We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amber House

#66 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in York
Certificate of Excellence
36 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AH, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Amber House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    303
    64
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
233
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (376)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (114)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Birtley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely room - our room was chinese themed. It had tea/coffee/hot chocolate and herbal teas available with little buscuit each, nice shower, tv in room and free wifi. Breakfast was lovely bacon, sausage, tomatos, mushrooms, beans and choice of what type of eggs you would likea and from a local produce. Staff very friendly, very short walk to town centre

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
scarborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After reading all the reviews on Amber House before booking, i was expecting it to be much better than it was.The room was ok but not cleaned to our liking, the ensuite especially.We couldnt use the washbasin as it was pushed far back in a corner with a wall either side.The breakfast was also poor.I often wonder what people write... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linda F, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We strive to maintain the highest standards for all our guests and we are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay. As you did not raise your concerns at the time we were unable to investigate and remedy this for you. We apologise if we have... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great bed and breakfast. We stayed for three nights. Breakfast was varied and very good. Located on a quiet street within easy walking to the Minster. On street parking included right in front. The room was large and clean. Our host was friendly and accommodating. They provided us with information and recommendations for day trips and local attractions. We highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I have spent the past 4 years travelling and in that time have stayed in many different places from 5 -1 star and so I find the reviews on this place quite interesting as the owners are very caring, which is a massive positive and the rooms and bedding were clean and tidy. The en-suite bathroom may... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

My wife and I chose Amber House for a one night stopover for our brief visit to York. It was a convenient location, comfortable room with excellent ensuite. Tea facilities in the room. Free Wifi. Breakfast fine with a very good choice. The cooked breakfast is available from 8.00am. In conversation with Linda, she said that a Cereal and Toast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

My daughter and I stayed 3 nights at John and Linda's guest house. We had the twin room which was lovely and clean. The beds were lovely and comfy and clean towels were provided every day in the shower room even though we didn't need them changed. Breakfasts were delicious and set you up for the day. Parking is right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peebles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

My wife and I, together with our teenage daughter, spent two nights at John and Linda's guest house. Location is very handy for York's main tourist areas - we had travelled by train so were on foot! The family room was in fact a mini-suite (two rooms and bathroom) and was nicely appointed. Breakfasts very good too. Enjoyed our stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Nice place, lovely people, only stayed one night, handy for York as not far from everything. parking right outside, with free permit.we enjoyed our say, yes we would go again Thank you Wayne & Claire Parry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

I was given a 3 night stay in this B&B by my other half for a birthday present as I have always wanted to visit York. After reading the reviews on here I was looking forward to staying at the Amber House. On the day we travelled we got a phone call from the owner to say that the girl... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Linda F, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

We are also disappointed. Disappointed that you were unhappy with so many elements of your stay with us and yet you chose not to raise any issues with us directly, and told us everything had been OK on checking out. We place very high importance on ensuring that our guests enjoy their stay with us, and we do our utmost... More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We booked this last minute (very fortunate, as we found they had had a last minute cancellation) and we loved it. The location is great. It's very convenient for visiting the centre of York, as it's only a 10 minute walk. It's close to the train station and I suspect it wouldn't take long to walk, and cost us less... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#13 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Groves
The Groves
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#9 of 216 in York
5.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#3 of 216 in York
5.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay