We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast

17 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AQ, England
Hotel amenities
The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #119 of 216 York B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
11diner11 London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    57
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
27
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As name says, its a convent; and a working one, with an active community of nuns. Great location, right by Micklegate. Be aware, there is some considerable internal building work taking place at present. Don't know how long it is scheduled to go on for. Have stayed twice, and rooms are small, but have what one needs for a short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBarConvent, Public Relations Manager at The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear 11diner11, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you weren't too troubled by our renovations during your stay - most likely decorating in the Atrium, which is now in its very final stage. After this point the main building work will move to our conferencing rooms (away from guests) and the Exhibition (again,... More 

Bursledon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I found a single room as jumped in on a stag do last minute .when I arrived I could see what a great location it was .got taken to my nice room by a lovely helpful lady. Saw her the next morning and she seemed genuinely concerned how I slept and that I had a nice day. All other staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheBarConvent, Public Relations Manager at The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Paul, thanks for your recent review. We're very glad that you enjoyed your short stay at the Bar Convent. It matters a lot to us that our guests have a good night's sleep and enjoy themselves while they're here, so we're glad to hear that everything was alright for you. (We hope you enjoyed the stag do!) Best wishes,... More 

York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to have breakfast here on a weekday, attracted by the history of the place and its location. Sadly, our experience went downhill from that point. The food was ok but given the prices, you'd expect it to be far better. Paying £2.80 for a latte, cappuccino which was produced by pressing a button on a machine seems rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBarConvent, Public Relations Manager at The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Diane, Thank you for your recent review - we're so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your breakfast. Many of our guests tell us it is their favourite part of staying here, and we are very proud of our Visit England Breakfast Award, so it's sad to hear that we disappointed you on this occasion. Thank you once... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a fantastic location! Stayed for one night in an en suite room. It's had a beautiful newly fitted bathroom with walk in shower, large modern smart television, and a very comfortable bed with good quality fresh bedding, which smelt lovely and clean. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Finally the breakfast was good, with eggs cooked to your liking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBarConvent, Public Relations Manager at The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Brommers1664, Thank you so much for your recent review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our newly-refurbished rooms did not disappoint. We are very proud of all our staff, our building and our breakfasts, and it's fantastic to hear you were happy with the service. We look forward to welcoming you back to York. All the... More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Packed full of customers is always a good sign Excellent food could not eat any more large portions Relaxing environment Quick service and spotlessly clean Excellent menu choice particularly with daily specials Prices good value Worth the walk out of York City centre

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBarConvent, Public Relations Manager at The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Menumore, Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and I will pass your kind comments onto our café staff. We always strive to create a relaxing and friendly environment for guests, even when it's busy. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing... More 

luxor
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Tea and cake for 2 came to more than £10. We considered this far too expensive as compared with later in the day at a city centre restaurant we had lunch for 2, plus 2 glasses of wine for the same price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBarConvent, Public Relations Manager at The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Hatusu, We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the prices in our café. We strive to keep our prices in line with similar businesses in the area, and our portion sizes a little bigger, so we apologise if you felt the prices were too high. We review our prices frequently and will take your comments into consideration the... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

managed to get a one night stay in York, yes thats right, one night on a friday as well, the wife was at the hospital for a check up, all well cheers, and it went along with our 19 years together so we thought we would try and stay, that's when i got this place, it was just great, from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

This a better than your average B * B and is reflected in the price . The Place: Run by an order of nuns who have converted part of the convent into guesthouse. Just outside The Micklegate, car parking round the corner at Nunnery Lane )Thursdays free. 15 minute walk to The Shambles, 10 min walk from The National Railway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Clean, tidy room and very helpful welcome from the duty staff. The Bar Convent is centrally located close to the top of Micklegate and a short walk from the train station and a slightly longer, but certainly do-able walk to the centre of York. The room I had - St Marks - was very roomy and comfortable. The place does... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Only a short walk from the train station & the town center, the convent provides an exceedingly clean & peaceful haven, especially nice for a single traveller. Easy to find & within walking distance of everything. Price is moderate & the food delicious & simple.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City - Blossom St South
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#10 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn York City Centre - Blossom Street North
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay