We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 146 Whitby B&Bs / inns

Grantley House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   26 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Grantley House to your Saves list
Grantley House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #124 of 146 Whitby B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
John MacFarlane
  • Overview
  • Reviews (84)
  • Photos (9)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    16
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
12
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Grantley House for three nights two weeks ago. Our advise is: Don't go there if you don't have to. The room was not cleaned while we stayed there. Towels, cups and glasses were not changed and the garbage was not removed neither from the bathroom nor the bedroom. The owners dogs were barking outside our window at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the Grantley for the Whitby Weekender...we were made to feel very welcome. Great breakfasts, ideal location with lovely clean rooms. First in last out pub was a great laugh too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My Husband & I stayed at this B & B for just one night, thank goodness. The smell of dogs and disinfectant hits you as soon as you walk through the front door, not good. That was after I had phoned the number as instructed and spoken to the owner who advised that our key had been left for us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this bed & breakfast on 26/06/14. On arrival nobody was present at the property - just a note asking for customers to ring a mobile phone number (lucky we had a phone and signal!). The owner/manager informed us that staff, at his other business had not turned in so he had to work there. We asked about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rainham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We booked into the Grantley for an overnight stay, on entering the house, which i had to ring the bell, this was early afternoon, i was greeted by a young friendly man, but there was another older man sitting on the stairs, who wasn't at all friendly, don't know who he was, looked like a workman. We was lucky to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Grantley house exceeded all expectations.. The B&B was lovely with some original features still kept complimenting the modernised rooms which was clean and surprisingly spacious.. Morning breakfast is well worth stopping for alone with enough to set you up for the day. WIFI available which is a bonus too! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Less than 5 minute walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dewbury
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

tenof us went to grantley house the postion is very good , the staff cannot do enough for you, rooms are nice in places it needs some care but we had a great time , breakfast was good, and we couldn't have had a nicer weekend cant wait to go again thankyou forour stay we had room 4 as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

we stayed for one night,for a short break,and couldn't fault it.the staff were friendly,the room was nice and clean,and the breakfast was really nice.the location was central,just a short walk into the town.the only thing that was a problem was the shower,which took myself and my boyfriend some time to get working.but certainly nothing to lose any sleep over.an enjoyable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Check-in time was announced with 6pm and I thought there will be no problem to arrive late because it was guaranteed by credit card. Unfortunately at 10pm nobody opened or answered the phone (both contacts, including mobile) I was simply ignored and were not able to check in. The hotel charged the full amount as no show next day. No... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Justme4039, Owner at Grantley House, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to point out that the room was booked via an online booking agent, and was not re-let, I waited in all day until 8pm for your arrival, your actual arrival time according to my voicemail was 22:48. You acknowledge in your post that check in cut off is 18:00, so if you knew you were going... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I BROUGHT MY FAMILY HERE FOR THE WEEKEND WHEN WE FOUND OUT WHERE THE B+B WAS WE TRYED TO GET PARKED WHICH WAS A NIGHTMARE ON ITS OWN BUT EVENTUALLY DID THEN CARRIED ALL OUR LUGGAGE TO THE B+B AS WE GOT TO THE B+B I THOUGHT OH THIS DOSNT LOOK THAT GREAT LIKE IT DOES ON THE INTERNET THERE... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Grantley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Grantley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grantley House

Address: 26 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grantley House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Grantley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grantley House Hotel Whitby

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A lovely Victorian house retaining many original features, managed by resident owners offering a high standard of service and cleanliness. Convenient for the beach and the town centre, it's an ideal place to stay and take a relaxing break. 4 Star rated, all double rooms and family rooms are en-suite with central heating, colour TV with Sky Freeview, radio alarm, hairdryer and hospitality tray. Open all year. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
186

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer