We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Burford hotels

Golden Pheasant

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Golden Pheasant to your Saves list
Golden Pheasant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
57%
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Burford
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
Robert C
  • Overview
  • Reviews (180)
  • Photos (23)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (64)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    56
    31
    30
    16
See reviews for
15
122
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Stayed overnight for a wedding,what a wonderful place,room was excellent had a four poster bed,large room and bathroom fantastic and great breakfast,staff very helpful,easy parking and great bar,can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
oxford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location was excellent, right on the main street in reach of shops and restaurants. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was basic but good. The room itself was also basic but with some rustic charm, a lovely fireplace etc...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Ideal place for a short break great staff great food great service would go back or recommend to friends/ family , this is a quaint little town you can park at the hotel , but not a lot of spaces , spaces in the town though ..two minute walk

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed hear last night and found it to be fine. The staff were lovely and friendly and kindly let us in the room early which was much appreciated. We love the area. Only thorn in our side is the taxi situation, they are very very very expensive, we were charged £30 for a seven mile journey and £50 to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Old-fashioned pub in Burford's High Street, with old fashioned (but perfectly adequate) rooms to match. The room itself was clean, quiet and boasted a comfortable bed and flat screen television. The bathroom was next door rather than ensuite, and was distinctly old fashioned and a little musty, with a shower attachment designed for "finishing off" rather than standing under, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shropshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in the centre of Burford. We stayed here one night on bed and breakfast basis. We arrived early as we had a wedding to attend and the staff were very kind enough to let us into our room early. Our room was comfortable and we also had a separate private bathroom. Staff were very friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Dear Sirs Myself, my wife and her parents travelled to the Cotswolds on 31st May, specifically to visit the Cotswold Wildlife Park. I had been there before with my wife about 3 years ago and we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience and as her parents had not been before they asked us to take them the next time we went.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review, especially as I was the person that took your original booking. At the time of booking, I did inform your wife that we did not have two quiet rooms available and that we would have live music playing. She said "dont worry we like a bit of live music, in fact we will... More

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a charming, typically English pub in the heart of the Cotswolds. Downstairs it is the local, main street pub with a rich customer base of local people. Upstairs the old rooms have been done up nicely in keeping with the constraints that apply to ancient buildings. The staff are friendly and service oriented and the food is excellent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a couple of nights spent here. The room (courtyard) was clean, comfortable and very quiet. Location is great for exploring al the little shops on the high street. Every member of staff was friendly and courteous and they even went out of their way to do a dessert for us that wasn't on the menu. Sports on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Malpas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nobody on reception when I arrived and staff did not look 'happy to help'. The room smelled stale as if dogs had been in there. The (four poster) bed was the worst I've ever experienced - I think the springs must have gone - I just sunk when I got in it and felt lumps and bumps. You think hotels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review

We are a small Coaching Inn. As such we do not man the reception desk continually. The bar is just 20 feet from the reception desk and I would suggest almost permanently manned. Our staff our continually praised on all review sites as to their friendliness so I am surprised you did not find them accommodating. We do not ever... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Golden Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Golden Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pheasant

Address: High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Pheasant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Golden Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Pheasant Burford

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Burford with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden Pheasant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer