We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel

#12 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Share an Experience

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    150
    43
    11
    6
See reviews for
46
191
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (367)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a lovely stay! Had a really nice room, the hotel is quite dated but still very clean and comfortable, and was told is due to be refurbished shortly! Staff all very friendly, 15 min walk into city centre. Lovely pool but didn't have enough time to use it! The breakfast was brilliant, lots of choice. There was 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Franjacko, Thank you for your review of the hotel. You looked like you had had a wonderful day when you left on Sunday. I do hope we see all of you again soon but don’t forget the best possible price is always with the hotel direct. Yours truly, Chris More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking back, I don't know why we didn't just drive away as the hotel really speaks for itself from the outside as you drive up to it. The window boxes look like they contained dirty artificial flowers. I noticed another reviewer commented that the kitchen staff were standing outside smoking in the doorway (this backs onto the main driveway at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jaynem17, On behalf of the whole team may I say how sorry we are that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will be looking closely at the points you have raised and if we can improve them for future guests we will do so. Food is always going to be based on personal preference as well... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I chose this hotel for the location, it was a short walk into the city and an easy drive out with free and easy parking. Below are the other advantages of staying here -The pool -Friendly and helpful staff -Comfortable room -Great food -Areas you can sit and relax other than your room Had a great visit and will defiantly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracyek, Me too, love this hotel that is. I think I can speak for most of my staff and say they all feel the same and I am glad to see that it reflects on the customer. I value reviews such as yours above all else as it is proof that we are heading in the right direction. We... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent had a really lovely time, good value. Will return at a later date. Pool was lovely really clean as was the hotel and staff were amazing. Will recomend to friends and family hae a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 007sand, Thank you for your very kind review of the hotel. I will look forward to taking your next booking so don't forget to give me a call. We are starting to get very busy now as we move into the spring and summer months so don't leave it to long. I still have a few family rooms left... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel a is a must if you are staying in York. It isn't in the centre, but is only a £5 cab ride away and is worth it. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the place is immaculate, the breakfast is as good as anywhere I have been and they also have a leisure centre. I cannot praise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vadders, What a very kind review! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and hope to see you again very soon. It is always very much appreciated when a guest has taken the time to write a review and I will pass your comments on to the team. Yours Chris Hotel Manager More 

York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

York is probably the most compact historical City in the UK. Most would think of London but if you want to get a real insit into the Vikings and on. This is by far the best place to visit and unlike London you can get away from the World food brands, shop brands and see and taste some exceptional fantastic... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul R What a wonderful review of our city. I am so pleased you had a great time and I look forward to your next visit. Don't forget to call me direct for the best possible price for the dates you want. Yours Chris Hotel Manager More 

Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in March 2015. The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is well appointed and laid out. The rooms are well sized with comfortable beds and a desk and chairs together with the usual tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and free wifi. The en suite was clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SKRK23, Thank you for your kind comments on the hotel. I am pleased to see you used the very good bus service we have right outside the hotel and also enjoyed your meals that the chefs produced for you. I hope to see you soon when you next come over the border but until then I hope you have... More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location - we walked into York centre in 10 minutes. The staff are very welcoming and friendly - they really cannot do enough for you. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Large carpark at the rear, swimming pool and fitness centre which we used. The breakfast was superb - and available in the room if required for no extra charge.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob M Thank you for your kind review. It was a please to have you in the building and I hope we see you again soon. Yours Chris More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights in this relaxing friendly hotel, the room was very comfortable and easily accomadated the large double and a full size single for our 11 year old. We chose this hotel for its proximity to the centre but we didnt want to be slap bang in the middle of it. The bus stop to the centre was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa R You are more than welcome I think we all had a great time over the holidays including my staff. I am glad you enjoyed the millionaires swimming having the pool to yourselves. It is for that reason that I only take a small membership of locals so as not to overcrowd the pool. We are as you... More 

Seascale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were met by Chris who runs the place he was very welcoming and carried our bags upstairs, the room was lovely and clean and nice view. We ate downstairs at night and the service and food was lovely. Enjoyed our breakfast very much. I also used the swimming pool at the hotel and really enjoyed this facility. Will go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Petersue430, It was my pleasure to welcome you both to the hotel. I am pleased to see you had a great time and look forward to your return. I am now seeing a tremendous amount of bookings coming in for the rest of the year so try to book early to avoid disappointment. As always the best price is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question