We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 213 York B&Bs / inns

The Staymor in the City

Save
You added The Staymor in the City to your Saves list
2 Southlands Road, York YO23 1NP, England (Formerly Staymor Guest House)
Hotel amenities
The Staymor in the City
Ranked #114 of 213 York B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night in room 1 at Staymor for NYE. The room and bathroom were both really nice. The bed was extremely comfortable, it was difficult to drag ourselves out of it in the morning! Ruth and Rob were both really nice and helpful and the B&B had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. To help us celebrate the beginning of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us - it was great to have such lovely people staying on our first New Year at the Staymor! Hope we see you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We were looking all over the internet to book for a place to stay in the week before Christmas and chanced upon the "Staymor B&B". Although slightly expensive as compared to hotel stay, we managed to get a room booked for 2 nights. The location is around 5 minute walk from the City wall and 15 minute by walk from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! So sorry about the heating - apparently we had a dodgy valve (!) which made it cut out in the middle of the night. We have since had this fixed and are nice and toasty again all night - which is good in the current brass monkey weather! Anyway if you do fancy warming... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

The room was so cold, even huddled together in the same bed, we were cold all night and barely slept. "Breakfast brought to your room" they said. The morning brought the welcoming smell of bacon and we couldn't wait to tuck into bacon and eggs. Oh we got breakfast brought to our room alright. A jar of something I wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Manager at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

:0( So sorry guys sounds like you had a rubbish time! We could have sorted the heating and made you a whopping bacon buttie if you had told us - we didn't know things had gone wrong and are really sorry you weren't happy with us. If you do wish to give us another go we will take 10% off... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Perfectly placed near the centre, friendly and warm welcome, very, very clean room and a fantastic breakfast layout with a little family history to the place, see room pamphlet. We will see you all soon. Thanks again Janet & Matt Kirkpatrick x

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We hope to see you again too! More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Needed a room on short notice for some work at the University. Booked on the Friday morning of check in, everything was confirmed and details of check-in process sent via SMS and email. Highly efficient process to get into the guesthouse, and greeted by an immaculately clean room, with one of the best beds I have slept in. Worldwide. Period.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We are in the process of updating and modernising and by next year will have all brand spanking new ensuites - would be lovely to see you again! More 

Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Great time in York and in this lovely guest house. Everythings was good and confortable. It is in a good position not so far from the train station and from the city center. The rooms are so nice and you fill to be in a old victorian house. The breakfast is excellent. Good job!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review - hope to see you again! More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

So friendly we go every year. Kath and dave have become special friends. Perfectly situated for the races. Breakfast beautiful. Once you've stayed here you won't look anywhere else. about 10 minute walk to centre of York but we enjoy the stroll.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay with a group of friends last week, Kath made us feel very welcome on arrival showing us to our rooms which were delightful. Lovely and clean throughout. Breakfast was lovely in the morning cooked fresh to order by Dave and made to feel very welcome by Jackie who took our breakfast orders. Overall a great stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

What a lovely Guest House, my husband and I have just come back from a 4 night stay in this guest house, we can thoroughly recomend this place if you are visiting York - it is a short stroll through a beautiful park to the city centre, also if you don't want to walk the number 11 bus will get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wales, UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

3 of us stayed for 1 night as we were attending a conference at the racecourse. We wanted a safe, clean, value place near to the venue. We got that from Staymor. The rooms have all that is required, I had an excellent full English and slept well. The rooms are clean and comfy. i have previously stayed at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Staymor in the City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Staymor in the City

Address: 2 Southlands Road, York YO23 1NP, England (Formerly Staymor Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

2 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay