We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Nottingham Hotel

1 St James Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia Nottingham Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

931 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    50
    162
    220
    184
    315
See reviews for
82
306
73
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (931)
  • Mar-May only
    (236)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (251)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (197)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (247)
All months
Walton-on-Thames
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked two twin rooms last October with two male adults in each. Upon checking in the card said double room so I double checked and was assured they were twins. We found a pathetic camper bed in one room for one adult that was impossible to sleep in hence one of the guys went home a night early! In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for for writing your review from your recent stay with us here at The Britannia Hotel Nottingham. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we offer a variety of rooms that can be used as twin bedded rooms, which is what you appear to have had, and again accept our apologies that you... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with my wife and were not impressed but not disappointed. Room was clean and nice. Breakfast was nice and plenty of choice considering the price range of the room. Overall its a pretty average and nice Hotel very close to city center.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review from your recent stay with us. I'm glad you had a comfortable stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked using a comparison web site. I wanted a " put your head down place" as I was going to the football one day and cricket the next and save a150 round trip. I looked up, after I booked, trip adviser reviews which were poor . However I had no major complaints. The hotel was clean, some falacities were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and ill will pass the feedback onto the staff. There is an information pack in the bedrooms which has all the times and facilities of the hotel, just for future reference. We look forward to welcoming you again More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was poor; in urgent need of a paint job and updated fittings. Having said that, the mattress was decent. Staff is bravely doing their best. Despite the downsides, and there are many, this place is brilliantly located. Happily my time in the room was brief and worked okay as a crash pad for two nights during the cricket.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on line. I'm sorry you feel that that there were certain issues with the Hotel that stopped you from enjoying your stay here. I certainly take on board your views and will pass them onto my management team, i hope it wont stop you visiting us again in the future. More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'll keep this short as I've spent enough time going through the complaints procedure as it is. I stayed in a smoking room in the Nottingham Britannia recently. Free wifi and a TV with freeview channels was advertised but my room had no signal for either. The hotel offered me a wake up call which I accepted but they didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review from your stay with us here at the Britannia Hotel Nottingham. You dealt direct with myself through several emails, and a personal apology was given by myself for the issues you have raised, and an offer was made to you as a good will gesture to show that we do care about our guests... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The foyer of this hotel hides a very tired run down building , it does not merit it's 3 star rating , the only good thing about it is it's city centre location. There woz no air conditioning , which meant leaving windows open , resulting in no sleep at all due 2 incessant traffic . Food , uneatable ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback from your recent stay with us and i welcome all feedback from our guests. For future reference we do have fans that can be requested from reception if your room is too hot and our Duty Manager would have been more than happy to bring one up to yourself. In... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Too many things in need of attention, communal areas poor, lift and esculator not working, staff in desperate need of customer service but taking the brunt of the below average accommodation. Room however was pleasantly surprising with new carpets although small things could make a massive difference such as new taps, bins, glasses etc. Breakfast not great, overcooked and tinned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback from your recent stay with. We are currently making changes to our bedrooms, however I will take on board your feed back with reference to the lift etc, however I do hope this does not stop you from visiting us again, and please call the hotel direct should you wish to stay with us... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was booked into the Britannia as part of a business trip and did read some of its awful reviews which did worry me a bit. But on arrival I was surprised as I was expecting a truly awful hotel. The hotel is dated and could do with a lick of paint and an update but for a place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, from you recent stay with us here in Nottingham. I shall certainly pass your feedback onto the staff and please contact the hotel direct when booking your next stay and we shall give you a complimentary upgrade. We look forward to seeing you again More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Britannia was probably good when the owner open it...ages ago... Now the staff try to do the best with nothing... The room are small, carpets ruined... We runned away one day before... Without eventi asking for a refund... We would just go to a normal hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on from your stay with us. We always have a Duty Manager on shift who will go through any issues and requests from any of our guests, and would have been more than happy to go through yours had you informed us of your upset over the room. Our hotel... More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

...I've stayed in some dumps over the years but this takes the biscuit. £120 a night admittedly when the Ashes cricket was on but daylight robbery for some of the most dilapidated real estate it's ever been my displeasure to use. Also the hottest room in the world. I put the air con on for 36 hours straight and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline B, Manager at Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review from your stay when you were in Nottingham over the cricket period. As with all feed back, I will take on board your comments, however for future reference, reception could have got a fan for your room for you or in turn room moved you and got the Duty Manager to investigate the issues... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Reception area(4)
  • Car park(3)
  • Holiday inn(3)
  • Evening meals(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

192 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (186)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 56 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#32 of 56 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
0.0 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#7 of 56 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#23 of 56 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Nottingham City Centre
Ramada Nottingham City Centre
#16 of 56 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Nottingham
Hilton Nottingham
#40 of 56 in Nottingham
3.0 of 5 stars 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay