We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel

#14 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    174
    166
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
53
213
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (402)
  • Mar-May only
    (100)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I suppose it's a roof over your head. If you were a refugee from Yemen or war-torn Syria then you'd probably think it was the best room in the world. And if you were from those places it would probably be a comfortable temperature for you. If like me, however, you've made a last minute booking for £144 (a £50... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mistercakey, I am very sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us. As in a previous review I apologise for the slower than normal service at breakfast but this has now been sorted out. You quite rightly agree that we cannot do a lot about over enthusiastic guests in the next room. I am sure that... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have never been to York before but my partner stays here when on business. The room was AMAZING! I don't think I've ever slept so well in a strange bed. The hotel staff were lovely, welcoming and funny! The only reason I haven't awarded 5 stars is that the breakfast both days was such a terrible experience. The first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kitten660 May I firstly apologise for not meeting with your expectations in the restaurant. I have just changed the chefs and they will take a week or two to get up to speed. I am however very pleased to see that you had a good nights sleep as we recently changed all the beds and the feed back is... More 

Liff
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came her with my elderly mum for three nights. The manager, Chris and his team are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food is very good and freshly cooked to order. Would definitely recommend the sea bass! Great choice at breakfast too. The history of the hotel was interesting; it was a Rectory before changing to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tiab/karima It was an absolute pleasure to have you come and stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed not only the hotel but our historic city of York. I look forward to welcoming you both back sometime in the near future. Regards Chris Manager More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night after the races. Every thing you need 10 mins to race course which is ideal and close to city centre. Really nice people and breakfast well 10 out of 10 . Thanks and would definitely return. :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm W, Thank you for the very kind words you have said about the hotel. We all hope to see you soon but don't forget to give us a call so that we can give you not only the best possible price but the best possible room for that price something you just cannot do on a computer screen.... More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family stayed here for one night at the end of May this year. On entry, the hotel looked to be having some work done but this didn't let the welcome down. We were promptly shown to our room, informed about breakfast and the leisure suite. The hotel is only a short walk away from the centre of York which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann123Seaton, You are right we do not staff the pool as we would have to charge for it. You are however monitored on camera and we have the panic buttons on the side of the pool. I have always one member of staff on duty that is a trained Lifeguard and first aider. I also wish you had stayed... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

I stayed here for two nights in June 2015. The hotel is about ten minutes walk from the station and just west of the city centre. If you're driving it has a large car park. As other reviewers have said, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the old building has lots of character. Breakfast was good, lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucy N, Do you know someone complained about the pool on a review site only a few weeks ago. At 10 meters long and 5 wide and one of only a handful in the city I found it a bit strange to say the least. I am so please that you enjoyed the free use of it as do... More 

Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

I will admit that I was a little disappointed when I arrived. But the hotel is nicely decorated, the staff are very pleasant and helpful, the room was spacious enough and clean and the food was very good. My only complaint about it all was York itself. Your parking fees are diabolical. But this has nothing to do with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BillyB58, How I do agree with you that the city over charge for parking. All the more reason to book a hotel with enough spaces for all guests and not only that its free yes free to all guests. I do hope to see you soon. Regards CB More 

Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

As most Best Western hotels, they are not the best, they are certainly not the worst. But theycarexalways clean, comfortable, individual and GREAT value for money. This hotel is ideally located for the historic city. And the pool is relaxing after a days sightseeing. A++++

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christopher C, From one Chris to another thank you for your review. I am so blessed especially at this time of the year to be one of only a hand full of hotels in York with a pool. I am so please you enjoyed the free use of it and hope to welcome you back soon. Regards, Chris B More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

The guy at the desk on arrival made us feel very welcome showing us to our room and carrying my wife's bag to the room. The room was clean and tidy, floorboards were creaky, which added character to the room. Bathroom was small but clean, with toiletries provided. Hotel is about 10 mins walk to the city walls, then another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rovership, Thank you for your review. I was pleased to see you had a great time with us and hope to see you soon. Don't forget the best possible price is direct with the hotel so pick up that phone and call for your next booking. Regards Chris More 

Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

This stay was made more fun by a friendly, witty proprietor who was very helpful to a pair of tourists. Room was clean and nice enough. Kind of a rambling place, but we didn't spend much time there ... were mostly out and about in town (doing all the great things our proprietor had recommended!). Breakfast was good!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EcoArtTraveler, I can think of a lot of things to call my proprietor but amusing is one that rarely springs to mind. I am pleased you found his sense of humour to your liking and hope to see you again some day. Yours Chris Betteridge Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dean Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel
Mount Royale Hotel
#5 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#10 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.9 mi away
Marriott York Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay