We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dene House

Hexham NE46 1SJ, England
Dene House
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Margaret and Brian took care of every little detail throughout our stay. Margaret kindly dried a heap of soggy coats, jackets and boots after we came back from a very wet but very enjoyable walk in the superb countryside around their beautiful home. They could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The house is in a wonderful area and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We recently stayed with Brian and Margaret whilst attending the Fell Pony Performance Trials and thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay. We found Brian and Margaret very welcoming and their home spotless and very comfortable. We would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Brian and Margaret who own the Bed and Breakfast were very pleasant. They helped us with our walking route, photocopying maps and talking us through where we should visit. We stayed in their downstairs twin room. Although it was clean, there could've been improvements. The decor was very dated and the shower didn't work properly, I had two cold showers.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Margaret M, Owner at Dene House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and yes the decor is a little dated ! I have now refurbished the downstairs twin room with new bedcovers and new curtains and it looks much better. I'm sorry you had cold showers. As I said to you when you arrived that as we have an old farmhouse the hot water takes a little... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

I can't thank the owners enough for their kindness and hospitality during our (problematic!) stay. We were left without accomodation for the Great North Run at very short notice, and Brian and Margaret were able to help us out. We were then left without an rental car for the weekend, and again they came to our rescue! The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The owners of this property are quite simply amazing. Their welcome, service, accommodation, food, hygiene, company and flexibility was outstanding. Rather struck by the colour and "floralness" of the room at first, but got used to it very quickly. The location is staggeringly beautiful, quiet and perfect for access to Hexham. Be prepared to pay for taxis if you don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

At very short notice Brian and Margaret were able to accommodate us, even though they were very busy we received a very warm welcome, made us feel very much at home and very comfortable It is a great base for exploring the area in a beautiful peaceful setting and for us the perfect base to visit family Many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Welcomes don't come much warmer than at Dene House. Margaret and Brian's beautiful home is in a peaceful location but very handy for the market town of Hexham. We have stayed several times, enjoying each time as much as the last. I would heartily recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheltenham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed for one night on the way up from Nottingham to Edinburgh. Tucked away but beautiful wooded valley lots of lush trees and beautiful gardens. Instantly welcomed with offers of washing ( travelling with 3 children) and then out for a good walk before delicious home cooked meal and a good nights sleep in a comfy bed. Tummy busting breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I can only echo every positive review written about Margaret and Brian's lovely home. It's a home they willingly share with you and it is very difficult not to feel a member of the family straight away. We stayed two nights and were genuinely sad to leave. If we ever return to Northumberland, there is only one place we will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed one night but wished we had had time to stay longer. Very quiet and peaceful. Room was a good size and very comfortable. Breakfast very good. We will certainly return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities