We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Nottingham hotels

Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Derby Road | Nottinghamshire, Nottingham NG1 5FT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham to your Saves list
Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
43%
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Nottingham
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
AndyPeterPeter Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    38
    40
    24
    20
See reviews for
12
40
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Strathdon Hotel is conveniently situated very close to the City Centre, BUT at the top of Maid Marian hill, so is not for the physically challenged! The nearby car park was very noisy, and the road outside seemed to encourage anybody riding a motorbike to go FULL THROTTLE as well. Other reviewers have mentioned that the Hotel needs a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrathdonGM, General Manager at Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham, responded to this review

Dear PellisLondon, Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Strathdon Hotel, I take every review we have of the hotel very seriously as it is an important way of making sure our guest's experience is of a high quality. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us has not met your expectations. There... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and 8 of my girlfriends booked 3 double rooms and 1 triple room for an over night stay in Nottingham. When we arrived at our hotel we were told there was a problem with the booking and the triple room was no longer available so we ended up with a double room and a single room which was hardly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrathdonGM, General Manager at Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham, responded to this review

Dear Abimongom21, Thank you for your review after your stay with us at the Strathdon Hotel. I take every review we have of the hotel very seriously as it is an important way of making sure our guest's experience is of a high quality. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us has not met your expectations.... More

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived to be told that our triple room had first of all 'had a booking issue' although the story then changed to 'plumbing problems / a leak'. We were then offered a twin and a single ( we are a group of young girls so didn't want anybody to stay on their own! ) So, after we decided to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Paid a very reasonable price for my stay. Clean, comfortable but slightly dated. Shower in my room was also rather small. Noisy fan stayed on outside until around 10ish and quite hot in the room. No free parking nearby. Would probably stay again for price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed at the Strathdon Hotel on a stag weekend recently and for what we needed a nights stay for it did the job. But i dont think i would want to stay again and if i had been with my family i may not have stayed overnight and there are only a few reasons for this. The noise from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Poor hotel parking is a good 10 min walk away. No air conditioning in the bar or rooms. The towel rail was on full blast even though it was 28 degrees outside. Was woken up by ambulances and motorbikes all night due the two three lane one way roads either side of the hotel. Seriously don't stay here

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

For the money not a bad hotel, pretty average in just about every respect, although the inital receptionist was very cheery and bubbly the one on checkout wasn't! Breakfast was good and I got a decent nights sleep but nothing else out of the ordinary to comment on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Due to work commitments I have been staying in Nottingham on a regular basis since February. I am now a regular at the Strathdon and the reason I keep coming back is that the staff are friendly and always willing to help, the rooms are clean and extremely well priced, they offer reduced priced (and safe) parking and the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

All in all this is an adequae hotel for a short stay, just a notch below the standard of Nottingham's other budget hotels. Check-in was quick and efficient, if not especially personable. As the room (number 414) was quite warm I was lucky that I was on a high enough floor to leave the window open without being disturbed by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was so bad that we ended up leaving after one look at the room! No nearby parking, the hotel smelt of cigarettes and was extremely dirty everywhere we looked. The room was very tiny and when we approached the staff they were obnoxious and rude. This cannot possibly be a four star hotel! We ended up staying elsewhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
StrathdonGM, General Manager at Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham, responded to this review

Dear Katie1164, Thank you for your comments, we at the Strathdon Hotel always appreciate our customers feedback. However on this occasion I feel the need to highlight a few of your points: You have stated that we are a 4 star hotel, when in fact we are a AA 2 star hotel, so if you were expecting 4 star accommodation,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham

Address: 44 Derby Road | Nottinghamshire, Nottingham NG1 5FT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathdon Hotel Nottingham

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Nottingham with
any amenities