We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Whitby hotels

Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HA, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PARTY WEEKENDS FROM £93
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Royal Whitby Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
jaynesimpson lichfield
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    250
    119
    63
    41
See reviews for
81
330
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (613)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (155)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (156)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (175)
All months
lichfield
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

Just got back from a weekend with shearing to the royal hotel Whitby , The hotel it self is lovely on the inside room was all new refurbishment ,staff was great, we had three different servers and all was professional and friendly,check in was smooth , The out side needs painting looks very tired

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Probably a Great hotel in its day, but now looking a bit tired and worn. The reception area is nicely decorated but upstairs is all wood chip. Where something has been removed from the wall, like a radiator a new patch of paper has been put on top of old paper. Making it look cheap and nasty. The corridor upstairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

just come back from a Friday to Monday break at the Royal and what a pleasant stay we had . Our room was very nice , think it was a refurbished room it was clean comfortable and warm . The food was also very good . The entertainment was ok wasn't keen on the comedian Saturday night and a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morecambe, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have always avoided 'Wrinklie' tours as although we could be classed as that, (our ages are 75 and 67 and we don't identify with the rest of the group!) but we were pleasantly surprised. Any faults were due to Shearing's Coach Company so we have written separately to them. Hotel very clean and comfortable and decent food if a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing a review. I’m pleased to see you encountered no problems here at the hotel and I’m sure Head Office will look into your comments regarding the travel arrangements and get back to you in due course.. Our entertainment is planned with a view to something for everyone and I’m sorry you were a little disappointed in... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a pleasant stay at the Royal. Like most of the Bay hotels it looked somewhat tired from the outside and the inside, downstairs was similar. All the Bay hotels are in the process of refurbishment with this hotel having had the restaurant, bar area and the ballroom completed.Some of the rooms done up .We paid extra for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a rolling refurbishment plan in place which has seen a number of public areas and over half of our bedrooms completed over the past 2 years. I’m pleased to see your diet was well catered for but without... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here a group of 3 couples,very enjoyable stay. Rooms nice,but bathrooms needs updated. Entertainment ok. Meals okay. All staff very good,especially Matty. Whitby is a great place for a few days break

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. I‘m delighted your party enjoyed their stay and found everything to their liking. We have refurbished a large number of bedrooms recently and bathrooms due to start later this year. I will pass your comments to all and especially Mate. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal some time in the future.... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have recently returned from a four nigh self drive break at the Bay Royal. The weather could hardly have been worse with freezing winds and snow almost every day. It was so bad that the Artist for the entertainment on the first night could not arrive because of the snow. The managment made amends, however, by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and that you found it to e good value for money. We look forward to seeing you again and we’ll try to arrange some better weather for you. Vicki Glen General Manager More 

Silloth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a weekend on Shearings Coach Holiday and it was not a Very Good Hotel at all it is in Need Of A good Refurbishment and the weekend we stayed it was blowing a gale all day Sat & Sun and in our bedroom 316 on the third floor it was freezing we had to put towels on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with certain areas of your stay. We have a rolling refurbishment plan in place which we are very much committed to. The weather the weekend you stayed was indeed horrendous and we can only apologise if this affected your comfort. Vicki Glen General Manager More 

Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A weekend in Whitby with my daughter. Everything very good.Room excellent and good size bathroom also and loads of hot water. All the staff were friendly and efficient we Phoned to say we would be late arriving so they had very large salads waiting for us on arrival as we had missed the evening meal.All other meals very good, good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your comments regarding the team. I will pass your comments to all and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon. Vicki Glen General Manager More 

Accrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a shearings coach holiday and their hotels are all of a decent standard, the royal was in the main up to scratch. Food very tasty. Staff polite and efficient. Entertainment every night. Rooms on the whole were ok, but lack of heating was a concern at times. Hotel in a great position overlooking the bay and the town.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you sharing your review. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay. we have a rolling refurbishment plan which has seen a lot of work done over the past 2 years. I’m sorry if you found the hotel cooler than you would have liked. We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon. Vicki Glen General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

167 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay