We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 York hotels

The Groves

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Groves to your Saves list
The Groves
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
94%
Ranked #2 of 45 hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012
lindyloo59_11 Darlington, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (666)
  • Photos (135)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (123)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    457
    170
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
80
400
32
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for The Groves
See the most recent reviews
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

we stopped here for 2 nights in december from the 27th to the 29th. We had a large double room which was spacious it had a double bed as well as a single and there was still plenty of room to move around. There was a large flat screen tv as well. The bathroom area was good it was extremely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed your trip to York and everything was most satisfactory. As a larger room was available we upgraded you free of charge, something we always do should we have better rooms left empty. Should you be thinking of a revisit, we would be delighted to see you again. Please check out out... More

Lancashire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have already written one review regarding 'The Groves' and, as we stayed there again recently, we would like to add another comment. Suffice to say, this is the place that we will continue to pick whenever we stay in York. Friendly staff, a nice comfortable and warm room and a pretty good location with a nice stroll to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

We want to thank you for returning to The Groves time after time when you visit York. Over the next week or so we are having a major refurbishment of all public rooms too. The style and colour is designed to take us back to what it was like when built in 1896.... with a conteporary twist. I hope you... More

London, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

We were staying in the local area and wanted to stay in a nice but reasonable place. Unfortunately this is really two star at best.The decor was grim and dark, the room had no heat and had strange and unhygienic pebble dash flooring (i caught a cold). Bar open only until 10 and breakfast only from 730 to 9 on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

I was sorry you were dissappointed and wish you had brought this to our attention during your stay. However more importantly with your review I do need to clarify some inaccuracies as I feel you have been a bit harsh towards us on this occasion. Please see your reservation literature and you will find you chose The Groves, a four... More

sheffield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here over the new year and it was a lovely enjoyable stay and brilliant value for money. We had a small double room and we found the room to be of a reasonable size, even with our several large suit cases. The staff make you feel welcome and at ease, as soon as you walk through the door.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

We were all delighted and satisfied to hear you had a great New Year stay. Despite working hard and serving guests we also had an enjoyable time too doing it! We had a lovely crowd of people in at it makes a huge difference when you thoroughly enjoy your visit. Kind regards and all the best for 2012. Thanks again... More

Staffordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay which was very enjoyable. We requested a larger room with it being the middle of winter - always nice to have the extra space when the days are dark and cold! We were allocated room 25 which was a family room and suited us fine. We were more than happy with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

We were delighted to read that your recent visit to The Groves was very pleasant. With kind regards and happy new year. David More

Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed here on New Years Eve. The location is good, about 10 minutes walk from the centre, and the free parking is a Godsend. The staff were extremely nice. I very much got the impression that this is a place that cares about its guests having a pleasant stay. There were little touches I appreciated, such as extending breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and pleased you enjoyed your New Years trip to The Groves. We enjoyed looking after everyone over the New Year holiday period and glad you noticed the lots of extra touches made to make it that little bit special. Happy New Year and hope to see you here again soon. David & all the... More

Wales
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed in early December, having booked well in advance on the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor. Overall this is a nice hotel but the reviews promised more, and something was lacking. On arrival the gentleman at reception greeted us by saying "I've just finished but I'll leave you in the capable hands of ...." (a friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear you were slightly dissappointed - this is not good enough. Why didnt you speak to us or let us know via our internal room survey to enable us to answer your concerns immediately at the time or prior to departure? This does concern us. Sometimes sadly in this industry we are damned if we do... More

worcestershire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have just got back from the groves and our choice was entirely based on the trip advisor reviews. Honestly they did not let us down. We had room 30 and it was a great size room with super comfy bed. The breakfast was fantastic!! The free car parking was also a great bonus. We stayed for 3 nights and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Thank you for you very positive review and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards David More

lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Just returned from our second stay at the Groves. Every year we visit York at this time of year to see the pantomine, and for the past two years have stayed at the Groves. Our room was warm and clean, and the staff were excellent. We had a flat tyre when we were due to leave and the staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

It was very kind of you to return once more to The Groves and thank you for your comments. As you know further improvements are underway and hope you can come back to see all the changes. Happy New Year!! David & all the staff at The Groves York More

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

Although this is a B&B, on arrival it is bigger than expected with a good sized car park that I had no trouble in getting a space both nights I stayed. The appearance downstairs is slightly dated but has some lovely period features and I noticed they were re-decorating in the new year. My room was a single up two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Thank you for your realistic and fair review. Do return soon to see all the major improvements. David & all the staff at thegrovesyork.co.uk More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Groves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Groves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groves

Address: 15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Groves 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Groves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Groves Hotel York
Groves Hotel York

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in York #4 Romantic Hotel in York #5 Business Hotel in York #6 Family Hotel in York
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Personal summary by the owner: The Groves provides first class bed and breakfast accommodation in a pleasant tranquil setting just minutes on foot to the historic city centre. Rooms & bathrooms come in all shapes and sizes - you pay for what you get - yet we are proudly competitive price wise. If you are staying for 3 or more nights or travelling long haul, we highly recommend, subject to budget, taking a large room if available. You will have a clean en-suite room, comfortable bed, a complimentary refreshment tray, and a hearty Yorkshire breakfast. We provide a polite unpretentious helpful service in a 'non-chain' quirky charming environment. We are owner operated and not complacent realising your free time is valuable to you and us. The Groves is unsuitable for groups wanting to party excessively. Other groups contact us for further information. Free parking until checkout. Wifi(that generally has a good signal) flat fee of £4. The accommodation is over 2 floors - no lift. We have ground floor accessible rooms by request. Room fans but no air conditioning. We love York and look forward to welcoming you to The Groves - email or telephone for best rates. David ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer