We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St James Hotel

3.0 of 5 Rutland Street, Nottingham NG1 6EB, England (Formerly Rutland Square Hotel)
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St James Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St James Hotel
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    61
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
50
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (163)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Eastwood, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The St. James is an excellent centrally located hotel in Nottingham. I stayed in a Crash Pad style room which are small but perfectly formed for an overnight stay. All the facilities you require in a modern and fresh environment. Bed and breakfast was £68 which seemed pretty reasonable for the quality of accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed as a couple in a twin room that was just the right size and bathroom was great Water pressure absolutely great too! The décor of this hotel is seductive and warm in golds silvers purples and greys Lovely warm cosy room cleanliness very high Fab bath sheets soft and fluffy.The lighting is amazing Everything was quiet and the beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pammie Thank you so much for your comments, they are genuinely appreciated and we completely agree with you that we are the best hotel in town!! Wishing you a very merry Christmas and a happy New Year, please do visit us again soon. Kind regards Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales More 

ESSEX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a lads weekend, very nice but looking back maybe a bit to posh for 16 fellas, only 5 mins and your in the middle of it all, didn't have the breakfast as a couple of the lads said it wasn't great, very clean, also very strict whAtch your language they have a security man there that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your feedback, I hope you all had a good time on your weekend. If you ever get the opportunity to visit us again I would encourage you to try the breakfast for yourself. We hope to see you again. Kind regards Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed just one night. Room itself was ok but a bit on the small side. Too many big chairs which just took up too much space. Bathroom however, was absolutely massive. Shower over bath with a screen, which I never like and water leaked out over the bathroom floor. We were on a high floor and had good views over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Fadden Thank you very much for your comments. We will ensure that the shower screen in your room is looked at as soon as possible. Our Penthouse Suite does indeed have a baby grand piano, apologies if this caused you any disruption. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had to book a hotel in Nottingham at really short notice, and it was the St. James ... for one night in October. Sad to say I didn't get to see much of it this time, but I would love to go back and as soon as possible! Alas .. so many nice places ... and only so much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucretia Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback, it is very much appreciated and I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much hope to see you again on your next visit to Nottingham. Wishing you a very merry Christmas and a happy New Year. Kind regards Chris... More 

Wokingham
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is described as a boutique hotel although I was never sure what that was meant to imply. The hotel was convenient for the event that we were attending. Reception staff were good and helpful. A glass of free wine was offered between 6 and 7 the evening of our arrival but in reality it was a slightly unpalatable house... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the St James Hotel, your feedback is very much appreciated. It was pleasing to read that you found my team on reception to be helpful. I will of course pass on your comments to them. I was however a little disappointed that your accommodation did not meet with... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great boutique, funky hotel I thought as I browsed the website, and what a reasonable price too. Winner. However, when we got there and had checked in we moved into the lifts that are obviously old stock with vomit inducing multi-coloured carpet and a Sonos sound system that was never switched on for some reason. Although the twinkle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rich Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. I was sorry to read that you were not in favour of the new décor within the hotel. The vast majority of feedback relating to our refurbishment has been very positive, however we fully appreciate... More 

Derby
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped at this hotel to go and watch a comedian at the royal concert hall. The location is perfect for the city centre.. It is a 5 minute walk from the main shops and 10 minute walk from concert hall & theatre royal. Driving up to the hotel we thought wow! It looks quite posh and the decor inside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the St James Hotel, your comments a very much appreciated. I was delighted that your first impressions of the hotel were "Wow" and that you thought the hotels décor was beautiful. Such lovely feedback. It was great to read that you... More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I (and a large number of wedding guests) stayed at St James' for our recent wedding and we had a wonderful time. The staff were brilliant and very helpful, and we had a lovely room (the four poster room). We would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the St James Hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I was thrilled that your stay with us exceeded your expectations, having a wonderful time in our Four Poster Room. It was also pleasing that you note my team to be brilliant and... More 

UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in with what I would describe a cold (and a perhaps indifferent) but polite reception. The lobby looks very nice with comfortable seating areas, and the nice deco continued to the room too. The room was freezing when I arrived. It does not seem to have central heating but a tiny radiator in the corner which I turned on.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the St James hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. I was frustrated to read your feedback relating to the noise and heating issues that you had with your accommodation, I am currently looking in this. As for the digger I am unable to comment... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to St James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James Hotel

Address: Rutland Street, Nottingham NG1 6EB, England (Formerly Rutland Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St James Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your St James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Square Nottingham
Hotel Rutland Square

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay