We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel 53

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
53 Piccadilly, York YO19PL, England
Offers & Announcements
10% Discount, Book Direct
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
Panoramas (8)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed on the 2nd and 3rd February 2016. I would recommend this hotel. Very clean presentable rooms, great food (large portions) and has very friendly competent staff. I will definitely use again it

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Derby
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

very good newish modern Hotel few minutes walk to centre of York. ideal for visiting all attractions with Clifford s Tower and Castle Museum being in view. Clean smart rooms and very comfortable. helpful staff will stay with this group again.

Helpful?
Thank Purdysjp
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Recently had a two night stay here, a very good welcome from the friendly, helpful receptionist, created a great first impression. My room was spacious and clean with a comfortable big bed and the walk in shower had plenty of power and hot water. Did not eat in the restaurant so can’t comment on the on the food or service,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review Paul H, This is another outstanding piece of praise for our staff and we are very pleased to read about the high level of customer service displayed which we are always trying to achieve. The lift is back up and running now after the issue and we look forward to welcoming you back to... More 

Orpington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On-line booking worked perfectly and my room was spacious and comfortable. It's a fair walk from the railway station but deceptively close to the city centre. The free WiFi worked well, but a minor niggle was having to sign in to use it. Some hotels don't require this which makes access quicker and easier. There are ample power sockets, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Man-in-black-12
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Man-in-black-12, As you have mentioned we are in a prime location near the city centre of York, right inside the city walls. The issue with the distance of the sockets from the beds in some rooms is something we are aware of and are looking into remedying, we do make sure with the USB charge... More 

Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent room , comfy bed , large shower . Good breakfast. Central location. Would stay again. Only downside is the 1 little lift that is very small and very slow and is the only lift to all floors 3 people and it's full

Helpful?
Thank Griffblack
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Griffblack, I am pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be comfy with good shower facilities, and as you mentioned we are well located for the city centre. It is true that we only have the one lift but we do regularly fit 5 or 6 people in at a time and there... More 

Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently had a two night stay here on a visit to York.We had a very good welcome from the friendly, helpful receptionist. This always makes such a difference with first impressions. Our room was spacious, lovely big bed and walk in shower. The downside was that the layout reminded us of an upmarket motel room eg. Ibis or similar.However... More 

Helpful?
Thank kyle281
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review kyle281, Your kind words are much appreciated, especially in relation to the staff. We pride ourselves on offering excellent customer service at the hotel so it is fantastic to see that this is appreciated both on arrival, and during your dinner in the restaurant. The lift was out of action whilst a spare part... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend away with friends celebrating a 50th Birthday. An excellent location, but a decidedly average hotel and way over-priced for what it is. The rooms are only small and on a couple of occasions the shower ran cold. The lift broke at the start of our stay and as we were on the 4th... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review Jeff C, Below is a copy of the email I sent you previously. You will notice my full job title in the signature which I assume you have mistakenly overlooked. "Good afternoon xxxxxx, Thank you for your email and choosing Hotel 53 for your stay in York. We had a... More 

Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
179 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 1 night. Some positives some negatives but nothing that would stop me from recommending. Lift was out of order but I didn't mind the walk to the 5th floor. Room was large and quiet. No horrible aircon noise either. Bathroom large but shower weak although towels good and new, large and fluffy. We didn't eat in restaurant and 4... More 

Helpful?
Thank daloughlin
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review daloughlin, Thank you for your kind comments about the size of the room and quality of the towels. We have noted your comments about the power of the shower and are currently investigating this as our showers are generally on the strong side so it looks like there was an issue in this specific... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is two minutes walk from the city centre, so is ideal for all. Parking is available and is secure. Easily accessible from the Fulford end of town, which is ideal if you want to avoid the traffic. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are well furnished and appointed for a weekend break. Ask at reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review Nicola B, I am glad that our heating was able to warm the room up promptly for you and I am extremely pleased to see that our Reception team have offered outstanding service during your stay. The lift is now in full working order and we hope to be able to welcome you back... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend came to York for one night. The Hotel was easy to find and there was a car park straight opposite it that can be used even if you are not staying at the hotel but at a charge. The car park is £10 a night till you check out but the lady let us keep our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jodiem93
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Jodiem93, It's our pleasure to be able to help you to enjoy a lovely weekend in York and it's great to see such positive comments about our showers, comfy beds and friendly staff. Our location makes us very convenient for people visiting the city centre and our car park means you have a number of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

276 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (108)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (19)
Viewed
Classic King Room (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Handicap Accesibility (18)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)
Viewed
Triple Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#6 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#40 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 stars 1,924 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#10 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay