We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Staymor in the City

2 Southlands Road, York YO23 1NP, England (Formerly Staymor Guest House)
The Staymor in the City
Review This Hotel

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited for a city break, and had such a lovely time! Ruth & Rob were so kind and welcoming, and the amazing breakfasts they provided really set us up well for the day. It's brilliant location is a 10 minute walk (if that) into the city centre and we walked from the train station on arrival. You're also in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review- its so nice to know people enjoy their stay with us. We hope to keep on improving the rooms and service - its nice to know we are going the right way with the décor! Hope to see you again. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We have just got back home after a lovely weekend away. The Staymore Guest House is lovely, the room was warm, cosy and very homely. Breakfast to your room was a luxury we do not usually have and the food was all fresh and really tasty. The owners Rob and Ruth are down to earth, very warm and welcoming people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are really enjoying The Staymor and its lovely to know people don't mind the mini helpers - we are hoping to train them up to do all the hard work soon! Hope we get the chance to see you again. More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked to stay here for 1 night for a Mothers Day Treat for myself and my Mum. Booking was simple via the VisitYork.Org site, booking finalised by Email from the Guest house owners after a couple of days. Very simple easy clear instructions on what to do upon arrival as arriving later in the evening. A text also arrived a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review - its so nice to know we can facilitate people having special moments with loved ones! We are fortunate to be in a wonderful city which attracts lovely people like yourselves - I hope we will see you again. More 

Derbyshire
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good overnight stay. We were right at the top of the house in the family room. Beds super comfortable with quality bedding. Quiet street, so no noise to keep us awake. Breakfast was unique. A whole tray full of goodies, the best bit being the Bircher! Don't knock it till you've tried it. Effortless check out. Improvements are being done... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we appreciate you taking the time to do it for us. Hopefully you will come and see the new ensuites when they are finished - we are very excited! More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely house, we stayed for two nights , we were greeted by Ruth and Rob, our room was very comfortable everything you could ask for. Good beds, linen and pillows were of nice quality . Our breakfast brought to our room, delicious Bircher( now make my own) thanks Ruth.we had fresh coffee and orange juice,croissants, jam ,and egg and bacon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review it is greatly appreciated. It was so nice to meet you and find we have more Bircher fans! Try substituting the apple for pear if you fancy a change - and let us know if you come up with any other great twists we should try. Hope to... More 

wright2607
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Staymor on Saturday 07/02/15. Lovely place....nice ambience....and a breakfast Alex Pollezi would be proud of!! It was beautiful...thank you....we will return. Kind Regards Tim & Sandra Craven

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for sharing your experience of The Staymor with us - it is so nice to know that people have had an enjoyable time here - that's the most important thing to us and wonderful if we achieve it. Look forward to seeing you again! More 

Ayia Napa, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We stayed on a weekend away to York and we're referred to this guesthouse because a different one was full and we're glad it was. Free parking outside and the owners have gone to every effort to think of everything we needed. A cute little place within easy walking distance of the city centre and lots of little touches that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! Its great to have such lovely feedback and means a lot, we look forward to seeing you again! More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We stayed one night in room 1 at Staymor for NYE. The room and bathroom were both really nice. The bed was extremely comfortable, it was difficult to drag ourselves out of it in the morning! Ruth and Rob were both really nice and helpful and the B&B had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. To help us celebrate the beginning of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us - it was great to have such lovely people staying on our first New Year at the Staymor! Hope we see you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We were looking all over the internet to book for a place to stay in the week before Christmas and chanced upon the "Staymor B&B". Although slightly expensive as compared to hotel stay, we managed to get a room booked for 2 nights. The location is around 5 minute walk from the City wall and 15 minute by walk from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Owner at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! So sorry about the heating - apparently we had a dodgy valve (!) which made it cut out in the middle of the night. We have since had this fixed and are nice and toasty again all night - which is good in the current brass monkey weather! Anyway if you do fancy warming... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

The room was so cold, even huddled together in the same bed, we were cold all night and barely slept. "Breakfast brought to your room" they said. The morning brought the welcoming smell of bacon and we couldn't wait to tuck into bacon and eggs. Oh we got breakfast brought to our room alright. A jar of something I wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheStaymor, Manager at The Staymor in the City, responded to this review

:0( So sorry guys sounds like you had a rubbish time! We could have sorted the heating and made you a whopping bacon buttie if you had told us - we didn't know things had gone wrong and are really sorry you weren't happy with us. If you do wish to give us another go we will take 10% off... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question