We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 141 Whitby B&Bs / inns

Grantley House

26 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Grantley House to your Saves list
Grantley House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
84%
Ranked #112 of 141 Whitby B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013
mrs-hutchence Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    14
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

we stayed for one night,for a short break,and couldn't fault it.the staff were friendly,the room was nice and clean,and the breakfast was really nice.the location was central,just a short walk into the town.the only thing that was a problem was the shower,which took myself and my boyfriend some time to get working.but certainly nothing to lose any sleep over.an enjoyable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Check-in time was announced with 6pm and I thought there will be no problem to arrive late because it was guaranteed by credit card. Unfortunately at 10pm nobody opened or answered the phone (both contacts, including mobile) I was simply ignored and were not able to check in. The hotel charged the full amount as no show next day. No... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Justme4039, Owner at Grantley House, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to point out that the room was booked via an online booking agent, and was not re-let, I waited in all day until 8pm for your arrival, your actual arrival time according to my voicemail was 22:48. You acknowledge in your post that check in cut off is 18:00, so if you knew you were going... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I BROUGHT MY FAMILY HERE FOR THE WEEKEND WHEN WE FOUND OUT WHERE THE B+B WAS WE TRYED TO GET PARKED WHICH WAS A NIGHTMARE ON ITS OWN BUT EVENTUALLY DID THEN CARRIED ALL OUR LUGGAGE TO THE B+B AS WE GOT TO THE B+B I THOUGHT OH THIS DOSNT LOOK THAT GREAT LIKE IT DOES ON THE INTERNET THERE... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

had a great weekend.great location.parking a bit of a nightmare.rooms nice and clean.owner was away but staff looked after us really well.breakfast a bit late on the first morning but that was due to other guests not coming down on tme.germans.say no more.thank you for making it a great weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had 2 nights here this weekend and had a great time in Whitby. This is a great location right near the town centre but far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle. Lovely comfortable rooms with plenty of space. We arrived late and Justin had kindly left our keys in the front porch as promised so we could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

once again we had first class accomidation and food, jason and his staff always friendly and helpful, room very comfortable with free wi fi and cable tv, and the breakfasts they are just to die for, what a fantastic choice for braekfat every morning, from fresh fruit to a full english, and if you have the full english it sets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a great stay. Food really good, not far to walk to sea front. Rooms great, very swish. ( nice decor). Very clean. My only moan... noise from above! (Not music I may add) just heavy footing .although it stopped come midnight... we had my 82yr young mum with us... Brilliant place. Def go again. Staff were very attentive. Thanks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked on the basis of previous reviews and we were not disappointed it was just what we wanted from a friendly welcome to a comfy room. It is close to the sea front and harbour and although car parking was not always easy it is in a great location. The breakfast was brilliant with helpful staff. We will definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely breakfast perfect location we stayed in room 4 lovely double bed tea making facilities breakfast was lovely service nice friendly staff even the young lad was nice owners are very friendly room was clean my only compliant is breakfast served between 8am-9am maybe 8-10 for holiday makers who like long lie thanks again don't let this review but you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed at Grantley b+b over 3 nights last week, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again. The proprierters were lovely and warmly welcoming cooking us excellent breakfasts with plenty of choice. The twin room was warm and very nicely decorated and clean. Our only problem was the shower and after asking how to get it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Grantley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grantley House

Also Known As:
Grantley House Hotel Whitby
Grantley House Hotel
Address: 26 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Victorian house retaining many original features, managed by resident owners offering a high standard of service and cleanliness. Convenient for the beach and the town centre, it's an ideal place to stay and take a relaxing break. 4 Star rated, all double rooms and family rooms are en-suite with central heating, colour TV with Sky Freeview, radio alarm, hairdryer and hospitality tray. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grantley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grantley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.