We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Acer Guest House

#45 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in York
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
52 Scarcroft Hill, York YO24 1DE, England
Special Offer
Free parking
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Acer Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    269
    61
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
227
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (348)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (122)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay at this guest house. The most important criteria for a good b&b are a very clean establishment, comfy beds, quality breakfast and reasonable rates. The Acer has all of this in abundance and more. Throw in to the mix a cheery hostess with an extensive local knowledge,great attention... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ACERYork, Owner at Acer Guest House, responded to this review

Add in FREE parking and FREE WiFi and The Acer is the perfect choice for a stay in York. Kate says "Hi. Thanks, Karen. More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just stayed overnight at the acer we enjoyed our stay and found the owner Karen to be very friendly and helpful.The room we stayed in was small but adequate and lovely and clean.The breakfast was of really good quality and set you up for the day.The guest house was well positioned for the town centre or like We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACERYork, Owner at Acer Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post such a glorious review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the Award winning breakfast and about your comments regarding our excellent cleanliness. The Acer is indeed ideally located for a visit to both the city and the racecourse. Factor in the FREE parking (even on day of... More 

NW London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We're just back from a couple of days stay at the Acer. The location was excellent, our room (number 5) was TINY, rather cramped and a bit cluttered, the bed was very comfortable with beautiful crisp white high quality bed linen. The shower was temperamental, lovely fluffy white towels were provided. Breakfast was good but not above average. Parking permit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACERYork, Owner at Acer Guest House, responded to this review

I am delighted that you found the location of The Acer excellent; the free parking (even on day of checkout) a massive bonus; the bed very comfortable and that you appreciated the fabulous quality of the bed linen and the towels. I am sorry that you did not feel able to mention any issues you were having with the size... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We stayed for three nights in the acer . we too got a phone call about our arrival time so what!!!!!! It's nice to get communication from the owner instead of a face on reception that you won't see again. We had a fantastic time room amazing and everything else well above average. When I read some reviews I really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACERYork, Owner at Acer Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review. I do try to speak to everyone on the telephone before they come to stay. I make a special effort to talk to guests who have booked on the internet rather than direct. Doing this has ensured that the visit has run smoothly and without hiccup many a time. It really is best to... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

We stayed here june 20th after searching for a place to stay. For ages we searched only to be told none available, when we realised it was because we only wanted one night.We then came across this review in which Karen the owner explains its better to ring direct and she may be able to help and yes yo guessed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACERYork, Owner at Acer Guest House, responded to this review

I am delighted that I could accommodate you for a one night stay on a Saturday (it is only on a weekend that there is a minimum of a two night stay required throughout York). Always call me for the most accurate information and best rates. Parking is always available at The Acer and it is FREE of charge; only... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

My husband and I had a midweek 2 night stay at the Acer Guest House on the 17th and 18th of June 2015. I booked this particular Guest House as it had so many fantastic reviews, however not all was fantastic which I found disappointing. After booking via Booking.com, I received a phone call from the proprietor of The Acer,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ACERYork, Owner at Acer Guest House, responded to this review

I sincerely apologise for the fact that you did not find me to be friendly. I was waiting for a negative review from you to turn up on the internet somewhere as I realised that you were very, very upset that we had thrown away your LEFT OVER TAKE AWAY Indian food. I would point out that we NEVER interfere... More 

HULL, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Tried very hard to get somewhere to stay not realising it was a racing weekend. managed to get a double room here at Acer, although I found the room rather small and hard to move around each other, it was very pleasant room, lovely stay. Ten minute walk to racecourse 15 mind to town, very pleasant. Well what can I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACERYork, Owner at Acer Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for this fab review. I am sorry that you found the room to be on the small side (although calling it cramped is a little unnecessary). I look forward to having you to stay again soon in my gorgeous, glamorous Four Poster room - which is very large and has a bath as well as a shower. Karen.... More 

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Our second stay at the Acer Guest House, and once again the guest house was very comfortable and the breakfast - amazing. On this occasion we had a room on the ground floor, and although very comfortable we were aware of other guests coming and going to the breakfast room on the same floor from fairly early on. Having said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACERYork, Owner at Acer Guest House, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you again; as repeat guests you obviously think that The Acer is a great place to stay! As I am aware that the ground floor bedroom is close to the dining room breakfast is generally only served in there from 8am. An earlier breakfast is available as room service or as a take away (for... More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Stayed over in York for one night ,found this little gem and had a thoroughly enjoyable time ,made all the better thanks to the friendly and very helpful service provided by Karen at Acer Guest House . Nothing is too much when it comes to helping people with advice ,directions ,tips etc . Super clean room and nice and quiet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACERYork, Owner at Acer Guest House, responded to this review

Wow, what a fabulous review for a stay during the horse racing! All of this and FREE parking in a great location. Thank you, Karen. More 

Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We stayed at the Acer Guest House over the weekend for the races. The hospitality and breakfast were top class. Karen was helpful & informative. The room was slightly noisy being on the ground floor, we could here people coming in up to about 4 in the morning. The shower wasn't also great, it was boiling hot and leaked out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ACERYork, Owner at Acer Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the fabulous four star score! I am delighted that my hospitality and breakfasts are first class. I apologise for the noisy guests - unfortunately this does sometimes happen during horse racing. The Acer is my home as well as being a B&B. Noise is never allowed to escalate beyond the general clatter of guests coming home and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#11 of 216 in York
5.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
0.9 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#33 of 216 in York
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#9 of 216 in York
5.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romley Guest House
Romley Guest House
#49 of 216 in York
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashley Guest House
Ashley Guest House
#14 of 216 in York
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay