stayed at the Golden Pheasant. It's a very old building and so the rooms are quite small (well mine was) and oddly shaped but the bed was clean and very comfortable and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Bought a groupon voucher as a treat and it seems the hotel have sold more than they can cope with as they are unable to accommodate our booking on a weekend between now and mid march when the voucher expires! Management attitude to the lack of availability was very poor. Not the least bit apologetic even though there are rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review

The Groupon offer was launched in October 2014. We provided Groupon with 546 rooms which was more than enough accommodation to accommodate the 189 vouchers sold. We cannot be held responsible for the fact that you have decided to book a room half way through the promotional booking period, only to find that we do not have availability on your... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Stayed at the Golden Pheasant as we had a wedding in the local area. We had booked a few months back and chose this as out of all the others in the area this was the best value for money (and even £90 a night is not cheap). I thought the room could probably have done with a little bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

This was my third overnight stay at The Golden Pheasant over a period of about 15 years. It is still as comfortable, clean & cosy as previously & I have no complaints. The ample breakfast is cooked to order which is always a treat and my single Sunday night was excellent value. I don't feel any inclination to try any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Stayed one night. It seems to be a lottery which room you get. We had a small room over the bar and overlooking the High Street. It was small, had a lumpy matress and a tiny bathroom with a mouldy shower. The noise from the bar and customers leaving the premises continued to 1:30 am. On the upside, the breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Have just returned from 1 one night stay at the Golden Pheasant in Burford. We arrived on Sunday afternoon to find the little High Street was extremely busy & we were worried that we would not be able to park anywhere but luckily the Golden Pheasant has private parking situated to the rear of the property. When we went into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Lovely hotel on a lovely cotswolds High St . We had the attic four poster bedroom which had nice period furniture in it. The check in was easy and the breakfast in the morning was very nice , the sausages where very tasty from the butchers further up the street. We tried a few of the pubs and all where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Lovely Cotswold hotel in the high street, easy to find. As expected a little old room, up just one small flight of stairs, good enough for the money. The shower was not very powerful and the floor a little uneven but this is the Cotswolds. Think the staff could have checked the rooms a little better, we found someone's jumpers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Golden Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pheasant

Address: High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Pheasant 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Pheasant Burford

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay