We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Pheasant

High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Hotel amenities
Golden Pheasant
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Burford
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
57matt Birmingham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    55
    81
    45
    34
    21
See reviews for
16
155
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (236)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Yay: Staff were pleasant. Breakfast was good. Room was clean. Nay: Bed was a little hard. I was awoken by construction (I think it was in the building, but could have been next door) at 8:30am. Overall, I think the room (I paid £60 for a Sunday night) was a little expensive for what it is but I have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Felt like I had to post after reading jpmalloys review . We stayed on the same weekend and thought the hotel was perfectly acceptable for what it is , a pub with rooms . Our room ( bunting ) was clean , spacious and comfy with a nice oldy worldly character . It was quite expensive at £125 for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looking for a dirty, overpriced hotel in Burford run by an incredibly rude and arrogant man? Look no further. No wonder the Golden Pheasant has been taken off the local tourist office's list of recommended hotels and that it is the bottom ranked hotel in Burford on TripAdvisor. It is amazing that the AA still considers this a three star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review

Well we expected to receive a review from this customer. It seems that she checks into hotels and agrees the price.Then after she has stayed the night, and having had breakfast, she and her partner attempt to bully and coerce the staff into providing a large discount or threaten to write bad reviews about their stay. People like this should... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night only when attending wedding nearby - service was good with nice and helpful staff Can't really fault it The rooms were spacious and clean with comfortable nice size beds, big baths and showers in the room Would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely short stay and were really impressed with the Golden Pheasant. Our room (called 'Bunting') was enormous with a seating area and four poster bed. It was incredible value! The food was good and the hotel was a great location on the main Street. Lovely for a short stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One night stay for a wedding nearby. Just reopened after a refurbishment and a slight overrun meant a few tradesmen still doing last minute jobs but nothing that was in the way. Pleasant friendly staff in a very historic building. I Would definitely stay again despite a couple of minor niggles. The bed was a bit hard and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location was excellent and no problems with parking. Nice room, very clean with lovely bedlinen. Breakfast a little disappointing as no extra tea, coffee or toast offered and there wasn't a huge amount of cooked food. There wasn't any of the popular cereal we eat either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review

Thankyou for the feedback. We do offer the following cereals for breakfast, Coco Pops, Frosties, Crunchy Nut Cornflakes, Corn Flakes, All Bran, Alpen and Fruit n Fibre. We find that these cover most peoples tastes. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was lovely and all the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Took a while for our room to be ready which meant a bit of hanging around but they were apologetic about it. Comfortable bed and good breakfast - would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seriously over priced. Got back from a theatre trip at 11pm and could not be served a drink at the bar despite being residents and this is a Friday night. The whole vibe was pretty shoddy and care less, it's just a pub w some rooms not a hotel so why £100 a night?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We are a small Coaching Inn with rooms not a 4 star hotel and our prices and times of service reflect that fact. Possibly you chose us because we are the most competitively priced in the area! If a drink after 11pm on a Friday night was important to you,... More 

Totnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Upon arriving we were told their card machine was not working and we had to pay in cash. Not a good start. Hotel/Room was shabby. Bed was broken. Window draught proofing hanging off and dirty. Hangers in wardrobe mostly a mix of what others had left. Separate bathroom - bottom of shower screen dirty and toilet did not flush properly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as our staff strive to provide the best customer service. Unfortunately, totally beyond our control our credit card machine stopped working due to a virus. Its not what you would expect but is hardly the end of the world. I'm that old that I remember when paying in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#6 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Tree Hotel
Bay Tree Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay