We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel

#13 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    156
    43
    11
    6
See reviews for
49
195
20
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (376)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My partner & I visited recently, don't be put off by the outside, this is a little Gem of a hotel. Cars are parked to the rear of the hotel, but there is a drop off space at the front. Chris greeted us & we were impressed that he remembered details of a phone conversation two weeks earlier. He showed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beenhere2015, Thank you for your very kind words. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your time in York. I do hope to see you back soon but until then I hope you enjoy the nice weather we are having. Regards Chris More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Only had an overnight stay but was good. Staff were nice at check in and showed us to the room. Room clean and comfortable for the night. Good friendly hotel. Will go back again because it is a good hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ppotterz, Thank you for your review of the hotel. I will pass your comments on to the staff and hope to see you soon. Don't forget to give the team a call so that you can get the room you want at the best possible price. Regards Chris More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a 3 night stay here at the last minute. When we phoned the hotel directly they offered us a discount from the online price which was nice. The hotel is being redecorated currently but it looks almost finished, everywhere is clean and fresh. The pool area was lovely and seems fairly under used, but we went every day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rudeyjudey, Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. I am pleased the refreshments did not affect your stay and in fact we have only just started with it. It is always a pleasure to welcome families to the hotel and of course one of the main reasons we built the pool. I do believe only a few... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thoroughly enjoyable week end. The hotel is an old Victoria residence, with quirky floorboards etc. We were greeted by the manager, Chris, and even though we were 2 hours early, he went and checked that the bedroom was ready, which it was, so we moved in straight away. No early booking in charge which we'd had in other hotels in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael K, Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is a good point you make should any guest turn up early if the room is ready my team will always check them in something other hotels are reluctant to do or indeed charge for as an extra. I myself like the room you stayed in for the... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived in the afternoon over the bank holiday weekend. We were traveling with our 3 year old son and were welcomed at reception and shown to our room - nice touch. Everything is clean and functional. Particularly impressed with the bar & restaurant staff who attended to every need and had a great team spirit. Well done guys. We'll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marky123467, It was a pleasure to accommodate such a lovely family over the Easter period. I am glad you had a wonderful time and hope to see you soon. On that note don't forget to give my team a call for the best possible price. Regards Chris More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff at the reception was very welcoming. The room was nicer than we expected and very clean.(The soap and shower gel provided could smell a bit nicer though). The matress was good which is what I really look for in a hotel. It was a peaceful room and we had a sound sleep. The car park at the back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cyparris, Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. I am pleased you had a good time and hope to see you again soon. I will have a look at the toiletries and will also pass your comments on to BESTWESTERN as they come from them. Regards Chris More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleasant hotel 15 minutes walk from town. We arrived early and were able to book in immediately, which meant we could leave the car there and spend the day in York. The pool was lovely and the hotel staff were very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed our stay and would book this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brightom, Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon. The alterations to the hotel start next week so next time you come you will be able to enjoy your morning coffee on one of the two new patio areas. Regards Chris More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff very friendly and helpful, The room was very clean and spacious. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast which made a nice change from helping yourself from a buffet where the sausage and bacon have been sat under a heat lamp for several hours. Arrived at 11am on the Saturday and did not leave until very late on the Sunday but there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Curlysue213, Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. You are correct that car parking can cost a small fortune nowadays and that as we have enough free spaces for 1 car per room this is indeed a bonus. Please don’t forget to give me a call direct for your next booking and be aware that if you... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay! Had a really nice room, the hotel is quite dated but still very clean and comfortable, and was told is due to be refurbished shortly! Staff all very friendly, 15 min walk into city centre. Lovely pool but didn't have enough time to use it! The breakfast was brilliant, lots of choice. There was 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Franjacko, Thank you for your review of the hotel. You looked like you had had a wonderful day when you left on Sunday. I do hope we see all of you again soon but don’t forget the best possible price is always with the hotel direct. Yours truly, Chris More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Looking back, I don't know why we didn't just drive away as the hotel really speaks for itself from the outside as you drive up to it. The window boxes look like they contained dirty artificial flowers. I noticed another reviewer commented that the kitchen staff were standing outside smoking in the doorway (this backs onto the main driveway at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jaynem17, On behalf of the whole team may I say how sorry we are that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will be looking closely at the points you have raised and if we can improve them for future guests we will do so. Food is always going to be based on personal preference as well... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question