We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 141 Whitby B&Bs / inns

The White House - Pub Food Rooms

Upgang Lane, Whitby YO21 3JJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The White House - Pub Food Rooms to your Saves list
The White House - Pub Food Rooms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
64%
Ranked #114 of 141 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Made to feel welcome from the moment we walked in to the moment we left. The room was very clean.couldn't fault our stay. Would recommend and cant wait to go back . The view really good ,nice and quiet at night.taxis into town cheap.walk along the cliff tops into town is pleasant

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at the White House Hotel was indeed very good; upon arrival there was free parking, and the staff on duty were welcoming and friendly, providing us with coffee and table service before checking in. The hotel appeared clean and well maintained. The staff were presentable and made effort to ensure we were comfortable, and that we knew the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Middlesbrough
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed over 2 nights as above . We have visited this place a few times for for drinks / snacks and decided to have a short stay. Our initial impression was very good , friendly and welcoming staff and nice clean accomodation and good bar with excellent choice of drinks . Some things on the downside though. As we just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the point of our arrival through to our departure, we could not fault our stay in any way. For us, the location was perfect being situated outside the centre of Whitby. The accommodation was very clean and fresh and all staff were very friendly. A credit to the proprietors. We will definately be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a long weekend and the hotel is very nice, rooms well appointed and clean staff very polite and helpful, would highly recommend as a place to stay only criticism would be that breakfast is only served between 8 and 9 would like it to have been for a bit longer (especially as clocks went forward !)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As other reviewers have said, the rooms in the annex do not have any views out, only skylights, so that was a bit of a disappointment, the room we had was number 16, so it was our plumbing making all the noise, but it only lasted a few seconds and so we didn't flush the loo through the night. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

was really impressed with the white house, very friendly staff on arrival, the room was spotless and cosy, it has amazing views and did a lovely walk down the beach in the evening before dinner. Really enjoyed the meal we had, everything was lovely and you get plenty and the staff were really good and helpfull, even tho they were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you want to spend £89 on a 3m square box with no windows then room 17 is for you!! The decoration was probably the worst I have stayed in, paint over and in the toilet (two shades) old and worn out wall paper, also paint splashed. The bath room looked like it had never seen a paint brush. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave_Galea, Owner at The White House - Pub Food Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. When you booked your room on the phone with my wife you were offered the two remaining rooms, 17 and 7. You decided to book the cheaper room in our annex, it was explained to you that the room sizes were smaller and it was across our car... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just got back from my stay with my partner and daughter... the views were stunning, the room was clean and comfy and the staff were excellent. As a keen golfer it was ideal as it is located next door to a golf course and was only a 15 minute walk to Whitby town. Will definitely be returning in the summer!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
derby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We chose to stay here as we had our dog with us. The rooms used for pets are in the annexe. Unfortunately, despite the lovely location, there is only a skylight window so you can't admire the view from your room. Pros - can take your dog to stay over & in the bar; very friendly staff; manageable size room;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to The White House - Pub Food Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House - Pub Food Rooms

Address: Upgang Lane, Whitby YO21 3JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House Hotel is a family run hotel that overlooks Whitby Golf Club and commands amazing views along the Yorkshire Coast towards Sandsend. The House has 11 bedrooms, a restauant serving local produce from moor and sea as well as having a relaxing welcoming bar which is popular with both guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White House - Pub Food Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House - Pub Food Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.