We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Nottingham hotels

Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Derby Road | Nottinghamshire, Nottingham NG1 5FT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham to your Saves list
Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
44%
Ranked #36 of 58 hotels in Nottingham
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Chris F Ipswich, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (141)
  • Photos (26)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (32)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    38
    23
    19
See reviews for
12
38
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Strathdon Hotel on a stag weekend recently and for what we needed a nights stay for it did the job. But i dont think i would want to stay again and if i had been with my family i may not have stayed overnight and there are only a few reasons for this. The noise from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Poor hotel parking is a good 10 min walk away. No air conditioning in the bar or rooms. The towel rail was on full blast even though it was 28 degrees outside. Was woken up by ambulances and motorbikes all night due the two three lane one way roads either side of the hotel. Seriously don't stay here

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the money not a bad hotel, pretty average in just about every respect, although the inital receptionist was very cheery and bubbly the one on checkout wasn't! Breakfast was good and I got a decent nights sleep but nothing else out of the ordinary to comment on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Due to work commitments I have been staying in Nottingham on a regular basis since February. I am now a regular at the Strathdon and the reason I keep coming back is that the staff are friendly and always willing to help, the rooms are clean and extremely well priced, they offer reduced priced (and safe) parking and the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

All in all this is an adequae hotel for a short stay, just a notch below the standard of Nottingham's other budget hotels. Check-in was quick and efficient, if not especially personable. As the room (number 414) was quite warm I was lucky that I was on a high enough floor to leave the window open without being disturbed by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was so bad that we ended up leaving after one look at the room! No nearby parking, the hotel smelt of cigarettes and was extremely dirty everywhere we looked. The room was very tiny and when we approached the staff they were obnoxious and rude. This cannot possibly be a four star hotel! We ended up staying elsewhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrathdonGM, General Manager at Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham, responded to this review

Dear Katie1164, Thank you for your comments, we at the Strathdon Hotel always appreciate our customers feedback. However on this occasion I feel the need to highlight a few of your points: You have stated that we are a 4 star hotel, when in fact we are a AA 2 star hotel, so if you were expecting 4 star accommodation,... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here with some friends. The location is spot on, within walking distance of the town centre and all the local watering holes you want. The hotel itself is dated and the rooms were small, but they are what they are. Our shower was cold one night and warm the next, I think it is dependent on when the water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in June for 6 nights as I was in the area on business and wanted to be near the centre. The hotel is tired and dated and in desperate need of updating. The room was filthy, the matress had stains on it, the pillows were brown with sweat marks and there was no protector on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

stayed here with my 13 year old daughter at the end of May for one night,we wanted a hotel very close to the theatre royal as we were seeing a show as I didn't fancy walking far in Notts on a saturday night with a 13 year old daughter.This hotel ticks all the boxes if you want a cheap basic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We booked to stay here for 1 night as going to a concert in the city, and were not impressed at all! The air con didn't work so as it was quite stuffy we opened the windows, but couldnt do this when we wanted to go to sleep as our room was right next to a very noisy road (even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham

Address: 44 Derby Road | Nottinghamshire, Nottingham NG1 5FT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathdon Hotel Nottingham

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Nottingham with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
68

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer