We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Whitby hotels

Wheeldale Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX , England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Wheeldale Hotel to your Saves list
Wheeldale Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
89%
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jo_Tom31 Grantham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    48
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
129
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I booked this hotel on the internet and felt the pictures were representative of the room we got. Our budget room was cosy, but well kept, and had everything that we needed in it. Most of time was spent out exploring and it was lovely to be able to walk along the beach into town or down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PeterColeman, Owner at Wheeldale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review. Kind Regards Peter More

Dronfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this is a place where we have stayed for the last 5 years or so and every time its been really nice , this time we stayed we noticed there was poo all over the toilet roll and around the flush in the bathroom , we just threw the roll away and my wife cleaned the loo top where the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PeterColeman, Owner at Wheeldale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jon774 We were very sorry about the shower head.It was not covered in poo,it was the shower head that needed cleaning for legionnaires disease testing and there was a build up.This is done every 3 months by Rentakill on contract. You never said anything about poo around the toilet when you complained.We gave you a free bottle of wine... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just come home from Whitby after staying at a very nice little place--we stayed in the 2 floor apartment overlooking the sea and would highly recommend it. Nice to have a separate area to sit and relax and watch TV etc. It is beautifully kept and clean and the owners are lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterColeman, Owner at Wheeldale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Kind Regards Peter More

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My nine year old son and I stayed for two nights in room 10. We were early checking in but still received a warm welcome and Peter showed us to our room and showed us the facilities. He was informative about the wifi, breakfast and the bar in the lounge. Room ten was lovely. Really comfortable bed with clean linen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterColeman, Owner at Wheeldale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Helen Very pleased that you had a great stay with us and I thank you for the very nice comments about the breakfast. See you soon Peter More

nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed here for 2 nights. Stayed in room 6 with the bedroom downstairs and living room upstairs. Owners were lovely and accommodating. Rooms were nice, even had 2 tv's. A big one in the living room and a smaller one in the bedroom AND 2 bathrooms. Couldn't ask for more. The hotel is in a nice situation, right in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PeterColeman, Owner at Wheeldale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rulan91 We thank you very much for your lovely comments which you made and we look forward to seeing you again soon. kind regards Peter More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and i spent one night at the wheeldale.We stayed in room 11 which was a nice size,clean though the underside of taps missed.bedding and towels well worn,bed not very comfy,although we are spoilt with a great bed at home.Parking no problem.Host and staff didnt seem very happy in their work maybe having an off day.all in all an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PeterColeman, Owner at Wheeldale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Val r Thank you for your review.We are sorry that the bed did not meet your expectations and we did not appear Jolly. We are all going to watch some comedy shows during the day and we hope to see you again. Kind Regards Peter More

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This has to be the worst room I,ve ever had When bookings .com stuffed up my booking at the white house this was all we could get in whitby 89£a night was twice a much as this was worth room was very small out back with small window half opening to red brick wall 1 metro away There was nowhere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PeterColeman, Owner at Wheeldale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brian When you were here I showed you the map and helped you sort out your wifi.You came here at the last minute and booked the small double. I asked if everything was Ok and there was no indication of any problems and you seemed a friendly guy. If there was such a problem why didn't you leave straight... More

east yorks
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

have just stayed at the Wheeldale for the third time this year. quite frankly why would you go anywhere else in Whitby! The service is fantastic, a great location and the breakfast is a must. we stayed in room 12 which is ideal for us having 2 adults and 2 children. The whirlpool bath is a fabulous touch and much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PeterColeman, Owner at Wheeldale Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the very positive comments and we will see you soon. Rebecca More

Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night over the regatta weekend,room spacious and clean,it had a little balcony overlooking the cricket pitch,where you could sit it had a table and 2chairs.Best nights sleep we have had for ages,the bed was so comfy and soft.Breakfast was excellent,the sausages were so tasty,and they also had kippers on the menu.Overall a very pleasant stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PeterColeman, Owner at Wheeldale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suemenn1 Again thanks for the very nice comments and we hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards Peter More

Trawden Lancs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have stayed here twice now and would not hesitate in going back again. We had room 6 which is fantastic as it has an upstairs and really has the feel of an apartment. The breakfast was excellent with a varied choice on offer. It is about 5 minutes stroll into Whitby. There is a small car park at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PeterColeman, Owner at Wheeldale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Trawdener Thank you for you kind remarks about room 6 and the very positive feedback.I hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards Peter More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wheeldale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Wheeldale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeldale Hotel

Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeldale Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wheeldale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Whitby with
any amenities