We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Groves

#2 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Offers & Announcements
CLICK FOR 10% REDUCTION
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Groves
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Groves
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    209
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
98
493
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (814)
  • Mar-May only
    (198)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (215)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (211)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (190)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Clean, lovely friendly staff and perfectly functional but nothing special - and certainly not sufficient to support its Trip Advisor rating, its advertised 4 stars or the cost. At most it should be rated as 3 star accommodation. Our room was like a US motel (without) cable TV. Situated on the ground floor overlooking the car park and poor security... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We returned to The Groves for the third time. There really was no point in going anywhere else in York as it ticks all the boxes. Booking directly on their website saved any parking charges being applied. The hotel is a ten minute walk along Bootham (A19) into the Minster area so handy for restaurants etc. Once again a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Very satisfying to read you had another excellent stay with us - it is a great compliment to see guests such as yourselves visiting again and again. Thank you! A good tip to fellow travellers to remember to book direct with us as you have done for the best rates and exclusive offers. We hope to welcome you here again... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed only for one night but found this hotel very charming! Staff were very welcoming and friendly throughout the whole stay. Our room was extremely clean and had a vintage feel to the decor! Would definitely stay here again as it is only a short distance to walk to the central York attractions. Breakfast was complimentary and lush!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to recommend us and delighted you had an excellent stay with us. Full breakfast service is included with all bookings with some extra offers available by booking direct - keep an eye on our website! We hope to welcome you here again soon, Kind regards, Edward & all the staff @ The Groves York More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for two nights last weekend for a much needed break from routine with two friends. We stayed in the triple bedroom. Spotlessly clean and we all agreed our beds were the most comfortable ever! Sheets clean, crisp and white and the room was ideal. Breakfast was scrumptious and unlike a lot of hotels The Groves offers vegan sausages in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Very pleased to hear you had a perfect stay with us. We do strive for everyone to enjoy their time here and are delighted you returned home refreshed and relaxed! Glad also you appreciated the great choice on offer for breakfast. As noted we are located on a quiet cul-de-sac just a short 10 minute stroll from the city walls... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights 12th-13th April. Booked directly with the hotel & received free parking which is a real bonus in York. We upgraded to the Bootham Suite which is well worth it if you have the opportunity. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute walk into the centre & the staff are hard working & always pleased to help.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

So pleased to hear you had an excellent stay with us for your special occasion. The Bootham Suite is certainly well worth it for those looking for something extra. Glad also you were well looked after by our team here. As noted best rates/offers are only by booking direct - give us a call/email or see our own website for... More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for four nights with friends from 13th to 17th April. The staff were very friendly from the moment we arrived 'till departure. But then I always find the Yorkshire people are always so friendly.We purchased the' 3 day pass from' the Tourist office, and it saved us a lot of money, as the attractions aren't exactly cheap!! Back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, really delighted to hear you were so well looked after by our team and that you particularly enjoyed your breakfasts. We do have a good selection from the cold buffet as well as the main cooked breakfasts all freshly cooked-to-order. We do hope to see you again when you are next in York -... More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Decided to take a last minute two night break and after reading the positive reviews booked the Groves online to take advantage of best price and free parking. The guest house is situated and the end of a quiet cul de sac. If you want a quiet and relaxing break then this fits the bill. The place is very clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending us and glad you had a relaxing time here with our convenient location and finding us good value for money. We do have some great midweek rates coming up, all reservations include full breakfast service and as always it is best to book on our website for the best rates/offers such as FREE parking or just... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very pleasant staff and very attentive, very clean room with plenty of tea in the room, short walk to York Minster and the Shambles,etc. They serve a great breakfast in the morning and it's quiet for a good nights sleep. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Very pleased to hear you had an excellent stay enjoying our peaceful location just a short stroll from the city walls. Down our leafy cul-de-sac it is always quiet with on-site parking available as an added bonus! We hope to see you again soon - remember discounts/offers on our standard rates are only available on our website or by calling... More 

San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

amazing location only ten to fifteen minutes walking to the city. the rooms were more than adequate for me and my partner. food was great especially the breakfast choices which where marvelous. bathrrom was amazing also with a walk in shower which may have been my fav part :). totally recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

It is very satisfying to hear your comments. Glad you found our location perfect, away from the hustle and bustle of York centre but just a 10 minute stroll to the city walls with on-site parking available (rare in York). We hope you enjoyed your travels and if you are ever near York again just give us a call/email, Kind... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The only negative point is that I wish they had a lift installed; lugging my suitcase to the third floor was a pain. But the room was lovely, the staff friendly and obliging, the breakfast delicious, and the 10-minute walk into town very pleasant. This place was a great choice and I'd definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending us and glad to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. A good point to note we have no lift so for those who require make sure to request ground floor rooms particularly where mobility access is required. As always it is best to call when reserving to state any preferences. Kind regards, Edward &... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

503 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (360)
Viewed
Bootham Loft Suite (49)
Viewed
Family Room (32)
Viewed
Four-Poster Bed Room (40)
Viewed
Large Double Room (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (33)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Single (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Triple Room (38)
Viewed
Twin Room with Handicap Accessibility (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question