We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Hotel

Bridge Street, Northampton NN1 1PF, England
Hotel amenities
The Plough Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Share an Experience

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    12
    20
    14
    24
See reviews for
10
18
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and my husband had a Groupon voucher for a 2 night stay at this hotel and after reading the reviews I was really dreading it but was quite surprised. We had a lovely warm welcome from the lady in reception, we were given a family room that was very warm and quite large . The bedding was very clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We stayed for New Years eve as a couple. We only needed a room as we were out for dinner - the room was a good size, breakfast nice and the staff working were very friendly. You could hear a bit of noise but it was New Years eve you can't expect anything less! For new years eve right in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

I booked this for my wife who is looking after her mother while she is in Northampton General. The website makes this look pretty classy, but oh dear, it gives completely the wrong impression! This is a pub used by builders when they stay in the area working on local contracts. My wife was the only female resident in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I have recently stayed in this hotel, my first time to the city. My friend went to see me and the old receptionist lady was so impolite. Her attitude was so bad, she talked impolitely to my friend "Don't stay more than 15 minutes". If it's hotel policy, they'd better inform customers from the start. I recommend you guys choose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The Plough is part of a pub and as such was very noisy the night we stayed. Very rowdy shouting outside till the very early hours. The window catch was broken so it was not possible to shut it properly so that did not help the matter. Also we were unlucky to have very noisy neighbours either side that seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Unclean, unhelpful & unfriendly staff. Nobody seems to know what planet they are on....stayed here for one night and that was far too long. Place shouldn't be allowed to be open. There was an offensive smell about the place it smelt of stale smoke and a musty smell. A wasted weekend away!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014 via mobile

On arrival we asked if we could book in early, lucky we did because the receptionist told us we had cancelled our booking which I know I did not! He was adamant that I had and quite rude about it. He then tried to book us in a hotel miles away from the town centre. I will not be going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Colin W, General Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, which I was disappointed to read. I understand it was explained to you that a modification to your booking made the night prior to your arrival had in fact been interpreted as a cancellation - unfortunately humans do make the occasional error. However this had been picked up on just prior to your arrival and... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Good points: bed really comfy, staff friendly and breakfast great. Easy to find / park. Good double glazing, blocked out traffic noise. Not so good: really shabby, bathroom really not nice. TV was really small and the sound from it was terrible. The carpet wasn't very nice - overall it looked like the room hadn't been decorated since the 70's.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin W, General Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you found the staff great, and enjoyed your breakfast following a night in a comfortable bed! We are continuously bringing improvements to the hotel by way of upgrading bathrooms and upgrading TV's - unfortunately being a small independent hotel we... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Whilst from the outside the plough does look like a traditional pub hotel , I naturally had quite high expectations , unfortunately upon entry into the reception area via a rather raggedy conservatory and I was given my key by quite possibly the surliest receptionist I have had the misfortune to meet. The room although a single on initial entry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin W, General Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marc G Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay with us. I can tell you that we are about to replace our conservatory entrance with a structure more in keeping with the building, and are currently awaiting planning permission. The receptionist who checked you in was perhaps a little distracted when your credit... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

The welcome was warm but that was it! On check-in I was informed our room wasn't actually in the hotel but in an outbuilding. The room was shabby, really needed freshing up! After being out all day we came back to the room about 4pm to find no housekeeping had been done! Bin not emptied and no fresh towels! We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question