We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Northampton B&Bs / inns

The Plough Hotel

Bridge Street, Northampton NN1 1PF, England
Hotel amenities
The Plough Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Plough Hotel to your Saves list
18%
Ranked #16 of 21 Northampton B&B and Inns
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    12
    18
    13
    23
See reviews for
10
16
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Plough is part of a pub and as such was very noisy the night we stayed. Very rowdy shouting outside till the very early hours. The window catch was broken so it was not possible to shut it properly so that did not help the matter. Also we were unlucky to have very noisy neighbours either side that seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unclean, unhelpful & unfriendly staff. Nobody seems to know what planet they are on....stayed here for one night and that was far too long. Place shouldn't be allowed to be open. There was an offensive smell about the place it smelt of stale smoke and a musty smell. A wasted weekend away!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival we asked if we could book in early, lucky we did because the receptionist told us we had cancelled our booking which I know I did not! He was adamant that I had and quite rude about it. He then tried to book us in a hotel miles away from the town centre. I will not be going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Colin W, General Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, which I was disappointed to read. I understand it was explained to you that a modification to your booking made the night prior to your arrival had in fact been interpreted as a cancellation - unfortunately humans do make the occasional error. However this had been picked up on just prior to your arrival and... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Good points: bed really comfy, staff friendly and breakfast great. Easy to find / park. Good double glazing, blocked out traffic noise. Not so good: really shabby, bathroom really not nice. TV was really small and the sound from it was terrible. The carpet wasn't very nice - overall it looked like the room hadn't been decorated since the 70's.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin W, General Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you found the staff great, and enjoyed your breakfast following a night in a comfortable bed! We are continuously bringing improvements to the hotel by way of upgrading bathrooms and upgrading TV's - unfortunately being a small independent hotel we... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Whilst from the outside the plough does look like a traditional pub hotel , I naturally had quite high expectations , unfortunately upon entry into the reception area via a rather raggedy conservatory and I was given my key by quite possibly the surliest receptionist I have had the misfortune to meet. The room although a single on initial entry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin W, General Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marc G Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay with us. I can tell you that we are about to replace our conservatory entrance with a structure more in keeping with the building, and are currently awaiting planning permission. The receptionist who checked you in was perhaps a little distracted when your credit... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The welcome was warm but that was it! On check-in I was informed our room wasn't actually in the hotel but in an outbuilding. The room was shabby, really needed freshing up! After being out all day we came back to the room about 4pm to find no housekeeping had been done! Bin not emptied and no fresh towels! We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Take a trip back to the 30's a creaky old fashioned hotel cum B and B, bar staff are indifferent, mushroom growing status in the rooms is good, mine was dark which afforded good growing for allsorts. Quite a noisy "outside"

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin W, General Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review, and somewhat frustrated that tripadvisor gives no clue to the identity of guests, or when they actually stayed, so it becomes somewhat impossible to trace such bookings. If indeed the hotel had been as bad as the review states, I would have expected a guest to make their feelings known at the time,... More

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel was a big disappointment, shabby, strange smell possibly a damp fusty smell, no air con, when opened window to try and cool down as it was very hot and stuffy, it was then very noisy from the busy road and the pub crawlers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin W, General Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, and I was sorry to read that your stay was not as you, or indeed we, would have wished. Please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfalls, and rest assured your comments have been taken on board. I was disappointed that you did not make your feelings known to... More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night with two friends of ours. check in was fine but that's a good as it got. Our friends tv didn't work which was replaced. We went out and returned around 9 and our room light didn't work and was reported. We decided to have a drink in the bar and the John... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin W, General Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, and I was sorry to read that your stay was not as you, or indeed we, would have wished. Please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfalls, and rest assured your comments have been taken on board. I hope you will not be deterred from visiting in future, and... More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
44 hotel reviews
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel has so many plusses that it's difficult to comprehend why so many people would have given bad reviews previously ? In terms of location it is excellent, right on the edge of the town centre, at the bottom of a street which has multiple music bars etc - if you're in your 20's / 30's I would imagine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin W, General Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that your stay with us was satisfactory, and rest assured your comments have been passed on to my colleagues who you spoke to during your stay. Thank you again for pointing out the issue with the shower, which has... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Plough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Northampton NN1 1PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Plough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay