We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Rosa Hotel & Campsite

Certificate of Excellence
5 East Terrace | Murk Esk Cottage, Whitby YO21 3HB, England
La Rosa Hotel & Campsite
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    167
    37
    17
    13
    7
See reviews for
24
139
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (241)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fantastic magical house, loved every minute of staying here. Staff amazing. I felt like a princess waking up in our bed every morning! Picnic breakfast a really nice touch. If you are wanting a hotel that's romantic fun and quirky this is the place. THANK YOU LA ROSA!

Was this review helpful? Yes
doncaster
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited the tea room after passing on several occasions, was very surprised at the quirkiness of the hotel. Coffee served in a cafetière which was lovely, China cups n saucers. Our dog was made very very welcome with a treat and water served in a china bowl..... Would visit again the scones looked lovely but we resisted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although I was looking forward to the one night stay here at the campsite, I was disappointed that it was so expensive for what you got or did not get for your money as the case may be. Yes plenty of wood for the fires, use of all portable gas cookers, shower, crockery and cutlery. There was only one sink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

couldnt wait to stay at this hotel , most expensive ive stayed in , to say i was dissapointed is an understatement , , when checking in we were asked if we wanted a jug of milk to make a drink , when we got to our room there was only 4 tea bags no coffee and not even a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaRosaWhitby, Manager at La Rosa Hotel & Campsite, responded to this review

Hello there, sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. It is a real shame that you were disturbed by other guests. Obviously we we unaware of this at the time so could not support you. We rarely have loud guests so it's very unfortunate that happened. We do have night staff and the number to call is visible on... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

for what you get £120 Arabesque room , no TV ,no telephone Wi Fi not working .toilet seat ,no comment ,, very dusty room , tea and coffee making ,a joke, no coffee ,4 tea bags, milk given to you in a small jug, breakfast ,well a small snack more like ,very small. woken up at 3 in the morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LaRosaWhitby, Manager at La Rosa Hotel & Campsite, responded to this review

Please see above review for our response, as it is from the same couple. More 

Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was on tour a while back and my tour manager booked us in the La Rosa - he described it as "an interesting place". He was wrong - it was much more than that. A fascinating mix of styles, choc full of artifacts, each room different and with a special ambiance that hits you the moment you walk through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Swallow Barn & I absolutely loved it. The area outside where you can sit & have a fire is a brilliant touch, we sat out most of the night. I also really enjoyed having a bath with a glass of Prosecco just staring out of the window. All you need to bring with you is everything you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel, she sits between two large non descript hotels and she has so much to offer. Its one of those places where you don't just go in to your room and unpack. You spend an hour looking at the room. So much love and care has been spent on each room and you'll smile. Together with the warm welcome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed here a couple of times in the past and this visit was just as good. We stayed for two nights and the hospitality was tip top. Sophie is so helpful and certainly makes you feel welcome. Breakfast delivered between 8.30 and 11.00 to your room in a wicker basket is delicious. The rooms are quirky and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The campsite is beautiful and fun! Perfect for a social get together. Tinka is brilliant and super cosy! A walk to the pub is a must too. Maybe a second loo would be good but apart from that we loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
The Shepherd's Purse
The Shepherd's Purse
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Raithwaite Estate
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#11 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Saxonville Hotel
Saxonville Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities