We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jorvik Hotel

3.0 of 5 50 - 52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jorvik Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Jorvik Hotel
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    130
    72
    43
    34
See reviews for
33
211
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (382)
  • Mar-May only
    (107)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (90)
All months
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were incredibly disappointed with our stay at The Jorvik Hotel. Firstly, on arrival, we were told that we'd have to pay £8 each day to park our car which was not made clear when we booked. Also, we were told that a cooked breakfast was no longer available, only a continental breakfast ('due to unforeseen circumstances') and that we'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed by myself in December 2014, for the Xmas markets and night out!! I stopped at the Jorvik Hotel for 1 night in a double room, the location is great, only a few minutes from the city centre. The room was really nice, decent size, the linen spotless, everything you expect in the room was there tea, coffee, milk, shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review and i am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Jorvik Hotel soon. Kind Regards More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited york this weekend and loved it. Hotel is in a perfect location, myself and my partner arrived by train and located the hotel very easily. We were welcomed at the hotel by a friendly gentleman who kindly carried our bags to the room for us. He showed us how to work the air conditioning and told us that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future. Kind Regards More 

Brighton & Hove
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great city, great location. Just a shame the hotel wasn’t up to scratch. And sadly, the first inkling that my stay might prove disappointing came the moment I walked through the door. It would seem fairly obvious to me that staff manning any hotel reception desk need to fully understand the concept of providing a welcome. There’s a very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorvikhotel, Receptionist at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, my General Manager has brought your review to my attention and as the member of staff on duty I wished to reply personally. Firstly let me start by apologizing for the poor experience you have brought to our attention. Never at any point during your check in at the Jorvik Hotel did I intend to make you feel... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at this hotel at check in time and we were told the room wasn't ready and we should find a local pub for an hour or so. Not the best start to our trip. Add in the inability to provide a cooked breakfast, the exorbitant price to park, the refusal of reception staff to help by opening the door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review on your recent stay here with us. When guests do arrive before the 2pm check in time we do try and check you into your rooms if they are available. If we are unable to do so we are more than happy to keep your bags within our luggage store so that you... More 

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was traveling by myself and booked before reading some of the more doubtful trip reviews of this hotel so I was initially a tad dubious. I have passed this hotel for years so knew of its locating which overlooks the park leading directly to the city center. It is perfectly placed. Staff are very helpful although I wished the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. We do serve toast to everyone but this is made to order but i am please to hear that the reception had remember your previous conversation and made this for you when you arrived for breakfast. I will... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived for 3 night break for our wedding anniversary and by the end if it we were glad to leave. We have Ben coming to York for 30 years and this is the worst hotel we have stayed in. If you are thinking of staying here then think again stay elsewhere List of things not working TV Jacuzzi Shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review and i am very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your recent stay. I have spoken to the receptionist on duty the evening you arrived and he said that you did have some issues with the tv not switching on. He was more than happy to help with this and... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for a 2 night rest and quality time with my partner, great location great place, loved the jacuzzi bath in room 9 really enjoyed our stay, Nice big bed and very close to everything, friendly staff and welcoming thankyou

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future. Kind Regards More 

Renfrewshire
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a hotel very close to the centre. During the day is was a short stroll through the park, after dark a slightly longer walk but still very handy. We had booked two rooms and both were clean and comfortable. Both bathrooms were very tight space wise but they done the job. The bar area was small but again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review and i am pleased to here that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards More 

South Yorkshire England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Stayed for one night with a group of friends, great location, a stroll through the park to get to the centre. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were of a good size and clean as was the rest of the hotel. More seating is needed in the bar and lounge to cater for larger groups. We would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorvikhotel, General Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Jorvik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorvik Hotel

Address: 50 - 52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jorvik Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jorvik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorvik Hotel York

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay