We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 146 Whitby B&Bs / inns

Discovery Accomodation

11 Silver St, Whitby Y021 3BX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Discovery Accomodation to your Saves list
Discovery Accomodation
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
69%
Ranked #106 of 146 Whitby B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
macstan1 Stradbroke, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (327)
  • Photos (88)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (74)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    76
    46
    25
    31
See reviews for
62
181
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stradbroke, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at No9, for a long weekend. This is right at the top of the building, and we loved it. PLEASE NOTE.....if you cannot deal with stairs or have very young children, who can't walk far. Do not go for this place, as there are 81 steps in total from the bottom of the hallway, until you get to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The management is unbelievably rude, the place is not as advertised, cannot take feedback, serves out of date food and throws paying customers with small children out and then accuses them of criminal acts. It seems we were not the first nor the last, according to other reviews during the last years this "hotel" has booked money off people's cards... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had to park in a car park to be able to even get to the booking in address then we were told our accommodation was a fair way further up the hill. No close by parking was available and we had to leave our car overnight in the car park and trail our luggage to the rooms. Although the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. We are sorry that not everything went according to plan during your stay with us and we will certainly investigate the issues you have mentioned with our team. We do advertise on all forms of booking that car parking is a maximum of a five minute walk from the... More

Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my wife have just stayed for a long weekend at the Discovery Accommodation and, it was not what we thought it would be. When i booked this accommodation i booked a Deluxe apartment and when we arrived at Newton 4 we where disappointed. Although it was clean it was basic but the bed was to low and if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

We are sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations here at Discovery Accommodation, however we do appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and we will investigate the issues that you have mentioned with our team. We don't advertise that there are separate changing facilities as you booking it for your own private use. We have... More

Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked an apartment because it said we would have a sea view. Strictly speaking we did have a sea view, from one chair in the lounge of our ground floor apartment. The other three chairs were not so blessed. If I book somewhere offering a sea view I expect to be able to share it with others (preferably over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
discovery a, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay. The property was built in 1835 with 2 large windows with uninterupted views of the sea. There are 7 chairs in the lounge. Our staff are here to help and were more than happy to help resolve your issues. More

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had booked this for a fishing trip in Whitby when previously we had stayed in B&B's so decided to give this place a go. We stayed in one of the royal crescent apartments and I have to say the overall experience was very good. On arrival we were given the details of how to get to the apartment which only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our accommodation, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards Discovery Accommodation More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is lovely rooms done out like a beach hut all wood inside nice bedroom tho small and a nice done bathroom only let down was the breakfast small portions full English was one sausage one piece of bacon a quarter piece of fried bread could have been a lot better

Was this review helpful? Yes
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our accommodation, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us.We have past your comments onto our head chef and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards Discovery Accommodation More

newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a 2 night stay in Discovery Accomodation the apartment was Bay and very nice it was, the only fault I could find was that the duvet was a winter weight and I was extremely hot in bed but apart from that it was great. The flat was very well equiped in both the kitchen and the bathroom and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our accommodation, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we have taken your constructive comments onboard regarding the duvet. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards Discovery Accommodation More

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Discovery accommodation so we were given a welcome 10% discount. We stayed in the Starfish accommodation which had just been renovated to a high standard. Everything was clean and the kitchen was well equipped and we were made very welcome. We found the booking of the basement swimming pool easy to do and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our accommodation, we’re glad you enjoyed your second stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards Discovery Accommodation More

Leeds,
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

5th time of staying in Discovery accomodation and it is still ticking the boxes. Clean, simple and spacious accomodation. Its nice to have a living room to chill out in after a day walking around and is better than been stuck in a cramped hotel room. Car park up the street is only £5 for 24hrs and is less than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
discovery a, General Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our accommodation, we’re glad you enjoyed your fifth stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards Discovery Accommodation More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Discovery Accomodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Discovery Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Accomodation

Address: 11 Silver St, Whitby Y021 3BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Discovery Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Accomodation Hotel Whitby

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (42)

Amenities

Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer