We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Whitby hotels

The Wheeldale

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX , England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Wheeldale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Wheeldale to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
julie b York, United Kingdom
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    58
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
155
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night , bed could feel the inside of the mattress,pillows flat, lumpy,so uncomfortable . Breakfast, had requested soya milk when booked to put on cereal and in coffee when I asked for it they didn't have any. So what's the point of asking customers re food intolerances/allergies. Breakfast was not brilliant, beans luke warm,egg rubbery,tomato was supposed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Hi Julie b I was expecting this.We knew there was a problem over the milk but not the breakfast or room.If I had known you could of had an immediate refund and gone. PC More 

Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well worth a stay at the wheeldale . very clean. Great breakfast. Lovely staff. Room 3 overlooked the sea with great views. The room had a very comfy bed .nice shower.sky tv and tea/coffee making facilities .easy parking with a permit supplied. We would highly recommend the wheeldale to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We stayed here for one night on the 26th January 2015. We managed to park on the street opposite and were given a scratchcard permit which actually lasts for 4 days, from the hotel. Our room was a small double which was fine for the 2 of us. The room was cosy with a flat screen tv with sky, tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Not a hotel, a guest house. There seemed to be a communal lounge but we weren't told about it and it looked like people had been having a private party. Very unprofessional staff: waitress at breakfast shouted at kitchen staff constantly, in full view and hearing of guests. No class. Only time we saw proprietor is when we were leaving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review

Dear AH Sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with me.I think it was New years day and some guests were having a drink in the communal lounge and am sure they would have been friendly if you had approached them. I am sorry that you thought we had no class which I am at a... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights 6th and 7th January for a short after xmas break. cannot fault this b and b. we got a permit allowing us to park for free right across the road from the hotel which was very helpful. we were in room one which is the small double. bed was comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Just got back after 3 nights in Whitby at The Wheeldale nightmare to get there on Saturday with heavy snow over the Whitby moors. A blessed relief to get inside this cosy warm and welcoming oasis on the West cliff. It was minus degrees every night, but a pleasure to get back to the warmth of the hotel. Excellent breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Stayed in Whitby several times now, stayed at the Wheeldale most recently. The room (no 8) had everything you needed for a good stay. Extra Tea and coffee is available downstairs. Overall clean and well kept. Bathroom was a good size, huge shower and thankfully was a power shower fitted (can't stand low pressure electric ones). Breakfast is served between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Arrived mid afternoon, shown to our room number 8 what a view stunning across the bay Harbour one side Sandsend the other, very comfortable bed , food good English breakfast, cereals, toast and Marmite love it or hate it, heating nice and warm until it went cold at 8 30 pm ish but came on ok early next morning, bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

We wanted something a little different for our wedding anniversary so booked a room with a separate attic TV lounge. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable with a bathroom off the TV lounge and a separate shower room and toilet off the bedroom. The breakfast was extremely hearty and all the staff very friendly. There was a lovely comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for three nights and delighted with the experience. The room was lean and comfortable and well equipped. The Sky tv and wifi was terrific. Would highly recommend it was great value for money and when I return to Whitby will definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Wheeldale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay