We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Churchill Hotel

3.0 of 5 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Hotel website
Special Rate
Free Car Parking
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Churchill Hotel
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    262
    118
    65
    37
See reviews for
90
590
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (900)
  • Mar-May only
    (229)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (222)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (226)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (223)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Churchill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Warwickshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were treated to a two night break and chose this hotel. The location is fantastic, walking distance to all major attractions within York. We did not dine at the hotel as 1st night we ate in the town and 2nd we had arranged to meet family but the breakfast was superb, could not fault choices or the service we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JohnWallaceYork, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review

We're really pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us and hope to return. If you do come to visit again we'd suggest giving us a call (on 01904 644456) or using our Facebook booking engine, this way we can offer you the best price (the online booking agents typically charge us around 20% commission!) More

Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Great hotel, very clean, food excellent, staff very professional but also friendly. Great welcome on arrival. Only a short walk to city centre. Could not fault it and would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnWallaceYork, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it's always nice to hear from happy customers and I'll make sure your comments are passed on to the staff. More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband booked through an Internet site rather than direct,on arrival we were made aware a twin room had been booked rather than a double. The situation was handled very professionally and we were offered a room swap without hesitation. However the twin room was lovely and I didn't find it a problem, so turned down the room swap. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnWallaceYork, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we'll see you again at some point (by the way if you give us a call or book via Facebook next time we'll be able to beat the usual internet rates). More

UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I would like to personally thank all the staff at The Churchill Hotel for a truly wonderful stay. The room was fantastic, it had all the facilities we needed. It was clean and was an excellent size and well laid out for a family room. The meal we had in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and amazing - one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnWallaceYork, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review

We really thank you for your lovely review, it's always great to hear from such happy customers. Hopefully we'll see you again soon. More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed in room 129 for two nights. Parking not a problem although if very busy could struggle, but this is the same with all hotels in York. Location wise ideal We had booked an Executive double. We were very disappointed with the room. It was small and felt very dark with the walnut furntiure and only one window, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnWallaceYork, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Co-incidentally I've just responded to another review requesting additional channels for the TV's, this is something we've been on with recently and we've just got a third of the hotel left to change. Sorry you were disappointed with your bedroom and the busyness of our gardens on the date in question. The event last... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The room we had (132) was supposed to be a "superior" one but only had one window and was quite dark so needed the lights on most of the time. It was very clean and tidy (congratulations cleaning staff!) but there were no drawers to put clothes away in. The TV was very small and only had the main five... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnWallaceYork, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Sorry you thought Room 132 to be a bit on the dark side, I accept your point although most do think it's a lovely bedroom and really like the view of the Minster. As far as the TV's go we are two thirds of the way around the hotel changing them all for flat screens again... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for a special get away in York as we have always loved the city after a short break a few years back and the Churchill seemed good value for money and close enough to the city centre. Check in was smooth with a rather helpful man on reception cheerfully helping us with any questions and offering a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnWallaceYork, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, We really thank you for your great review, we've unfortunately taken a bit of a pasting from the last couple of reviewers so your comments couldn't have come at a better time to cheer us all up! Many thanks John More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel twice, and we shall not be going back. The first time we stayed we could not get into the restaurant, thus booked the hotel again ‘thinking’ this restaurant must be good and worth another visit (although we couldn’t swing a cat in our bedroom) Remarks as follows: Positive: • There is only one member... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JohnWallaceYork, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regardless of the fact it is not very favourable. We are extremely proud of the food that we serve in the Piano Restaurant and I'm genuinely sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal. I would be happy for you to contact me directly with regards to your complaint, whilst I initially scripted a full response... More

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Having read positive reviews on various sites and the photos of the hotel and rooms looked great, we were looking forward to our stay however I'm afraid we were disappointed. We struggled to get a space in the car park on arrival; we finally managed to squeeze into the last remaining space after a 28 point turn! We were shown... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnWallaceYork, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. I openly acknowledge that some of our double bedrooms are smaller than some people may wish, in some circumstances I concede it may be worth booking the substantially larger superior bedrooms (£10-£25 per night more) but for a short city break this would also be unnecessary for many. It's good to hear that you enjoyed... More

telford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The standard room we were given (112) was way too small, with no view and a TV that was impossible to view from the bed (!?). We paid £20 extra per night and were then upgraded to the Downing Suite, which was a better size. The room was clean, although one of the pillow cases was stained. The hotel is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnWallaceYork, Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which is most welcome and useful to us in making sure that we give future guests the best experience possible. The main point you raise about having been disturbed by the banging of doors we will have looked at tomorrow by our maintenance team, it may simply be that the door closers need softening off... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Churchill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay