We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Linen Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
24 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QS , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
White Linen Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Haxey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sometimes you don't want to tell people your secrets but being a contributor to trip advisor you have to be honest. What am I talking about? The dilemma is If I give a review of the White Linen guesthouse I'm in danger of losing out next time when I'm in Whitby as the White Linen will be full up after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Optime_UK
alitomcatwhitelinen, Owner at White Linen Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to look after our guests and we are very happy that you chose to return to stay with us again. We look forward to having the chance to look after you again when you do your 120 mile trek! Kind regards Ali & Pete More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed here the one night after deciding to have a quick last minute trip to Whitby. I called up to inquire about late availability and the lady I spoke to was really helpful, she offered us their four poster room which on arrival was beautiful, we were also offered early check in which made our day a bit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 170206
alitomcatwhitelinen, Owner at White Linen Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so pleased you had a good time and I do hope we get the chance to look after you again. Kind regards Ali More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at The White Linen Guesthouse was truly FANTASTIC! Enjoyed every aspect, hence giving 5/5 for everything. On arrival Ali made us feel very welcome. My partner and I stayed in the Havana Four Poster Room and was spot on, it was large,comfy,luxuriously decorated, quiet and warm with a nice look-out. The location could not of been better with... More 

Helpful?
Thank JamoJamo1980
alitomcatwhitelinen, Owner at White Linen Guest House, responded to this review

Dear James and Heather, Thank you so much for your incredibly kind review, we could not have hoped for anything better. We are so happy you had such a great time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards to you both Ali More 

Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This b&b is absolutely beautiful the people who run it are lovely, friendly, and helpful ,the house is stunning . Breakfast is one of the best I've had freshly baked bread and cheese scones . Banana loaf and all your traditional breakfast requirements will never go anywhere else

Helpful?
Thank Sian W
alitomcatwhitelinen, Owner at White Linen Guest House, responded to this review

Sian, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your breakfast! I just love the baking and cooking side of the Guest House and really appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Whitby. Kind... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the White Linen guest house in October for Whitby Goth Weekend. Some B&Bs in Whitby are funny about Goths but I had no such problem here. I was given a warm welcome by the owner on arrival. My room was a small single, which I was happy with as I was just using it as a base.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenroche1970
alitomcatwhitelinen, Owner at White Linen Guest House, responded to this review

Thank so much for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us for the Goth weekend. We look forward to seeing you again should you return to Whitby. Kind regards Ali More 

york
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

stayed for the second time for my partner's birthday. Warm Greeting, room traditional and stylish, romantic. 4 poster bed, chandelier, robes. central location and hearty breakfast. Nothing too much, great hospitality.

Helpful?
1 Thank jaydee37York
alitomcatwhitelinen, Owner at White Linen Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is always lovely to welcome guests back to the White Linen Guest House and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Wishing you both a very happy Christmas and healthy and wonderful New Year. Ali More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Love this place. First time we stayed here, and went on the already great reviews and no availability on our usual place we stay in Whitby, and I'm happy that our usual place was booked up so that we came along this gem of a place. Everywhere is clean and tidy, rooms are cosy, welcoming and lots of traditional features... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank JPloves2travel
alitomcatwhitelinen, Owner at White Linen Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for such a fabulous review and we are absolutely delighted that you had such a good time with us at the White Linen. If you come back to Whitby we would be very happy to look after you again. Wishing you a very Happy Christmas and peaceful New Year. Kindest regards Ali More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

just had a 3 night break at the white linen which had been recommended by a friend. We had been looking for a high end boutique b&b for a short break and this did not disappoint...we stayed in the Havana room..very spacious and comfortable. We loved the quirky furnishings and large sofa which gave the room an apartment feel to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jan b
alitomcatwhitelinen, Owner at White Linen Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jan, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. We are delighted that you had a good time with us and thoroughly enjoyed your breakfasts. We do pride ourselves on our guests not going hungry! So sorry you found the shower a little cool. If you had depressed the red button on the... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on the 19th October in the tudor room. We were given a warm welcome from Ali on arrival and nothing was too much trouble. The room was large and tastefully decorated with a great en suite bathroom and large very comfortable bed. Breakfast was truly awesome. From a large selection of fresh fruit and cereal... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa160572
alitomcatwhitelinen, Owner at White Linen Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you so much for writing such a fabulous review. It was a pleasure to look after you and so happy you enjoyed your time so much with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again already! Very best wishes to you both. Ali (& Shirley who served you in the dining room) More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

Love place to stay ,very comfortable room we stayed in the shaker room ground floor next to the dinning room, it was a peaceful stay very clean and welcoming. The breakfast the next day was very filling and the veggie brekki was lovely not to forget about the home made cheese scones and cakes available . We will visit again... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeb B
alitomcatwhitelinen, Owner at White Linen Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased you were happy with your stay and enjoyed your breakfast. I do hope we get the chance to look after you again. Kind regards Ali More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#13 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#11 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Raithwaite Estate
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#9 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melrose Guest House
Melrose Guest House
#1 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay