We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 York hotels

The Groves

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Groves to your Saves list
The Groves
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
94%
Ranked #2 of 45 hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
MsTery50 Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (670)
  • Photos (135)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (124)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    460
    171
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
81
401
32
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with friends. Excellent hotel and within 10 minutes walk to the centre of York. Stayed in standard double room on the second floor. It was a very hot weekend and the added touch of bottled water in the ice bucket in reception area for free for guests was truly appreciated! Excellent service throughout and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sheffield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just arrived home from having a weekend at the groves with some friends. Checked in and was shown to our room . Up to the first floor then up an ornate spiral staircase. Our room (32)was at the top of this. Our room was small but very clean and more than adequate for our stay. The bathroom was compact... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to recommend us and leave us your feedback. It is great to hear you had a lovely time and appreciated the extra touches we have made during these exceptionally hot days we are having in York. All our rooms do come in different shapes and sizes such is the nature of our grand Victorian... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We made our selection after reading Trip Advisor Reviews. We were absolutely delighted with the hotels convenient location to all of York's attractions, the friendly and accommodating staff as well as the history and charm of the place. The breakfast was delightful and a great way to start our busy day exploring York.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback. It is wonderful to hear we lived up to your high expectations from other comments posted here. Glad you found us convenient for sightseeing in York. We are just 10 minutes stroll from York minster with a free on-site car park (rare in York these days!) A good... More

Thailand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed everything about this hotel. It was beautifully decorated throughout and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, and it was a pleasant walk to the center of the city. Staff were polite and helpful, and parking was within steps of reception. We'd stay here again without question.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay from the freshly cooked to order breakfasts to the great location just 10 minutes walk from York minster with FREE on site parking. When returning to York please make sure to give us a call/email as the best rates and offers are only available by booking directly with us. Kind regards,... More

Dudley West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this Hotel recently found it very comfortable,staff very professional. Breakfast was more than adequate everything you could want. Over all a very warm and welcoming place to stay. The Hotel is situation in a very nice area of York and is very handy for sightseeing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to leave us a great review. It is very satisfying to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found us well situated for visiting York. We are just 10 minutes walk from York minster on a quiet cul de sac with a FREE on-site car park. We hope to welcome you back... More

England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My amazing fiance treated me to a wonderful stay at The Groves for my birthday & did me so proud. I didn't know where were staying & couldn't have asked for more. We had the four poster room which was amazing & so comfortable with everything we needed. The room was so clean and fresh & very relaxing & the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

We recall your visit and are thrilled that you had such an excellent time here for your birthday. Thank you for taking the time to recommend us and rate us so highly. Everyone in our small team here works very hard to ensure all aspects of your stay are as enjoyable as you have described and your comments are reward... More

wallington England
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
70 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel for one night, and will definately return. Was given a very warm welcome on arrival. The room was spacious and very clean, with a comfortable bed, it was at the back of the hotel,and was very quite. The bar was good. I found the receptionist was lovely,very helpful and friendly. It was about a 10 minute... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

We recall your visit and pleased you had an excellent stay. Glad you found your larger double room (No. 23) spacious and spent time in our bar to relax and enjoy a drink after a hard days sightseeing! When returning to York remember to give us a call/email for the direct discount and we look forward to seeing you again.... More

Didcot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Groves is a wonderful little Hotel and only 10 minutes away from York Minister and the centre of town. I could not fault it in any way, there was ample parking. The bedroom and bathroom were exceptionally clean, the bed was very comfortable. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was wonderful too. Would I stay again? Certainly!!! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

We recall your stay and are all delighted to hear you had such a great stay and found the freshly cooked to order breakfasts wonderful! Our local staff are always on hand to help or advise on where to go and what to see in York. If returning it would be our pleasure to welcome you here again. Remember to... More

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights at the weekend, a really nice hotel, staff were really friendly. Room was small but very nice. The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and as much coffee as you wish. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again as it was quite out from the main centre of York. A very nice hotel though.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Pleased to hear you had an excellent stay, were well looked after by our friendly staff and found a wide choice from our freshly cooked to order breakfasts. As you mentioned booking directly always gives you discounted rates and the best terms, including free Wi-Fi. We are sorry to hear you will not be returning due to the distance. As... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel based on other reviews and were very impressed. The hotel is situated at the quiet end of a street so there was no street noise. The room we were in was immaculate and kept this way during our short stay. The bed was very comfortable and although the room wasn't air-conditioned, there was even an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheGrovesYork-co-uk, Manager at The Groves, responded to this review

Very pleased to hear your enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Equally pleased that we lived up to your (high) expectations also. Glad you made use of our FREE on-site car park (rare in York these days!). Guests such as yourselves are welcome to arrive early and park their car before check-in time to make the most of their stay.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Groves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Groves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groves

Address: 15 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Groves 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Groves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Groves Hotel York
Groves Hotel York

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in York #4 Romantic Hotel in York #5 Business Hotel in York #6 Family Hotel in York
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Personal summary by the owner: The Groves provides first class bed and breakfast accommodation in a pleasant tranquil setting just minutes on foot to the historic city centre. Rooms & bathrooms come in all shapes and sizes - you pay for what you get - yet we are proudly competitive price wise. If you are staying for 3 or more nights or travelling long haul, we highly recommend, subject to budget, taking a large room if available. You will have a clean en-suite room, comfortable bed, a complimentary refreshment tray, and a hearty Yorkshire breakfast. We provide a polite unpretentious helpful service in a 'non-chain' quirky charming environment. We are owner operated and not complacent realising your free time is valuable to you and us. The Groves is unsuitable for groups wanting to party excessively. Other groups contact us for further information. Free parking until checkout. Wifi(that generally has a good signal) flat fee of £4. The accommodation is over 2 floors - no lift. We have ground floor accessible rooms by request. Room fans but no air conditioning. We love York and look forward to welcoming you to The Groves - email or telephone for best rates. David ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer