We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arundel House

GreenLeadersSilver level
Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arundel House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Arundel House
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    40
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
72
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went here as other reviews were inviting. When I turned up there was no one to be seen. Rang the bell to wait 4 mins and then to be greeted by a woman stinking of cigarettes! The bottom floor smelt of paint as the decorators were in. She went to check on them, and then went to check on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable rooms, great breakfast, super host. My brother and I keep coming back every year. And did I mention the great breakfast. The owner is re-furbishing the rooms although the old rooms are fine and I slept like baby on every visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent one night at the Arundel Hotel on Saturday 7th March 2015 and i would happily stay again. We were greeted with friendly service on arrival and top quality service at the Breakfast. At the breakfast I had a Full English and my Girlfriend had the Vegetarian option, Very quick service and cooked just right! The hotel itself is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockton on Tees, England
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stayed at Arundel house and yet again we had an excellent stay. Scott and Rachel are the most amazing hosts, warm, welcoming and funny but still with an attentive and professional air, they make you feel immediately at ease and relaxed. The hotel itself is lovely, beautifully clean, elegantly decorated and it has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the second time I've stopped here and Scott and Rachel were as friendly as ever, fantastic breakfast with plenty of choice,place very clean and tidy,will definitely stay here again.only a five minute walk into Whitby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We arrived at the time my partner had informed the owners but the main front door appeared to be locked, or so my partner thought but it turned out you just needed to give it a good push to open, which we found out after ringing the doorbell numerous times (sorry to the other guests who could hear this)!! Once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This will be the 4th time we have stayed here this time in room 4. (Previously stayed in 10, 11 and 3... All lovely). The bed was amazingly comfy, which at 26 weeks pregnant is a big compliment! They're was plenty of space for a z-bed for our little boy who slept better than at home. Scott & Rachel, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Just got back from a great couple of nights staying at this quaint little guest house. As a family of four we had room 6 in the attic, which had a great view of Whitby Abbey in the distance. The room was comfortable and clean and ideal for our needs. The breakfast was varied with some great specials, my daughter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the Sutcliffe room, not a good experience. Right next to the front door, on the ground floor. The room is in desperate need of renovation, glass broken in the windows , the room didn't feel clean, under the bed there was a spoon !! Thankfully we were only there for one night, we made a speedy exit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Arundel H, Owner at Arundel House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which I read with great amusement. I do not recall anyone leaving with great haste in January which is when you have stated you stayed and find it amazing that if your experience really was what you have described which I know and if other readers would like to look a little deeper into reveiws... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Lovely room massive bed brilliant location friendly staff. Breakfast fresh, hot and tasty waited on hand and foot nothing too much trouble. Only thing lacking would be a mirror near a socket for ladies (or men) who like to straighten their hair - we had a lovely weekend at the arundel hotel - well worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question