We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marriott York Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Late Checkout
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott York Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Marriott York Hotel
Marriott York Hotel
Marriott York Hotel
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    452
    234
    97
    39
See reviews for
245
511
22
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1172)
  • Mar-May only
    (308)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (310)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (303)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (251)
All months
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We only stayed for one night on a quick visit North. There was ample parking and we had a very warm welcome. Staff were very friendly and courteous. It is a beautiful setting overlooking the racecourse. The room was well appointed and breakfast had a very good selection will return on next visit North.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a very nice Marriott property. Food was good. Staff was helpful and courteous. Having read a really negative review I expected dirty and tired. It was neither tired looking nor dirty. The rooms were totally up to Marriott standards and the hotel was very nice. However, I had them refrigerate my medication. When I went to retrieve it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived later than earliest check in time but there were still long queues at the reception desk. There are only two check in counters and the weekend was very busy. However, we were only queuing about 15 minutes. The hotel is next to the race course and the window look out over it which is nice. I understand that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renton, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently traveled on holiday from the U.S. and visited seven Marriott hotels throughout the UK in 14 days. This was the third hotel in our trip. As a Lifetime Platinum member traveling with my wife, we opted for the Platinum arrival gift instead of the points that I usually select. I am pleased to say they were the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Grandstand Room which was absolutely lovely ... we had our breakfast bought to our room each morning to eat on our private balcony. Staff were so friendly and had outstanding customer service highly recommend to anybody ...thank you to you all ...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilja I, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott York Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tammy, Thank you for leaving us this fantastic feedback on Tripadvisor. I am very glad that you enjoyed staying in our Grandstand room and received outstanding customer service from our members of staff. I will forward your great comments to the rest of the York Marriott team. We look forward to welcome you back to York Marriott in the... More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I recently stayed here as a "treat" before attending a course - I wish I hadn't bothered and stayed at home. I booked the Deluxe Room with a garden view (room 219) which I walked in and had a really horrible smell and quite claustrophobic so we asked to be moved. The receptionist did so but put us in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilja I, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott York Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachael, Thank you for leaving your detailed review on Tripadvisor. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues in your room, I have addressed them to our Maintenance team. In regards to the other points that you have raised it would be helpful to have a discussion with you so I am able to pinpoint the rooms you saw.... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Sorry but a dreadful hotel, very dirty ! Staff not particularly helpful, rooms tiny as more like large singles!! And I paid £200 a night for that, never again trust me!! It's most certainly NOT !! even a bit worthy of 4 star ??? status more like a 2 star and that's prob demeaning to a nice 2 star Hotel,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ilja I, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott York Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Montemar, Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback. Please accept my most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We welcome your feedback and we have taken this on board and your observations will help us to improve. Should you wish to discuss any points you have raised please contact myself. Once again... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very tired looking. And it's in a rubbish place miles out of the city on a main road. Staff have no concept of customer service. Meeting rooms outdated and understaffed. Ugly building. Food like school dinners. Don't do it unless you need to be opposite the racecourse for some reason.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ilja I, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott York Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rootveg, Thank you for leaving us this feedback. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in service, but also with regards to maintaining the overall look and feel of the hotel. Thus, I would love to discuss your areas of concerns further. Could you please... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

4th stay this year at Marriott, normally with a friend on this occasion with my husband. When I stay with my friend it is normally a twin and with husband a King room. I had previously requested my room and this was duly allocated to us on arrival. There has been a complete change of staff at the hotel from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilja I, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott York Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LornaM4, Thank you being our loyal customers and leaving us this great review. I am really glad that you enjoyed the views of racecourse and that our staff members were friendly and helpful. I will most certainly pass on your kind comments to Alexandra and Charlotte who made your stay notable. I would like to thank you for your... More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on business and have to say it was absolutely fantastic. Excellent facilities and really comfy beds warm friendly staff made the stay even better. Nice clean rooms light and airy with tasteful decor . Being a native to York originally this hotel really complements the City. Easy access to the city by car or walking great restaurants in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilja I, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott York Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rach2311, Thank you for this wonderful review. I am very pleased to know that you had an absolutely fantastic stay! I will pass on your great comments to the rest of the York Marriott team who work hard to ensure we provide memorable experience for our valued guests, like you. We can’t wait to have the pleasure to welcome... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (120)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay