We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Whitby hotels

The Wheeldale

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX , England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Wheeldale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Wheeldale to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
bexter1088 Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    58
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
154
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (199)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night on the 26th January 2015. We managed to park on the street opposite and were given a scratchcard permit which actually lasts for 4 days, from the hotel. Our room was a small double which was fine for the 2 of us. The room was cosy with a flat screen tv with sky, tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not a hotel, a guest house. There seemed to be a communal lounge but we weren't told about it and it looked like people had been having a private party. Very unprofessional staff: waitress at breakfast shouted at kitchen staff constantly, in full view and hearing of guests. No class. Only time we saw proprietor is when we were leaving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Dear AH Sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with me.I think it was New years day and some guests were having a drink in the communal lounge and am sure they would have been friendly if you had approached them. I am sorry that you thought we had no class which I am at a... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights 6th and 7th January for a short after xmas break. cannot fault this b and b. we got a permit allowing us to park for free right across the road from the hotel which was very helpful. we were in room one which is the small double. bed was comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just got back after 3 nights in Whitby at The Wheeldale nightmare to get there on Saturday with heavy snow over the Whitby moors. A blessed relief to get inside this cosy warm and welcoming oasis on the West cliff. It was minus degrees every night, but a pleasure to get back to the warmth of the hotel. Excellent breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Stayed in Whitby several times now, stayed at the Wheeldale most recently. The room (no 8) had everything you needed for a good stay. Extra Tea and coffee is available downstairs. Overall clean and well kept. Bathroom was a good size, huge shower and thankfully was a power shower fitted (can't stand low pressure electric ones). Breakfast is served between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Arrived mid afternoon, shown to our room number 8 what a view stunning across the bay Harbour one side Sandsend the other, very comfortable bed , food good English breakfast, cereals, toast and Marmite love it or hate it, heating nice and warm until it went cold at 8 30 pm ish but came on ok early next morning, bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

We wanted something a little different for our wedding anniversary so booked a room with a separate attic TV lounge. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable with a bathroom off the TV lounge and a separate shower room and toilet off the bedroom. The breakfast was extremely hearty and all the staff very friendly. There was a lovely comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for three nights and delighted with the experience. The room was lean and comfortable and well equipped. The Sky tv and wifi was terrific. Would highly recommend it was great value for money and when I return to Whitby will definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

We have just come back from the wheel don after 3 nights there,We had room number 4 overlooking the sea The room was nice and clean and had a lovely big tvwith sky.The bathroom was very large with a really big shower. & also had a stool.so it was really good to be able to get near to the mirror... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Munxar, Gozo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

We wanted to celebrate my husbands birthday, but did not want to spend too much on a room for the night. What a really pleasant surprise we got when we viewed our room. It was en-suit, plaza tv, the bed was cosy and the room very clean. I have stayed in more expensive rooms that where not as good as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Wheeldale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay