We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 York hotels

BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Maurices Road | Monk Bar, York YO31 7JA, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #30 of 45 hotels in York
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
loobys london
  • Overview
  • Reviews (861)
  • Photos (123)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (207)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

861 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    294
    146
    88
    34
See reviews for
120
416
24
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed with another couple of friends in early July for 2 night B & B Our room was OK but our friends asked to move as there room was in the attic and was very stuffy and cramped. The trouble was you couldn't open the windows fully. When they were given a better room it was next to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear loobys, Thank you for your review, I am glad to read that you and your friends enjoyed a pleasant stay with us here at the Best Western Monkbar Hotel. I will certainly pass your comments on to the heads of department, and ensure that the the breakfast supervisors are delivering the best customer care that we and other guests... More

Downham Market, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well the hotel, where do I start. First room in Monkbar Lodge dirty the carpet was thread bear the bathroom was dirty. Asked for a room change got another room slightly better but the bathroom was mouldy. We waited over an hour for our first course, there was a coach party booked in, it seemed that all the staff including... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear blondemadwife, I am so sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, currently we may not have the most modern of rooms but I do agree that they should be spotlessly clean! I do apologise if it was not the case on your visit. As you mention we are in the throws of renovations and very shortly all... More

London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Three nights in this three star hotel in York are two too many. It's geared to overnight bus tours to the city, the car park is a construction site, and no longer available so that you have to use the municipal car park which is locked at eight o'clock each night. The rooms vary from modern to quirky with more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 4RBS, Thank you for your review; yes it is the season for coach tours and we do have a varied and diverse mix of clientel at the hotel ranging from corporate guests, day break leisure, long stay leisure and tour groups. As with most buildings in our beautiful City, part of the building is coming up to 200 years... More

Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The all important car park has disappeared, this is disappointing. The room was comfortable but grossly over priced. I have used the hotel on many previous occasions but this was my last visit. Good location for visitors that don'y have their own transport.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terence D, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that this will be your last stay, I understand that you miss the old car park, but we have done a great deal with the council by securing two very close by secure car parks. one is a 30 second walk from the hotel, the other 2... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently organised a group booking at the Monkbar Hotel. Right from my initial contact and particularly throughout our stay, I highly recommend the Monkbar as a venue. All the staff were friendly, really helpful and accommodating. The reception staff were remarked on for their helpfulness and consideration, the porters were most obliging and assisted with carrying things to and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a recent trip to York. Thought we'd stop in a Best Western due to reputation. Staff were great. Breakfast was ok. Bar extremely over priced for food and drink. Rooms were poor. Rooms in need of major renovation and modernisation. En-suite was terrible, with a shower that didn't work properly and a toilet that was probably designed for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay here . the room was clean , maybe a bit dated .. the staff were fantastic , nothing was too much trouble .. the food was really out of this world , steak was the best i've eaten, lamb shanks truly amazing even the club sandwich was really good . What We loved best about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

Address: St. Maurices Road | Monk Bar, York YO31 7JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#8 Family Hotel in York #13 Romantic Hotel in York
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Monkbar Hotel is at the very heart of the historic and vibrant city of York. Ninety-nine double/twin rooms individually designed and decorated, some overlooking our Courtyard garden, others overlooking the City Walls. There are three training suites each with integral break-out rooms and with the facilities to meet the Best Western Executive Standard. The Courtyard Garden is ideal for summer barbecues and relaxing coffee breaks, together with plenty of elegant lounges. Our welcoming bar has a range of draught beers and the restaurant, offering chef's menu and a choice of a la carte options. We are one of the few hotels in York to have been awarded Investors in People, in recognition of the quality of service and care you will receive during your stay! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
99

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer