We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 209 York B&Bs / inns

Guy Fawkes Inn

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Guy Fawkes Inn to your Saves list
Guy Fawkes Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
75%
Ranked #111 of 209 York B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
allison f Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    215
    100
    59
    23
See reviews for
56
445
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I thought I had reviewed this establishment on trip advisor but must have been booking.com site. We stayed August for 3 nights in room 11 which is off courtyard. Lovely big room with huge bathroom, although no bath which didn't matter as shower was fab. Very atmospheric place. Charming and helpful staff. Lad that served our relish breakfast last day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location, if you don't mind Cathedral bells at 09:00 on a Sunday morning for 2 hours!! All the noise from downstairs bar come up the stairs and keeps you awake, but this did quieten down after midnight. Four poster bedroom (4) wasn't what we were expecting at all!!! Very small room with no drapes or furniture on the four... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Struggling to find what is delux about our room and why this hotel has been given a 4 star rating. Spacious enough room but no drawers, no shelf space in bathroom, window did not stay open however there is a metal box provided for you to prop between the window and the ledge which does the trick!! TV did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hull
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Consistently high standards from the guy Fawkes inn, staff are so polite and welcoming we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! This is the second time we have stayed here now and will definitely be back again, fantastic location and evening meal in beer garden was just perfect. I would recommend to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for out anniversary and it was lovely! The hotel is very traditional and cosy, the staff were very friendly and our room had a view of the minster. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a taste of old York.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night in one of the courtyard rooms. We loved the room and the place in general. It's very atmospheric and the restaurant is lovely with candles lighting the room. The food was disappointing though- I had fish which was slightly undercooked and lacked seasoning, and my wife had the bellypork with apple & chorizo stew which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What an amazing place to stay. So authentic and mysterious with it's many nooks and crannies. Stayed in room 9 which over looked the court yard and had fantastic views of the minster tower. The room was full of period charm and absolutely spotlessly clean. With a big comfy bed. Disappointed not to get to eat in the dining room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cumbria
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in July, awful and at a price. Enterance looked like it hadn't been cleaned since Guy lived there. We were put in room one, which is over the kitchen all you could here and feel continuously was the very loud drone of the industrial extractor fans through the whole room. Very noisy smoking area in the back yard meant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. I could not fault the service or the location. However my room must have been the worst room in the building. It was located on the first landing so all traffic went past my door. The room was so narrow that I had to turn sideways and shuffle past the bed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AggiLuksa, Assistant Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our staff are delighted to hear you found the service impeccable. Due to the age and character of the building, each of our rooms is different with the executive rooms being the smallest doubles, deluxe and four poster - large doubles and the suite being the largest. Room 5... More

Southend on Sea
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't stay at the pub, just had lunch and drinks. It was a great choice and we all really enjoyed our food. It's quite pricey for pub grub but is well worth the extra pennies. I had the pie, the waitress warned me it would take 30 mins to cook but at least I knew it was fresh. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AggiLuksa, Assistant Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn, responded to this review

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant. We keep the menu very close to classic British to suit the character of the establishment, but we also like to add a little twist to the dishes just to make them a little different from the usual. The steak pie, however, has remained unchanged for... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Guy Fawkes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Guy Fawkes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Fawkes Inn

Address: 25 High Petergate, York YO1 7HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guy Fawkes Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Guy Fawkes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guy Fawkes York
Guy Fawkes Hotel York

303 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (254)
Viewed
Room/suite (87)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in York with
any amenities