We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heworth Court Hotel

3.0 of 5 76 - 78 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England (Formerly Heworth Court B&B)
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
WINTERSALE!!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heworth Court Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Heworth Court Hotel
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    107
    44
    30
    3
See reviews for
37
160
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had booked the hotel for the last night of our whistle-stop tour of the Scottish Highlands and North England. We got a ground floor room for my mother, which was large and well maintained. We had a room on the first floor, also very good. In fact, there is a nice courtyard and plenty of parking to the back.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having recently stayed in a small double room at this hotel, I would have to express my disappointment in the quality of the room. Yes, we expected a small room, so no surprise there. However, we did still expect a certain standard in furnishing, decor and ensuite facilities but were very much disappointed. The ensuite was extremely small, the basin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are so pleased to have found this lovely little hotel,and to think that we ALMOST stayed at a Premier Inn!!To have on-site safe parking so close to the city is a bonus,as is the bus which stops 20 yds away and arrives every 10 minutes,and only a 5 minutes journey into town. We were given room 12 which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
skipton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here for short breaks over several years and are never disappointed. The hotel and rooms are cosy. The staff are friendly and helpful.The restaurant has excellent meals. There is extensive malt whisky selection. There is nothing to dislike we love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

just got back from york. Hotel was nice and close to town centre but unfortunately that's where the positive comments end. We booked a superior double room. However when we arrived our room wasn't in the hotel but 2 doors down in another guest house. We were right next to the front door and woken up regularly by doors slamming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProprietorYork, Manager at Heworth Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest - I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We currently do have some rooms in our annexe building, Sutherland House, situated 2 doors down from the main building. It does say this on booking.com's website where you booked through. The room you stayed in is a very large room with 2 double... More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After having a pleasant stay at Heworth Court a couple of years ago with my wife we decided to bring our daughter this time and booked a family room. We were a little bit disappointed when we were told we were staying at Sutherland House two doors down the road and even more surprised when we found the family room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProprietorYork, Manager at Heworth Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, just wanted to respond to this review as we only advertise our family room on our own website, where it is described as being situated on the 2nd floor (no lift) in our annexe building, Sutherland House, next door but 2 from the main building. We also clearly state that Wifi is only available in the main building.... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the heworth previously so decided to return. This time as we booked up the last available room we were put in the annexe which is 2 doors down from the main hotel. The annexe was disappointing, our room was tired and smelt musty. The windows had blinds that let in the light so we were awake earlier... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and i stayed here for a long weekend. I have always wanted to visit York. Booking in was easy. Went to room 11 in courtyard very nice all that you needed. Breakfast was served to you. Which is cooked to order. Better than the rush to buffet style that you normally get. Hotel if a nice walk into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you want a regulation room: go to a hotel chain! BUT, if you want friendly service, good manners and something a little bit more individual, try a local hotel, and I can recommend Heworth Court. Very reasonable price. Hotel bar. Sitting room (lots of up to date tourist information). Local knowledge.Ten minutes to walk to Monk Bar, then you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chopwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

On arrival the hotel looked pleasant, especially the court yard at the back. We were told we were staying in the annexe down the road which was disappointing but we knew this could happen. The room was on the top floor up four flights of steps (avoid if you have mobility problems). When entering a room there was a awful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProprietorYork, Manager at Heworth Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thought I would drop a quick line in response to your review. You comment on the room having a musty smell, which is usually caused as a result of damp air which has not been dispelled by the bathroom extractor fan. This is the reason that all bathrooms have a fan in them, the fan usually stays... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Heworth Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heworth Court Hotel

Address: 76 - 78 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England (Formerly Heworth Court B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heworth Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, T4B, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heworth Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heworth Court Hotel York
Heworth Court Bed And Breakfast
Heworth Court York
Hotel Heworth Court

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay