We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel 53

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
53 Piccadilly, York YO19PL, England
Special Price
10% Discount, Book Direct
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel 53
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    347
    459
    256
    109
    48
See reviews for
179
605
39
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1219)
  • Mar-May only
    (304)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (389)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (261)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (265)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is excellent, it is only a very short walk from the city centre. Making it great for shopping and not too noisy at night. I had booked this hotel for bank holiday weekend at £274 which I thought was pricy, especially for a 3 star hotel. However I liked the look and location of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here to try somewhere new. While we were out partying mist of the time we still needed to sleep. The decoration in the room was nice and the bathroom facilities were good. The blinds however were really dusty. We felt it was quite far from all the bars. Not the hotels fault. Our room happened to be above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Visited hotel 53 first time in March for a weekend away in York and we enjoyed our stay that we decided to stay there again. Rooms really clean And polite staff. Short stroll ft York centre and great views from front facing rooms. Will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel with 2 other female travellers. We had booked a room for 3 people and were very disappointed. There were 2 single beds and a pull out sofa bed with absolutely no floor space for our suitcases. If the rooms are too small for 3 adults, then I would prefer to be told that up front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hotel 53. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your triple room. We do not believe that these rooms are too small for 3 adults as we would not sell them for 3 adults if we thought they were. We have in the past been able to... More 

Leicester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location is great - a 5 minute walk & you're in town. The hotel only has one lift which can be annoying if the hotel is busy. The room itself had a odd stuffy smell to it so we opened the window to air it. The room is spacious, modern and the bed is absolutely massive. The TV is placed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel 53. I am sorry that you experienced problems with your blind and shower during your stay. I do hope that you reported these to our 24 hour management team at the time so that we could rectify these straight away. Rooms at the front of the hotel have a... More 

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel as a ' late booking ' a whole six days before.. At £189, for one night....ouch. But as it was bank holiday weekend and the hotel looked special I treated my husband and I to a what I'd called a luxury night away. However, i called the hotel as I was not happy that the price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your recent stay at Hotel 53. It always amazes me when people expect us to reduce the price they have agreed to pay for their hotel room should we reduce our rates at a later date. If we had raised our rate to £200 would you be happy to... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really lovely hotel, great location. We stayed in a family room which was a double bed and a sofa bed for the kids to sleep in. We didn't have much room and with 4 of us in the room we really suffered with the lack of air conditioning. You can park in the car park across the road at a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at Hotel 53. I am so pleased that you had a lovely stay and found the hotel to have a great location. Being just inside the city wall, we are far enough out from the city to be quiet, and only a 5 minute walk to the heart of the centre. Our... More 

Grimsby, Uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My family and I stayed here Friday August 28th and Saturday 29th August. The location itself is in easy walk of the city centre with NCP carparks across the road. The staff were extremely friendly on check-in and throughout our short stay. The room was very clean. The main issues with the hotel are 1) The room is extremely hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback following your recent stay at Hotel 53. Whilst we do not have air conditioning, we do have fans available on request and this is notes in the room information leaflet in every bedroom. There are 4 plug sockets at each desk which includes 2 USB charging ports to maximise the number of electrical... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a weekend base to explore york and its location is perfect, right nxt to the city centre but far enough away to get a good nights sleep 😆 the rooms are lovely, the beds are comfy and the breakfast was yummy 😆 the staff are all extremely friendly and they even catered for my lactose intolerance.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for your great 5* review of your stay at Hotel 53. I am so pleased that you chose to stay at Hotel 53 for your weekend away in York and found our location perfect. I agree with all of your comments, being just inside the city walls but still close enough to the main tourist and shopping area... More 

Tweed, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room we had was very small with no nightstands - just an 8 X 10 glass shelf on the wall. It was also very noisy due to street traffic and being next to stairway. The staff were friendly and helpful. Bed was very very firm, so did not get a good sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel53YorkCentre, Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments from your recent stay at Hotel 53. I am sorry that you have not completely enjoyed your stay. Our bedrooms were fully refurbished in January this year and are designed with modern minimalism, I believe that the glass shelves at either side of the beds are both functional and fit in with our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

271 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (108)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (19)
Viewed
Classic King Room (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Handicap Accesibility (18)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)
Viewed
Triple Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#10 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#33 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#35 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay