We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hopping Hare

Certificate of Excellence
18 Hopping Hill Gardens | Duston, Northampton NN5 6PF, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hopping Hare
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hopping Hare
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    76
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
40
105
7
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (258)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Bootle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I stayed here for just one night and found the experience quite delightful. The bar prices took me a little by surprise but the real ale is good. The room was comfortable and the full English breakfast very tasty. The staff are very accommodating as I needed to have breakfast earlier than advertised and it wasn't a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent 2 nights at The Hopping Hare. What a treat! We checked in late on a Friday and were met with a warm welcome and the offer of a table for dinner, it was gone 9pm before we were ready to eat and we both felt quite weary, however the atmosphere in the restaurant was buzzing and the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Angelcake, What a heavenly name!. Many thanks for your kind review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Hopping Hare. Excellent food and first class customer service are our highest priorities and I am delighted that we delivered on both. Everyone in the team is totally committed to trying to ensure that all our... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful meal with partner! Very good value for money! The scotch egg starter was out of this world! Great menu with plenty to choose from. Staff very friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Rib, Many thanks for your kind review and for recommending The Hopping Hare. Very much appreciated by the team. Really pleased you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you again soon to enjoy other dishes from the menu. Kind regards, David. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Highly recommend.... no can't recommend it enough 😄. Massive thanks to David and his team. We stayed here whilst on trip to Midlands. The fantastic restaurant, with its range of professionally cooked meals, with outstanding choice and service from all of the friendly staff, try it for yourself, you won't be disappointed. The hotel, fantastic ensuite room, with modern spotless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Mel and Shaun, Thank you so much for your kind review and for recommending The Hopping Hare. Outstanding customer service and exceptional quality food are our highest priorities and I am pleased we delivered on both. We hope you can stay again soon. Kind regards, David. More 

Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked in to this hotel as we were going to the LV rugby cup final in Northampton. The staff were excellent especially the manager who when the taxi didn't arrive to take us to the rugby ground to meet out guests he took us in his own car. now that is service!! When we returned our bags had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Many thanks for your kind review and for recommending The Hopping Hare. I hope you were supporting the Sarries. If you are an Exeter supporter at least you had the consolation of a great stay. Outstanding customer service is a huge priority for us and the team really do give 100% effort to deliver and it is great... More 

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hopping Hare is just up the road from where I was working so the place was recommended. Upon arrival you can tell immediately this is the sort of place that has a certain amount of style and flair with a cosy feel to it. The staff are very welcoming which is always a good start. We have only been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Many thanks for your very complimentary review and for recommending The Hopping Hare. In particular, I am pleased that you commented on the customer service delivered by staff and the quality of our food offer. Outstanding customer service and excellent food are our highest priorities and I am pleased we delivered on both. We look forward to seeing... More 

Uk
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always have a nice dining experience at this place and we as a family always think of the hopping hare when we are wanting a nice relaxing evening. The food is always really well presented and really well cooked but I have always noticed that the chef puts some really crazy combinations of food together which can sometime ruin a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Hallz, Many thanks for your kind review and for praising our food offer. All our food is sourced based solely on quality of produce and everything is freshly prepared on site every day by our team of talented chefs. It is this which stands us out head and shoulders above our competitors. As you have noticed, our menu is... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great staff, Very friendly and welcoming. Superb food, superb rooms, great stay. Enjoyed a very nice evening meal, staff brilliant - particularly Vicky - very smiley and polite !!!!! Would highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Tim, Many thanks for your great review and for recommending The Hopping Hare. In particular, thanks for praising our brilliant staff, who really do give 100% effort to help our guests really enjoy their stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, David. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Rooms are always comfy here and the hotel also offers a nice selection of cooked breakfasts. only bad thing is the tvs in this hotel appear to have the audio discription turned on their tvs and I cannot find a way to turn it off, this has been in the last three rooms I've had however I will stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear John, Many thanks for your review and for choosing to stay at The Hopping Hare when you visit Northampton. Excellent quality food and outstanding customer service are our two highest priorities and the team do an incredibly good job in delivering both. Thanks for pointing out the audio description on the TVs. I'm sure we will be able to... More 

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We visited on an early March Saturday evening (5pm) and were shown to our booked table for 2 in a large and nicely decorated conservatory situated at the front of the venue. Modern furnishings and professionally arranged tables and chairs leant to the feeling this was going to be "worth it"! It wasn't busy when we took our seats but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Bob, Many thanks for your complimentary review, it is much appreciated. Excellent food and first class customer service are our highest priorities and I am pleased we delivered on both. All our food is freshly prepared on site every day and we source produce based solely on quality. Please visit us again when you are next in Northampton. Kind... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question