We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Goldsmiths Guest House

18 Longfield Terrace | Bootham, York YO30 7DJ, England
Goldsmiths Guest House
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    49
    37
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
51
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Stayed here dec 31. Great warm welcome when we arrived.Guesthouse was lovely and warm and our room was lovely perfect for what we wanted.Just a 5-10 min stroll along the river into York which is beautiful and peaceful. Will def be stopping here again and would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We decided to go and see a concert at the Barbican, York and to stay overnight. My wife tried lots of places in York for a weekend stay in Christmas season - York was full! Luckily she managed to book us into Goldsmiths last minute.....it was lovely. At the risk of repeating what others have said, we had a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

I needed a room for one night in York at short notice as I was asked to work at the NRM. Got this via LateBookers.com. Very good location near centre of York (walk along river bank) and NRM (walk over river footbridge). Got a warm welcome on arrival, comfortable room with tea facilities on the first floor front. A good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We arrived early for a two night stay, just hoping to be able to park up and then go and look around York. We where met with a warm welcome and shown where to park up (off of the road right opposite the B&B.). Our room was already ready so we where able to check in straight away. We where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in September.Host was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast had good variety and was well presented. We had the double room on the ground floor. Room was warm but we opened window to fix that. Ensuite bathroom a bit noisy but not a big issue. It was a lovely 10 minute walk along the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

I've paid for a 4star b/b and got 1 star the room was damp and had a shower very cold water no internet I tried to get help the husband very rude breakfast very poor just go to a hotel that what ill do next time rubbish service

Was this review helpful? Yes
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

i have been waiting for your review to appear after the comments you put in our visitors book so i can reply to them, you said could not get the internet i am sorry about that but we did try and help you with it with no success, all other guests since then have had no trouble ,you also complained... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Visted York for a long weekend as a birthday treat for my mom. Went by train, however parking was available and offered if needed (useful), the location was perfect, less than 10 minutes from the train station and a lovely stroll (<10 mins)into York centre. Set in a quiet road its a peaceful setting, room was basic but had everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for your review sorry your mum was disappointed that there was no decaf coffee in her room i do have loose decaf so if she had asked i could have given her some ,hope to see you again if you visit york . More 

Dereham, Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights whilst exploring York. Having arrived early at 10 AM, we were hoping just to drop our bags off, however our room was ready and we were made to feel extremely welcome. A car parking space was found for us and we were provided with a map and directions to the city centre. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for posting such a good review of your stay with us and the bonus was you submitting the photos as well it was very kind of you,we are pleased you enjoy your stayed with us and hope to see you again if you come to york More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Cracking wee guesthouse minutes from station and town centre, very welcoming and very clean, room a tad on small size but more than adequate, the cooked breakfast was delish!!!! all in all a great find, would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the trouble to write such a good review of our guest house we do appreciate it and i am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

What a lovely ,clean, comfortable welcoming guest house, better than any hotel. Rooms are clean ensuite, with wifi, hair dryer,toiletries .Breakfast is absolutely fabulous , full English is best I have had, plenty of tea coffee and toast. Susan is delightful with great sense of humour and very friendly. Very central 7 min walk to city centre along the river... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review

thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a fabulous review for us it is very much appreciated ,we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities