We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Nottingham accommodations

Midtown Hostel

5a Thurland St, Nottingham NG1 3DR, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Midtown Hostel to your Saves list
Midtown Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (25)
  • Photos (8)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    3
    2
    11
See reviews for
1
2
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

this might not be the nicest hostel you ever stay in but for the price and the location you definitely cant go wrong! they didnt mind us coming in a big group either which was great. Could do with another shower ideally.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked this room well in advance for a friend who was coming to my wedding in Nottingham. The hostel called her three days before she was due to stay and told her they had double booked. It was a huge inconvenience trying to another room at such short notice, and particularly difficult as there was also a hockey match... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

booked with booking.com weeks before was due to depart, to be emailed the night before our stay, to be told hostel was double booked and our reservation had been cancelled. although this left me in panic due to last minute we found hotel with breakfast included for 5pound extra and im relieved after reading reviews on bed bugs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

group of 5 lads booked this hostel a month in advance for a saturday night out. When we arrived we were told the rooms we booked were full so they put us into a room with bunk beds. I was also told they did not have a key to lock the room as the people before did not leave the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed 1 night in a shared dorm, the rooms & bathrooms are clean., It was freezing out but nice & warm inside. There are lockers for valuables. Very friendly atmosphere, feels a bit like being in someone's home, always people about in the kitchen & lounge, which I liked. Not as clinical feeling as some hostels. Highly recommend it,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

9 of us stayed here for 2 nights. 6 of us in one room 3 in another. This was a weekend stay for a clubbing/raving getaway. Good points: Location was very central - the best part of this hostel. Staff were very friendly, relaxed and helpful. Bathrooms/showers were clean enough. Nice communal area, with Playstation 2 (lol) and board games... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

It's been months since I stayed in a hostel with the same quality of friendly staff, excellent location, or welcoming energy. The rooms were clean and everything worked well. The staff was super entertaining and I felt completely amongst friends. I absolutely recommend the midtown hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The showers did not work properly, the internet only works in the common room, and the staff do not respect the privacy of "private" rooms. The one redeeming factor is the Greek restaurant next door to the hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midtown H, Manager at Midtown Hostel, responded to this review

Dear ccspencer, Our apologize if your stay with us was not as perfect as you wish. However I would like to inform that the showers are working, and the internet can be access in the second floor also without restrictions. About the privacy in your room, when we need to check a room, we knock in the door. And the... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for just one night in a triple room after a gig at Rock City. This hostel is about as central as you can get, the staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. We got up early as we were warned that the shared bathroom gets busy after 9:30. Bathroom was clean and tidy also. No complaints from me!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lovely Place with great staff!!! The location is so close to market square and can't be beat. You go outside and your pretty much in the city centre. Everybody was so nice and clean. The staff made sure to show us around and gave us some great tips on what to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Midtown Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Midtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Hostel

Address: 5a Thurland St, Nottingham NG1 3DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Midtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Nottingham with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Midtown Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer