We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Nottingham Hotel

1 St James Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

909 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    50
    159
    213
    180
    307
See reviews for
81
298
71
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (909)
  • Mar-May only
    (236)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (229)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (197)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (247)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely stay. But rooms were alittle outdated, for example the rooms were very hot but no fans or air con were available. The room itself was sweet and the bathroom was good. Very clean and good for the money that my boyfriend spent on it. Location is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know your feed back from your recent stay with us here in Nottingham. I am glad you enjoyed yourself, worth noting for next time, reception can get you a fan for your room if it is too hot. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a great time here, the room was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is perfectly placed. There are plenty of pubs and a lovely cafe called The Collectorium and its within walking distance of Nottingham Castle Will definitely go there again Karen and Steve Heanor,Derbyshire

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karen and Steve Thank you for your lovely comments from your recent stay here with us at the Britannia Hotel Nottingham. I shall pass your feedback onto the staff and look forward to seeing you again. Take care More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just stayed in the Britannia for 6 nights. Found it very clean. Room really nice and so was the food. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only complaint, was no entertainment like you get in most Britannia Hotels. Large bar area though. The hotel is situated near the city centre and barely 5 minutes walk from the castle. We travelled by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us. I'm really glad you enjoyed yourself and found your food and room really nice, I will also pass on to the staff your comments. We hope to see you again soon More 

Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently stopped here overnight on a National Holidays weekend break It is situated in an ideal place near the city centre.Checking in was painless by pleasant staff,breakfast and evening meal were excellent..All the staff we met nice and pleasant.Only one minor moan was that our bed wasnt very comfy but that would not put us off going again and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for posting your review from your recent stay with us, I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the food excellent, which I shall pass onto the Head Chef for you. I'm sorry you found the bed not comfy but am glad it wouldn't stop you visiting us again. We look forward... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Decent value and exactly what a group of lads on a stag do need. Comfy beds, decent shower and a bar! Service was a little slow due to staff shortage but it wasn't too much of an issue. Breakfast wasn't amazing but was edible! Would go back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. All feedback is taken on board and at times it can get busy but our staff endeavour to deliver good service. I shall pass the feedback onto the housekeeping manager about the bedrooms and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in here because the house is being done up. No toilet and shower so we decided to stay out. We chose the hotel as it was handy for work. Nice room very clean. We did book a alarm call which we didn't get. However we got up in time for work. Great location if you are staying in Nottingham... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback from your stay with us. I'm sorry about the alarm call, I shall speak to the reception manager about that for you, to see what happened. I'm also glad you enjoyed the location the Hotel had to offer, and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed with business for one night. It was ok but felt very run down and shabby. Service was average and more like it was a process they had to get through rather than them being a hotel. Didn't have breakfast as was £9.50- seems a lot when I could just pop to Costa etc. Just needs a bit of care... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us here at the Britannia Hotel Nottingham. I'm sorry you felt disappointed with your stay, we like all our guests to leave having a had a pleasant and enjoyable stay. We do offer a discounted breakfast price a reception for all our guests to enjoy a full English breakfast. I... More 

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on Sunday 19th July with a party from National Holidays, great location, great view (5th floor). Good shower (that at least the shower head detaches, can't do with those fixed head ones!) Amazing hot water every time, good evening meal buffet and breakfast (lovely waiter on duty, really helpful and courteous. Comfy beds, but unfortunately the pillows were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us here at The Britannia Hotel Nottingham. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I shall pass your feed back onto both the Housekeeping Manager, who I shall pass on the feedback you made about the pillows and Restaurant Manager. Once again I'm glad you had a lovely time and... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms look like a hostel is not worth the money what me and my other half paid for it and the thing was nice was the breakfast the people on with reception was rude only the person was nice what is a Jamaican chef woman

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for taking the time to place your review. We take all feed back on board and is always passed onto the relevant departmental managers. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast we offer and will make sure that I pass your comments on the breakfast chef. Kind regards More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The meal wasn't too bad except we had ordered strawberry or cherry cheesecake and blackcurrant cheesecake arrived. We were in an executive suite on the 9th floor which was lovely but to get to it we had to walk along a corridor with threadbare carpet and big holes in places. The corridor to the banqueting suite had filthy windows. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback, I'm sorry you felt let down by the dessert choice, we went by the option provided by the bridal party for the day. We appreciate your comments about the toilets and banqueting corridor, and I will personally take those on board. Im glad you liked the room you stayed in which offers some amazing views of... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Reception area(4)
  • Car park(3)
  • Holiday inn(3)
  • Evening meals(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (178)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#31 of 56 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 56 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
0.0 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#8 of 56 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Nottingham City Centre
Ramada Nottingham City Centre
#16 of 56 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#24 of 56 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Nottingham
Hilton Nottingham
#38 of 56 in Nottingham
3.0 of 5 stars 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay