We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
2 North Road | The Park Estate, Nottingham NG7 1AG , England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    77
    32
    15
    16
See reviews for
78
106
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (311)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Mothers Day March 2015. On arrival we were very taken back on how nice the interior of this old building was it was so warm and welcoming, being acknowledged of our presence more or less straight away, we were asked to make ourselves at home in their gorgeous bar areas which were beautifully lit with roaring fires adding to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a double room for 3 nights. When we arrived, we got given a twin room. After complaining, we were moved to a double room. Later that evening, we tried to watch TV and had no remote. We complained and then were given a remote from someone else's room. Then we found that only some of the channels actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The-Walton-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent stay at the hotel. I'm sorry there were a few issues during your time with us. With the recent renovation on the roof, we had a temporarily loss of signal for the televisions which unfortunately meant we had a reduced selection of channels. We have taken your... More 

Surrey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Walton is an older hotel on the edge of the desirable Park Estate, but also almost on the main Derby Road . 10/15 mins walk to City but it is uphill most of the way back. Similar price to more central hotels but with free parking and breakfast thrown in. In the public areas it is decorated in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-Walton-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food and drink on offer in the bar/restaurant and will shortly be expanding our menu options further. We appreciate your comments about the standard double rooms and are looking at improvements during our renovation program to maximise the space available with... More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose this hotel for a weekend stay in Nottingham because it was one of the few hotels near the city centre that had parking for guests and free wifi. When we arrived at the hotel, we couldn't actually find the car park at first (some more signage would be helpful, especially if you are not coming from the Derby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night with the family in two rooms and had a good night's sleep. Bar looked lovely but we were going out and breakfast was really tasty and filling. Only issue was there really wasn't enough room at the end of our bed to get round to the bathroom in the dark!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arrival found the carpark tucked behind the hotel which at the time was shrouded in scaffolding. Entry form the carpark entrance looked a bit tired but found the reception which was also in need of some redecoration . Seems the whole hotel is undergoing refurbishment. Based on first impressions the public areas may have put me off . Receptionist... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic boutique, stayed here for one evening whilst en route to York. Room was lovely, clean , spacious and styled lovely. The receptionist was welcoming. We had a drink in the bar and sat by the fire it was so relaxing and cosy. Only a short walk to Nottingham. The only bad thing was the fact that we stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

My wife and I had a candlelit dinner in the restaurant. If you like fine dining, then you should enjoy a meal here.Ours was beautifully cooked and presented with a very attentive waiter.We have not stayed overnight but will bear it in mind on a future visit to Nottingham.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

My husband and I spent the night here last Friday and we had a lovely stay. We ordered food in the bar and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were all very attentive and the room was beautiful. We had a comfortable and quiet night's sleep. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

I booked this hotel last minute for a business meeting. What an absolute gem! Beautiful room, fantastic bar and meeting facilities and wonderful real fires. I regret not eating here on the evening I stayed but due to meetings I was forced elsewhere. I would also like to point out the customer service, which was first class from a team... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question