We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre

3.0 of 5 7 Chapel Bar | Maid Marian Way, Nottingham NG1 6JS, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    134
    117
    53
    50
See reviews for
59
125
22
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (415)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (103)
All months
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As our usual haunts for a mid week stay were full, I had to stay here for a few nights. Nothing more than a motel pure and simple..no frills, no fun and no friendliness. If you go in with your eyes open and have no expectations then you'll be OK. However, I was given a disabled room despite not being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you want to save money, this is the place to pick. Cheap, clean, breakfast and wifi included. But be prepared for sleeping on the worst mattress/bed with possible needs for a chiropractor afterwards. The beds are awful, paper thin, broken springs, and like the bedrooms they are in - tired and worn out. My expectations of a hotel mattress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The terrible reviews below seem a bit exaggerated to me. Stayed there last night, for work. It is a bit tired, but my room was clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable and the staff were friendly. Maybe other reviewers are in the habit of staying in much better hotels than I am!

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mimu7, Thank you for sparing some time out of your busy day to write us a feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very pleased to see that you were able to find value in your stay, and also your kind regards to our hotel staff members for the quality of service they were able to provide is greatly... More 

Brighton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first and last stay in a Holiday Inn Express. I wasn't expecting a lot for the money, but I didn't expect broken locks on the access door to the floor, broken items in the room and bathroom, stained hallway carpets, a pile of vomit on the staircase in the morning and staff that clearly didn't enjoy their jobs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Robwilki, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is truly disheartening to know that we were not able to meet some of your expectations when it comes our amenities and services. We would love to have an opportunity to discuss your concerns further so we have sent you a private message asking... More 

Derbyshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 1 night here as was going out in Nottingham. I have stayed in many IHG group hotels across Europe and can safely say this was by far the worse. I chose this hotel for its location - which was on the extremely short list of good things about this hotel.Check in was okay but then we went to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear BertieDerbyshire, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about the bed and check in experience. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the carpet condition, the bathroom drainage and breakfast experience. We will address these concerns. I assure... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is located right in the centre of Nottingham, which can make it difficult to find somewhere to park if you drive there. There is an associated NCP car park a short walk away, so call ahead to get details of that. The hotel itself was basic and functional, with tired decor and the included breakfast was a budget... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Saulieg, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked our new year's eve night due to location which this hotel ticked the box. But that's where the praise ended. We were in room 314 and standards were poor. The mattress has just finished it's take it beyond it's usable life as it was lumpy and the springs ready for popping through the top cover. The bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Justine M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is disheartening to hear that you were not able to fully enjoy your recent stay with us. As we would love to have an opportunity to regain your faith in us, we have sent you a private message to discuss your concerns further.... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A perfectly acceptable Holiday Inn experience apart from the condition of the building. Position of the hotel was excellent with a very easy drive to the car park. The £8.60 carparking charge (2014) had been factored into our costs and easy to get to the reception from there. Everything was what you can expect from the Holiday Inn experience with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I stayed there last night and upon check in I was told I was in a smoking room as these were the only rooms available. I told them that this was not made clear on my booking receipt, but the person behind the counter just shrugged her shoulders and said that this was all that was available. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear westbub59, Thank you for sparing some of your precious time to write us a feedback regarding your recent stay. I am glad to see that our hotel's location was convenient for all your travel needs. On the other hand, It is regretful that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay with us due to us not being... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We arrived at check in time...greeted very friendly by the guy on reception. When we arrived at the room it was a smoking room.both myself and my husband di bot smoke..the smell nearly not knocked us out it was that strong with stale smoke...and the window didnt open....the carpet was filthy..the bathroom ceilimg was watermarked and splattered with them....they could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear saz35, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGCare More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre

Address: 7 Chapel Bar | Maid Marian Way, Nottingham NG1 6JS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nottingham City Centre Hotel Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay