We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jorvik Hotel

50 - 52 Marygate, York YO30 7BH, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Jorvik Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We'd booked at fairly last minute, so were a bit limited in what was available in York but it looked a good place to stay and it's in a great location so paid about double what we normally do in York. The hotel was pleasant enough, and clean, although for the price you'd expect better fittings, it was pretty much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom H
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here in a group of ten for two night with my family for brothers 21st certainly were not disappointed All had lovely rooms and they had put us all on same ground floor Comfy beds clean room very friendly staff who did everything to accommodate us Definitely value for money with a perfect central location to the beautiful city... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
JorvikNewManagement, Owner at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your very kind comments. We're pleased that the staff were so helpful as we believe they are our greatest asset. Please let us know when you plan to return and we'll look forward to welcoming you back. With thanks and regards, The Management Team More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel a week ago. We paid £167 for two nights. As we were settling down in our room, we both noticed that the bed covers had stains on them. I also found water with bits of black stuff in our kettle. Sleeping was the worst part...the double bed is just two single beds... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank NativeGresian
JorvikNewManagement, Owner at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. Please be assured that we use an industrial laundry services for all bed linen. Please get in touch with the hotel so we can inquire about your illness so we can assess the situation thoroughly. We have no record of your issue on our files so we can only... More 

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

stayed here for a weekend hotel in some areas looking a bit tired bedroom was large with king size bed bathroom was small had to back on to toilet no room to turn around and walls were always damp from the shower breakfast is very good hotel in a good position for all that York has to offer

Helpful?
Thank Robin M
JorvikNewManagement, Owner at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and for your useful comments. As we have an old building it is true that some bathrooms are bigger than others. Please let us know when you're staying next and we'll make sure we allocate a room that suits all your requirements. Please be aware that we take... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

Had a really good stay clean rooms comfy beds hot fresh cooked breakfast nice helpful staff would defiantly stay here again and recommend to other people close to train station and we did plenty shopping as shops where close by

Helpful?
1 Thank wishes2002
JorvikNewManagement, Owner at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel and your very kind comments. Please let us know when you plan the hotel next and we will be delighted to welcome you back. With kind regards, The Management Team More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Stayed here this month and was really disappointed considering the price we paid £160 for room only...it was more or less travelodge/premier inn standard. We had an awful smell in the bathroom (smelt like sewerage!) and the room was roomy but we had a problem with a flickering light and it needed a lick of paint/updating. On the plus side... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Wally52831703
JorvikNewManagement, Owner at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are very concerned about your experience and we would like to discuss the issues with you further. Please email the hotel and reference this review so we can follow up. Email: info@jorvikhotel.co.uk. With regards, The Management Team More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights just for a break. Room was okay but the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The radiator in the bathroom was all rusty and the grouting and sealant round the bath was very messy and made it look really shabby. The bed was really comfy. The signal was lost so I couldn't use the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isobell J
JorvikNewManagement, Owner at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time review the hotel. All comments are taken seriously and we use this to help us continually improve our performance and service. Please do let us know when you will visit again so we can ensure you have a terrific stay. With thanks, The Management Team More 

England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

We were checked in at 1400 hrs . We arrived in our room to find wet towels from the previous occupant still hanging behind the door, the floor of the bathroom was not very clean, and the bedspread was stained. The TV did not work well from the controller, despite the reception staff putting new batteries in the handset and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vostro
JorvikNewManagement, Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comments and for taking the time to review the hotel. You will be pleased to know that the CD collection in the breakfast room has now been purged of all RAP music and there is a much selection playing. We must warm that there will be some Christmas favorites over the festive season, but... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015 via mobile

Just returned after two nights staying at the Jorvik. On arrival greeted by a lovely receptionist, over the two days she was really helpful and get the impression would go the extra mile for every guest. The room was lovely, nice sized room on the ground floor, large king size bed and also had a Jacuzzi style bath with underwater... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank scottyr1990
JorvikNewManagement, Manager at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very kind comments and we will delighted to welcome you back to the Jorvik Hotel anytime. Please let us know in advance so we can extend every courtesy. With kind regards, The Management Team More 

Level Contributor
117 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

Myself and my wife stopped here on Saturday night, the room was dirty. No remote for the television, apparently they get stolen. The dirt on the top of the television was nasty, the chair in our room was disgusting and covered in stains. The window rattled all night as did the air vent in the bathroom resulting in hardly any... More 

Helpful?
16 Thank Davidpierrepont
JorvikNewManagement, Owner at Jorvik Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comments on the hotel. The management team have been trying to contact you as the number/s left are incorrect. Please contact info@jorvikhotel.co.uk and reference this review so we can follow up accordingly. You can also call for the same, but either way we are happy to consider your request. With thanks, The Management Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#39 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 stars 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
3.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay