We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 213 York B&Bs / inns

Goldsmiths Guest House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   18 Longfield Terrace | Bootham, York YO30 7DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Goldsmiths Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Goldsmiths Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #89 of 213 York B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014
Jon_crane Northampton, United Kingdom
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    36
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
49
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We arrived early for a two night stay, just hoping to be able to park up and then go and look around York. We where met with a warm welcome and shown where to park up (off of the road right opposite the B&B.). Our room was already ready so we where able to check in straight away. We where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in September.Host was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast had good variety and was well presented. We had the double room on the ground floor. Room was warm but we opened window to fix that. Ensuite bathroom a bit noisy but not a big issue. It was a lovely 10 minute walk along the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

I've paid for a 4star b/b and got 1 star the room was damp and had a shower very cold water no internet I tried to get help the husband very rude breakfast very poor just go to a hotel that what ill do next time rubbish service

Was this review helpful? Yes
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

i have been waiting for your review to appear after the comments you put in our visitors book so i can reply to them, you said could not get the internet i am sorry about that but we did try and help you with it with no success, all other guests since then have had no trouble ,you also complained... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Visted York for a long weekend as a birthday treat for my mom. Went by train, however parking was available and offered if needed (useful), the location was perfect, less than 10 minutes from the train station and a lovely stroll (<10 mins)into York centre. Set in a quiet road its a peaceful setting, room was basic but had everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for your review sorry your mum was disappointed that there was no decaf coffee in her room i do have loose decaf so if she had asked i could have given her some ,hope to see you again if you visit york . More

Dereham, Norfolk, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights whilst exploring York. Having arrived early at 10 AM, we were hoping just to drop our bags off, however our room was ready and we were made to feel extremely welcome. A car parking space was found for us and we were provided with a map and directions to the city centre. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for posting such a good review of your stay with us and the bonus was you submitting the photos as well it was very kind of you,we are pleased you enjoy your stayed with us and hope to see you again if you come to york More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Cracking wee guesthouse minutes from station and town centre, very welcoming and very clean, room a tad on small size but more than adequate, the cooked breakfast was delish!!!! all in all a great find, would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the trouble to write such a good review of our guest house we do appreciate it and i am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

What a lovely ,clean, comfortable welcoming guest house, better than any hotel. Rooms are clean ensuite, with wifi, hair dryer,toiletries .Breakfast is absolutely fabulous , full English is best I have had, plenty of tea coffee and toast. Susan is delightful with great sense of humour and very friendly. Very central 7 min walk to city centre along the river... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a fabulous review for us it is very much appreciated ,we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. More

Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a great experience staying at the Goldsmith's Guest House for three nights in May 2014. It is an easy walk from the train station and an equally easy walk into the Shambles. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were amazing and we really didn't even want to eat again until mid-afternoon (Tea Time!) Both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

so sorry i am late in replying to your review, it was so kind of you to write such a positive review of the guest house so thank you very much and we hope to see you again. More

Melton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were made very welcome, the breakfasts were superb & room comfortable. The only slight drawback was the small shower cubicle. However it was so handy to walk along the river bank & in five minutes you were either at the Minster, Railway station or Museum or shops & bars. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3days in York & hopefully will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the trouble to write a review of your stay with we appreciate all feed back , we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in york, sorry about the shower, but hope to see you again if you visit york. More

Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was our first visit to York. The room (no 2) was spotless and comfortable. En-suite power shower, toilet and hand basin. Fresh white towels daily. Tea/coffee and chocolate, TV with DVD and a good sized hair drier. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Breakfast was a delight, always very hot,well cooked and HUGE! Susan and George... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you so much for your fabulous review of our guest house it is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to review the bed and breakfast we are pleased that you enjoyed york and hope to see you again if you decide to return More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Goldsmiths Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldsmiths Guest House

Address: 18 Longfield Terrace | Bootham, York YO30 7DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldsmiths Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Goldsmiths Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay