We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 York hotels

The Judges Lodging

9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Hotel amenities
The Judges Lodging
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Judges Lodging to your Saves list
77%
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Lottieloves Lincoln, United Kingdom
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    120
    50
    20
    19
See reviews for
48
218
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (394)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (119)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

we stayed as a couple for 2 nights in mid October. The hotel is fab the best we have found in York and we have tried a few. The location is great right in the middle of the shopping / tourist area, the quality of the hotel is very high. The staff are also of a very good standard very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review! It's great to read your kind comments about your stay and that you enjoyed dining with us too. It has been unusually warm for the time of year so we have turned the heating off again! I'm delighted you found the team warm and friendly and certainly look forward to welcoming you back to... More

Widnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect central location with Betty's tea rooms and the Shambles 2 minutes walk away. There is no parking at the hotel but you can park up to offload the car. The car was parked about 10 min walk through the park along the river. We arrived first for a corporate "do" and reception was behind the hotel bar in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* review! I'm delighted to read your warm comments about the team and the service you received and that you would not hesitate to recommend us. Your comprehensive review describes most elements of our offer perfectly so thank you. I have noted your comments about the music so thank you for bringing this to my attention.... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very traditional City centre Hotel. Freshly, tastefully refurbished this year. Staff very friendly & efficient. Food delightfully tasty. Beers local & served with a smile from this youthful team. Would recommend ONLY to able bodied travellers. There is NO LIFT in this quaint hotel, the dual staircase at the front looks idyllic but is a challenge to the mobility limited.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and for coming to stay with us! You have left some lovely comments about the team and I will be sure to share these with them. It has been a little strange for us too having a few rainy days as we had such a pleasant summer so I'm sorry we failed to bring you... More

hull uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just spent a night at the judges lodgings in York , and while there was lots to recommend this hotel there were also minuses to our stay . having looked at the hotels website i was very impressed with the beautiful rooms and period decor , i particularly chose this hotel as this trip was a treat for my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of your stay. It's great to read all of the things that you enjoyed about your stay but I appreciate there were a couple of things that weren't quite right for you. Unfortunately we don't have any twin rooms available overlooking the minster- we always accommodate guests requests where we can but on this occasion... More

London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at Judges Lodging over 16th-19th August as we were keen to avoid a chain hotel and we were attracted to the beautiful décor of The Judges Lodging and its very central location. Upon arrival, the staff who greeted us at the front desk were friendly and polite. We had booked a ‘Garden Room’ and were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and for coming to stop with us during the Summer. The Garden rooms have been extremely popular with a lot of guests (who have posted reviews) but have also not been to other guests tastes due to their brand new construction and location. We are going to be doing some work on our marketing of... More

North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were very friendly and accommodating. On checking in we had one of the new garden rooms but would not recommend these rooms. After being shown to our room we found that the blinds didn't work and there was considerable noise coming from what we think was kitchen extractor fan. We were moved to another Garden room three doors down.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing your review- I'm guessing you have arrived back home now! We are certainly taking all feedback about all of our new rooms on board so thank you for raising the points you have in your review. Its great to see that you have still given us a 4* and that you found the team friendly and... More

York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only stop by for food and drink and cannot comment on the rooms as we have moved to the area, the food is great and the staff helpful and friendly, especially enjoy eating in the the outdoor area, even if the weather is a little cold, staff recently went the extra mile after I lost a receipt for expenses purposes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review! We will always help wherever we can and its always great to read reviews from non-hotel guests as we value our drinking and dining guests just as much! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for a weekend at the Judges Lodging in September. Like a previous reviewer we stayed in the Butlers Suite and like them found it too hot and smaller than expected. We had booked an executive double and I checked with reception that the room was in fact an executive double and they confirmed it was. I had requested... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and your visit to stay with us. I can only apologise about the warmth in your room and as I have mentioned to the previous reviewer it is certainly something we are working on. We always try and accommodate all requests where we can for specific rooms. The room that you stayed in is a... More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked in the Butler Suite overlooking all the activity. The room was smaller than I expected but well furnished and maintained. The room was very hot which made things uncomfortable without air conditioning. Had the window open and the fan on most of the night. Suggest going in winter when warmth would be more appreciated. The breakfasts were hearty and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review

Many thanks for coming to stay with us and for your review. It's disappointing to read that your room wasn't as large as expected but nice to hear that you enjoyed most other aspects of your stay. We don't have any air conditioning at all as we are Grade 1 listed - this was a negative of having such a... More

Grange Over Sands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We opted for a "Character Room" which was the Judges' Room (room 1) on the first floor, at the front of the hotel. Lots of space, newly decorated, large bathroom with spa bath, good selection of teas and coffee in-room, comfy bed, but no lift in the hotel. The food is a good standard with an excellent breakfast choice, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JLNick_James, General Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing your review and for coming to stay with us- it's great to read that you liked our new look and the team helpful and friendly! I can only apologise about the door closer- this has been repaired. The noise from the front street is obviously out of our control but is really frustrating for us at... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

182 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (47)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay