We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

2 North Road | The Park Estate, Nottingham NG7 1AG , England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    81
    35
    16
    21
See reviews for
80
114
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (329)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My father booked us in here when we came down for his 60th birthday as its just near home. When I looked on here I though 'gosh' dont fancy it at all but we were very pleasantly surprised and must say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were so warm & welcoming and couldnt do enough for you, our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was nice despite having work being done on it at the time. The breakfast was tasty but the staff could do with a little bit more of a to take orders, etc. The location was good with a a nice 15 min walk to the castle. There's car parking avilable too. The only problem with our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The room was stunning best room we have stayed in...the food was absolutely amazing haven't had anything better..compliments to the chef Raymond goldhawk and all his staff in the kitchen...very friendly homely hotel.. All staff and service was amazing and made us feel very welcome..woke up to a lovely breakfast thanks to harrisa and the morning staff! we rebooked on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely atmosphere. The hotel is still being renovated. But the lounge and bar area was lush. Very opulent. The service was attentive but not over bearing. We arrived well after the breakfast rush. But the chef obliged us and put more pastries in the oven for us to enjoy. Good coffee, chaise loungues and roaring fires! Yes please!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,481 reviews 1,481 reviews
140 hotel reviews
4,233 helpful votes 4,233 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel via Hotel.com at a cost of £140.00 (the most expensive option available in Nottingham on the night concerned). Had real issues finding the place, my sat nav took me somewhere completely different & their black sign on a rainy day, didn't really help. Free car parking, although a member of staff, who was walking from an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
The-Walton-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have recently launched Expedia & Hotels.com as a new booking channel, and unfortunately we have had a few teething problems which affected a small number of bookings. Our booking system provider has been working to fix this to ensure all guest information comes through correctly. I'm sorry that breakfast didn't appeal to you, we... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I prepaid for a room for my mother and daughter as a treat (via LateRooms booking ref 29207754r) and was very disappointed to find that the hotel had charged my mother on departure £110, so in fact the room had been paid for twice. The Hotel has refunded the money now admittedly five days later but the whole experience has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The-Walton-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is part of our standard terms (as it is in most hotels) that card pre-authorisation takes place upon check in even if a pre-payment is made. This is for security and to cover incidentals during the stay. I understand a debit card was used for the pre-authorisation rather than... More 

Nottingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel has changed management and is very disorganised. For the last five years I have held a function at the hotel, but the turnover of staff is ongoing. I have tried to organise a function for this year and have left numerous messages and a diary booking only to find that no-one has followed up my requests or returned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
The-Walton-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are sorry to hear you have had problems booking your event. We have tried to contact you to get more information but have been unable to make contact. We have a dedicated events co-ordinator who handles all our bookings and will be able to assist. Please email events@thewaltonhotel.com... More 

lincolnshire united kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well I've stayed in a few hotels in Notts but this beats them all ... It's old Worldly surroundings and warm log fires very pleasant staff that exceed all expectations comfortable bed and lovely room oh and not to forget the scrumptious breakfast ever .... I guess you get the picture !!! Will definately be back thanks for a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service, really good atmosphere, good student discount too! Would recommend yo people wanting to have dinner or go for a drink! Upcoming regeneration, everywhere looking very suave and upmarket

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cannock
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here as the first pub on a pub craw and didn't leave! The bar area was lovely with chesterfield style furniture and open fire, very comfortable and friendly staff. Lovely lazy afternoon a very relaxed atmosphere. Hotel currently undergoing major refurb but this didn't affect our enjoyment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities