We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St James Hotel

Hotel website
Rutland Street, Nottingham NG1 6EB, England (Formerly Rutland Square Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St James Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St James Hotel
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    83
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
26
80
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (235)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My daughter and I recently stayed for two nights for a sad family occasion. The hotel itself looks very nice and pleasant from the outside and even better upon stepping inside. The decor was very nice and there was the biggest vase of flowers on a table which smelled absolutely lovely, a very nice touch I thought. We were given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here about 5 times now and we cannot fault it. Glitzy decor, if you like that sort of thing, a great city centre location and well priced with lots of little extras in the room, free bottled water, lavender spray for your pillows and quality beverages. Breakfast is really good with a massive selection to choose from and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Loved our stay over at this hotel, the decor is lovely which gives a cosy inviting feel, the staff are so nice and helpful, especially the eve bar staff, ThanKyou for our chocolate with the coffee. Will definitely returns soon. 10 out of 10 😃

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. It was great to read that you loved your stay with us, especially noting the lovely décor with an inviting atmosphere, and nice and helpful staff. I will of course pass on your... More 

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped overnight after watching Paloma Faith in Nottingham. The rooms are small but extremely functional. Very nice decor throughout the building. Staff are attentive and efficient. The breakfast is fantastic, the bar at night is friendly, and not over priced at all. Great place for business users, or like us for a one or two night stop over.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, your comments are very much appreciated. I was thrilled to read that you had a superb over night stay with us whilst visiting Nottingham. We have recently completed a full refurbishment of the hotel, so it especially pleasing to learn that the décor throughout the... More 

wolverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself & 9 friends stayed her for my stag night on 21/3/15. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel! The location was prefect as it'll was only a 5 minute walk to the main square. The rooms were brilliant for the price and really well kept & also the staff were great, really friendly & helpful. Thank you 👍

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scott, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stag weekend stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. It was great to read that your accommodation met with your groups needs and that you found my team to be really friendly and helpful, I will of course pass your comments... More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was dragged to Nottingham by my workplace but this stay perked me right back up ready for the next day. You get a lovely assortment of complimentary things in your room such as various teas and the typical soaps. The staff were very kind and helpful, food was delicious and the bed I slept in was one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. It was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you found your accommodation to be really cosy offering a comfy bed, perking you up ready for... More 

caernarfon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfect location to visit the town, the hotel itself has beautiful decor, very impressed with the lobby entrance, our room 306 was a little bit on the small side, but we were impressed for what we paid, staff are very friendly, only one downside as always, they charge you £8 a day to park on a rough parking spot on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. I was pleased to read that the hotels décor met with your taste, especially the hotels reception and lobby. I was a little disappointed to learn that you found your accommodation to be... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was great! Very friendly and helpful staff and the rooms were very reasonable considering the price. Much better than a holiday inn and for the same cost. Would definitely recommend St James Hotel to others. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. It was great to read that you thought the hotel was lovely and the you had an excellent stay with us. It was also pleasing to learn that you thought that my team... More 

leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel its self is very well presented and clean, the rooms are very well furnished and the beds are comfortable, however, you will hear every little noise or conversation outside your room or in the rooms next door. We could have had a normal conversation with the people staying next door without having to raise our voices. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. I was pleased to learn that you found our hotel to be very well presented and clean, with your accommodation being very well furnished offering a comfortable bed. I was however a little... More 

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located next to The Castle entrance in a really quiet part of the city yet 5 minutes walk away from the centre. Extremely clean and welcoming with friendly staff on reception and in the bar. Many good restaurants nearby

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be extremely clean and welcoming, and my team to be friendly. I will of course pass your comments on to my team. Thank you for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question