We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Pheasant

High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Hotel amenities
Golden Pheasant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Burford
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
austin3939 South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    55
    77
    42
    34
    19
See reviews for
16
150
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Totnes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Upon arriving we were told their card machine was not working and we had to pay in cash. Not a good start. Hotel/Room was shabby. Bed was broken. Window draught proofing hanging off and dirty. Hangers in wardrobe mostly a mix of what others had left. Separate bathroom - bottom of shower screen dirty and toilet did not flush properly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as our staff strive to provide the best customer service. Unfortunately, totally beyond our control our credit card machine stopped working due to a virus. Its not what you would expect but is hardly the end of the world. I'm that old that I remember when paying in... More 

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

2 nights in June 2015. Car park jammed (5 cars) every night so impossible to park there. Breakfast does not start until 8am, no good for business travellers. They do offer packed lunch (yes, lunch) instead, sandwich, apple and crisps. Cavernous room badly in need of a deep clean. Layers of dust everywhere. 5 bulbs out, bedside alarm situated on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review

What a shame you didn't have time to stay for breakfast as they are really good according to the reviews we receive on various review sites. I am sorry you missed breakfast but if you had checked before you had booked you would have known that we never do breakfast before 8am. That's because most of our guests prefer it... More 

Travelers are raving about these Burford hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Husband did the bookings for our trip to cotswolds. I was appalled by his choice of accommodation. Probably the worst accommodation I have ever stayed in. I note that management have previously used the "quaintness of burford" as an excuse for the quality of their rooms, but if this were the case I would avoid Burford altogether, and find somewhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review

We were all extremely sorry that you experienced a leak in your room during your stay. It obviously isn't something that happens on a regular basis or we wouldn't have a business. I understand that the duty manager did everything to make your stay comfortable. I believe he did inform you that we couldnt move you to another room as... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Burford is such a beautiful area and never having visited before I was looking forward to a traditional and friendly Cotswold welcome. On arriving at the hotel the outside seemed nice and traditional Burford however there were cigarette butts around and attention to detail seemed slightly lacking however nothing major so all ok! I needed to use the car park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review

It is such a shame to learn that you did not enjoy your stay. You have expressed unhappiness with our car park being so tight, but we do advertise the fact that it has very limited space. You also assert that other hotels have much bigger car parks. this is true of a few of them but the majority have... More 

South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent an evening in the Golden Pheasant and had a fab time. Really nice atmosphere and very friendly bar staff. There was live music (Adam Isaac) who was excellent, didnt eat because we went in the curry house but would try it next time as it looked really good. In fact we would stay overnight here rather than the Bull... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent a lovely Bank Holiday Weekend at The Golden Phesant in Burford. Our room was at the front of the hotel but was lovely and quiet, very cosy. Lovely and clean. All the staff were friendly and helpful - quick check-in and a beautiful full english breakfast. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Spent a lovely night at this hotel. The room was large with lots of olde worlde charm we spent the night in a comfortable four poster bed. This hotel is very conveniently located for all the local attractions.The full Pheasant breakfast was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geraardsbergen, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

The hotel lies on the mainstreet in Burford and there is loads of traffic passing. We had a room on the front and sometimes it looked as if cars and trucks where passing through our room. Staff was ok but nothing more. On saturday there is live music and as our room was located above the pub and dining room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

It was OK I suppose. We chose a room with a bath and this proved to be up a number of flights of stairs. The basin only dribbled water the carpet was worn (I suppose it was trying to look medieval) and the lining had been taken from one set of curtains so morning light intruded) The evening meal was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for the weekend with my boyfriend, with a voucher from group on. After some initial issues booking our room, we enjoyed our stay and had a lovely breakfast and dinner. We found our room to be a little noisy as it was on the main road.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay