We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Nottingham accommodations

Midtown Hostel

5a Thurland St, Nottingham NG1 3DR, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Midtown Hostel to your Saves list
Midtown Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    2
    10
See reviews for
1
1
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

booked with booking.com weeks before was due to depart, to be emailed the night before our stay, to be told hostel was double booked and our reservation had been cancelled. although this left me in panic due to last minute we found hotel with breakfast included for 5pound extra and im relieved after reading reviews on bed bugs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

group of 5 lads booked this hostel a month in advance for a saturday night out. When we arrived we were told the rooms we booked were full so they put us into a room with bunk beds. I was also told they did not have a key to lock the room as the people before did not leave the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed 1 night in a shared dorm, the rooms & bathrooms are clean., It was freezing out but nice & warm inside. There are lockers for valuables. Very friendly atmosphere, feels a bit like being in someone's home, always people about in the kitchen & lounge, which I liked. Not as clinical feeling as some hostels. Highly recommend it,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

9 of us stayed here for 2 nights. 6 of us in one room 3 in another. This was a weekend stay for a clubbing/raving getaway. Good points: Location was very central - the best part of this hostel. Staff were very friendly, relaxed and helpful. Bathrooms/showers were clean enough. Nice communal area, with Playstation 2 (lol) and board games... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

It's been months since I stayed in a hostel with the same quality of friendly staff, excellent location, or welcoming energy. The rooms were clean and everything worked well. The staff was super entertaining and I felt completely amongst friends. I absolutely recommend the midtown hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The showers did not work properly, the internet only works in the common room, and the staff do not respect the privacy of "private" rooms. The one redeeming factor is the Greek restaurant next door to the hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midtown H, Manager at Midtown Hostel, responded to this review

Dear ccspencer, Our apologize if your stay with us was not as perfect as you wish. However I would like to inform that the showers are working, and the internet can be access in the second floor also without restrictions. About the privacy in your room, when we need to check a room, we knock in the door. And the... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for just one night in a triple room after a gig at Rock City. This hostel is about as central as you can get, the staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. We got up early as we were warned that the shared bathroom gets busy after 9:30. Bathroom was clean and tidy also. No complaints from me!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lovely Place with great staff!!! The location is so close to market square and can't be beat. You go outside and your pretty much in the city centre. Everybody was so nice and clean. The staff made sure to show us around and gave us some great tips on what to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I guess this is the sort of place that becomes good or bad depending on the people. Me & my friend were lucky enough to spend a night with really friendly travellers from all over Europe. Originally, we booked a twin room for a night just to go & see The Killers play at Nottingham`s Trent Arena but there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were here for 3 nights, primarily to watch the cricket. We had a comfortable stay, the only complaint would be the upstairs shower needed fixing (which they did in the time we were there). The staff were friendly and the place was conveniently located.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Midtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Hostel

Address: 5a Thurland St, Nottingham NG1 3DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Specialty lodging in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MidTown Hostel has everything you want from a hostel; heart of the city central location, great services, private & shared rooms (max 6 or 7 people) and most importantly friendly & helpful staff who are always happy to help you out and have a chat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Midtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midtown Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.