We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hylands Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
307 Queens Road | Beeston, Nottingham NG9 1JB, England
Hylands Hotel
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Nottingham
A recent review
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    41
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
22
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well on arrival we are checked in and take up to my bedroom room 55 this room is a decent size room with decent sized bathroom it's got two windows one on each opposite side of the bedroom. there is a double bed and a single bed I got the double bad there is a decent size TV and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Skipton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Excellent value, clean, friendly, very comfortable bed, really good cooked breakfast. Decor was a bit of a time warp- avocado suite- but so what? And the pub 2 minutes' walk away (Old Vic) was lovely and served excellent meals and beer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Looe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I recently stayed in this for the em-con convention,I was looking for a value for money hotel ,and I fond it,it's only a quick 20 minute bus ride into the centre of Nottingham.anywhy with its ample parking,I arrived and was greeted by a very nice lady who showed me around,explained the breakfast room,and was shown to my room,number 4.it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Travelled up to Nottingham to play a multi-day poker tournament. I like to keep expenses low, and this place definitely delivered value. £45 for an ensuite room with breckfast included, checkout at 11am. All bulk standard. Wifi included in the rooms and no curfew for returning to the hotel - perfect. The rooms were clean and tidy, towels were available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Stayed here for a night while working nearby, the room was in a separate building out back, decor was old fashioned and could probably do with updating but it was clean and functional, breakfast was good. Ate at the nearby malt shovel on the evening which was good. My only real complaint was the lack of outside lighting getting to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We were given a room in the 'Garden Annexe'. It was small and quite cold when we returned in the evening . We were aware of people above us .Family members in the main house found it too hot and were disturbed by nose from the street. It was, however clean and the breakfast was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorothy304, Owner at Hylands Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you were unhappy with the temperature in your room during your stay. If you had informed the night porter I am sure that he could have remedied the situation. Thank you for staying with us. More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I stayed in the Hylands for four days whilst working locally, it was clean, functional and very friendly!! The room was dated but comfortable, the service was excellent and the breakfast was just what I needed after working nights.....Sometimes you just don't need Lenny Henry to test out the beds to get good value for money!!!! Would use the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I stayed for several nights at Hylands Hotel, an older style hotel, in early December while visiting my daughter at the University of Nottingham. My street-facing room was large, quiet and very comfortable. The en-suite was dated but perfectly functional. A delicious, hot breakfast was provided each morning and all the staff members were extremely friendly. Another plus was plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

We stayed in a 3 bed room, it was clean but very old fashioned, the bath had a crack in the panel and the taps felt like they was going to fall off when you turned them on. When we got back from our works Xmas party the room was so cold, the heating wasn't on and i looked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014 via mobile

I only stayed for one night and the aim was to have a few beers with a friend nearby. It was a bit strange to have a hospital-style bed that could be raised with a remote control. So it served its purpose as a bed for the night

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question