We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Northampton B&Bs / inns

The Plough Hotel

Bridge Street, Northampton NN1 1PF, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Plough Hotel to your Saves list
The Plough Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
21%
Ranked #14 of 19 Northampton B&B and Inns
  • Overview
  • Reviews (59)
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    12
    16
    10
    21
See reviews for
10
13
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was a big disappointment, shabby, strange smell possibly a damp fusty smell, no air con, when opened window to try and cool down as it was very hot and stuffy, it was then very noisy from the busy road and the pub crawlers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed for one night with two friends of ours. check in was fine but that's a good as it got. Our friends tv didn't work which was replaced. We went out and returned around 9 and our room light didn't work and was reported. We decided to have a drink in the bar and the John... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
40 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel has so many plusses that it's difficult to comprehend why so many people would have given bad reviews previously ? In terms of location it is excellent, right on the edge of the town centre, at the bottom of a street which has multiple music bars etc - if you're in your 20's / 30's I would imagine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night after a gig at the MK Bowl. The hotel is situated around 10 minutes walk from Northampton train station and for a late booking, was the best option on offer. I wasn't expecting much and the hotel met those expectations. The room was basic and in need of a refit (especially the bathroom) but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Expected reasonable accomodation for £60. Bed was cllean and comfortable. Thats the good points out the way. Bathroom shower had no shelves to put anything on ,shower quite warm -towels small side. Bar had couple of locals in drinking, somewhat dreary. Ate breakfast [buffet] which was served 6 till 8-30 in the bar. Got there 8am food greasy had been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my lad stayed for one night ,60 quid incuding breakfast ain't a lot of money . Room was clean .staff were very friendly not far from town /motorway links would stay again if in the area . wifi could do with a boost as it kept cutting off in room but we were on to floor . All... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this venue as it was close to where I was going the following day and it accepted pets, The bedroom was dirty the bed base was stained the carpets were filthy and marked. The tv worked but just buzzed and the room had a dreadful smell of smoke even though all the room were said to be none... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin W, General Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, and I was sorry to read that your stay was not as you, or indeed we, would have wished. Please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfalls, and rest assured your comments have been taken on board. I was disappointed that you did not make your feelings known to... More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We chose this hotel due to the good location as it was near to the town centre and also to the assessment centre my brother was attending. It was rated 3*, at a reasonable price with breakfast included, and also we had read on the website that it had been recently renovated so we chose this option. This is where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin W, Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble of posting your review following your recent stay with us, and i was disappointed to read your comments regarding the bathroom in your room. This is now earmarked for renovation, and will be carried out in the very near future, and please accept my apologies for any inconvenience. On a positive note I was... More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed at the Plough for a wedding reception for two nights, I was dreading it after reading the bad reviews but when we arrived i was pleasantly surprised yes the rooms were basic but they were clean. The manager and staff were very helpful and friendly. The Manager even arranged for a chef to come in on the Friday night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin W, Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us last weekend. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and have shared your comments with the team here. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on some future occasion, and will ensure we... More

Voorburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Many of the other hotels in Northampton were booked so I ended up in the Plough. Actually the pictures looked quite ok, and the location was convenient, so I went for it. A real estate manager would call this a place with many original items, you could also say that is was old. The bathroom in my room was not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin W, Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. I was pleased to read you slept well, but disappointed to read your comment regarding the bathroom, some of which have been updated but regrettably not the one you stayed in. Wifi is available free of charge in the bar area. I do wish you had made your thoughts... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Plough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Plough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Northampton NN1 1PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Plough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Plough Hotel has been welcoming visitors for well over a hundred years, and continues to extend is warm and friendly greeting to this day. Originally built as a coaching inn in the 1890's, the hotel now offers today's levels of comfort and hospitality including Freeview TV, Sky and BT Sports channels plus free Wi-Fi in its bar area. The hotel has ample free car parking for residents, and unlike many hotels a complimentary full breakfast is included in all rates. We are conveniently located close to the town centre, a few minutes' walk from the main shopping and commercial areas, the Royal and Derngate theatre and Northampton Rugby's Franklins Gardens. Silverstone Race Circuit, Rockingham Motor Speedway, Santa Pod Raceway, Billing Aquadrome Althorp House and Stoke Bruerne Canal Museum are within easy driving distance. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
37

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer