We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Europa

20 Hudson St, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Europa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    44
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I can not say a bad word about this place the room was spacious and clean,the owners are very friendly and there if you need anything, there is more than enough to eat at breakfast,and it's located just around the corner from the sea front. We have been here 3 times before and will only stay here for our trips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FoxyWhitby_UK, Owner at Europa, responded to this review

It was good to see you both again - we really appreciate your continued custom. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I consider myself a veteran of British B&Bs, and can state that The Europa is absolutely outstanding in its price range. Everything is well thought-out, and the proprietors couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Rooms are spotless and well equipped, food is excellent, and the guest house has a great location in Whitby. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FoxyWhitby_UK, Owner at Europa, responded to this review

Thank you very much - it is good to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Your feedback is very important to us and is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Bo'ness
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

A few days break in Whitby. The B&B is on West Cliff so there's quite a steep walk getting to and from the main drag. Found muscles I didn't know I had. The B&B is rather nice. Friendly welcome and very clean, which is mostly what I look for. The room was described as "a small double" and that's just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FoxyWhitby_UK, Owner at Europa, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your bacon at breakfast. We would have appreciated the opportunity to rectify this at the time, rather than being assured that 'everything was lovely' when you were asked if everything was alright at the breakfast table! All our food is freshly prepared on the morning it is required and is... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

read previous reviews so was expecting the hotel to be very good.......... was not disappointed. Very gracious hosts and the room was clean, tidy and comfortable.Breakfast was delicious and plentiful to set you up for a good start to the day.Car parking was hit or miss , but we were able to park reasonably near to the hotel even after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FoxyWhitby_UK, Owner at Europa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are very pleased we did not disappoint you and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We only stayed for one night but were made to feel really welcome by the hosts. The rooms were really good, very clean, coffee and tea facilities with the offer of fresh milk. Clean crisp white sheets-heaven. All shower gel and shampoo provided and a hairdryer. Breakfast was all from local suppliers, nicely presented and a good choice. Good value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FoxyWhitby_UK, Owner at Europa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Over the years we have tried hard to provide our guests with a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us, so your feedback is much appreciated and means a great deal. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

You won't regret staying at Europa Guest House, hosts are lovely couple who will give you a very warm welcome. Rooms were very clean and spotless. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice. Will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FoxyWhitby_UK, Owner at Europa, responded to this review

It was good to meet you and thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to seeing you again. More 

UK and Worldwide
Level Contributor
175 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

It took me a while to find a place to stay for a few nights in Whitby as most of the accommodation was filling up, or was way to pricey. The Europa is on a quiet street, but only a few minutes walk from the sea, the busy town centre, bus and train stations. I got a friendly welcome and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Top B&B Clean crisp white sheets Excellent breakfast Friendly hosts We would definitely return to this B&B had a two night stay in April Our room was on the 1st floor at the front was spacious although the on suite was a little small Flat screen TV kettle tea coffee even a bottle of water

Was this review helpful? Yes
FoxyWhitby_UK, Owner at Europa, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We only stayed for one night, but were made to feel really welcome by the hosts. Would have loved to have stayed more nights but couldn't. Room was really good, the breakfast looked fantastic but I am not a morning eater otherwise I'd have eaten far more! Really enjoyed our stay in Whitby and was given a map and information... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FoxyWhitby_UK, Owner at Europa, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you both. Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We stayed for two nights last month. We got a very warm welcome on our arrival. The rooms were very clean and a good size. We got a great nights sleep, in a very comfortable bed. Would certainly recommend the Europa, thanks Amy

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FoxyWhitby_UK, Owner at Europa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It was great to see you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Esklet Guest House
Esklet Guest House
#87 of 150 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#56 of 150 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#22 of 150 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Waverley
The Waverley
#31 of 150 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#77 of 150 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay