We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Burford hotels

Golden Pheasant

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Hotel amenities
Golden Pheasant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Pheasant to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Burford
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
weekender79584 Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    69
    38
    32
    16
See reviews for
15
138
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (207)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

We stayed here on a Groupon deal. We asked for a quiet room and were given 312 which is outside the main hotel adjacent to the small car park. The room was comfortable but basic. The furnishings are modern and tidy but from a budget range. There is very little drawer space and the carpet has seen better days. However... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked on line. Persuaded by the attractive photographs of four poster bedrooms. BUT be aware, not all are like that. You are staying in a pub with rooms and no formal restaurant. Though the price was still £100 per night, we had an outside accessed courtyard room. It was clean, but very worn looking. carpets particularly worn. Dark bathroom. Flimsy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review

Sorry you did not stay in a four poster room like the pictures because you did not pay for a four poster room, you elected to pay for a standard double. Most of our rooms are newly furnished and have new bathrooms. Our choice of draught beers comprise 3 lagers, one stout, one cider, and four real ales. This is... More 

Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at Golden Pheasant as it is located in a calm and quaint part of the country. There wasn't a lot of handy information given to us at the reception. However, the 'bird' theme at the hotel is quite impressive and the breakfast served was nice too. We visited in Nov 2013 and would stay longer if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cheshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First impression, very quaint hotel in a beautiful location. Unfortunately the room left a lot to be desired - on arrival we were told our room was separate from the bathroom which meant accessing it via the corridor. We were not really concerned about this although having to get dressed in the middle of the night to go to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived on Friday evening at the end of January. We were given our room in the courtyard (312) this was comfortable and clean. We then went to the bar and the staff informed us that they were extending the premises and that there would be more rooms added - not as nice as the one's upstairs which had four... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We stayed here in January 2015, a very cold couple of days, but our room was very warm when we entered it, always a welcoming sign. It was a ground floor room in an annexe, just yards from the main building, and the car was immediately outside. Plenty of hot water at all times, and a comfortable room. One thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Firstly it should be said that Burford is a fine example of Cotswold beauty and style. Set on quite a steep hill, the high street has shops and inns on both sides of the road and it's easy to spend a day or two in Burford. The Golden Pheasant is perfectly located right in the heart of the town, on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stirling
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Unfortunately I was in the area on business for three days so didn't get to see much of the area (although I have visited before) and stayed at the Golden Pheasant. It's a very old building and so the rooms are quite small (well mine was) and oddly shaped but the bed was clean and very comfortable and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Bought a groupon voucher as a treat and it seems the hotel have sold more than they can cope with as they are unable to accommodate our booking on a weekend between now and mid march when the voucher expires! Management attitude to the lack of availability was very poor. Not the least bit apologetic even though there are rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review

The Groupon offer was launched in October 2014. We provided Groupon with 546 rooms which was more than enough accommodation to accommodate the 189 vouchers sold. We cannot be held responsible for the fact that you have decided to book a room half way through the promotional booking period, only to find that we do not have availability on your... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Stayed at the Golden Pheasant as we had a wedding in the local area. We had booked a few months back and chose this as out of all the others in the area this was the best value for money (and even £90 a night is not cheap). I thought the room could probably have done with a little bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Golden Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pheasant

Address: High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Pheasant 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Pheasant Burford

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay