We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Whitby hotels

Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HA, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Save Saved
You added Bay Royal Whitby Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
61%
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Whitby
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Andy M
  • Overview
  • Reviews (522)
  • Photos (138)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (241)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    199
    107
    58
    40
See reviews for
74
280
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having been to a few Shearings holidays I would say that the Royal is a standard issue Bay hotel. The building is big, impressive and nicely placed to look out on one side out to sea and another side looking over the harbour. The room and the food were good considering what we paid. The room was clean but was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

me and my partner stayed here for one night, it was a late booking £79 for bed and breakfast. it wasnt perfect but it was good enough. the location was fantastic, not far from the shops and the town. we didnt stay in hotel much just to sleep, spent most of time in whitby town. room was pleasant. the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are indeed in a fantastic location and I’m pleased to see you found your stay value for money. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the not too distant future. Vicki Glen General Manager More

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a lovely weekend in Whitby, weather stayed dry. Lots going on it was the folk weekend, so many people the place was buzzin!! Did a self drive to the Royal Hotel in Whitby, lovely stay the room was good, bed very comfy with good pillows. Food very good but not enough veg with dinner and breakfast starters lay out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. You certainly chose a busy weekend to visit as the folk festival brings a lot of visitors to the area. I’m pleased to see you found your room comfortable and we will look into your comments regarding the breakfast layout. We hope to welcome you back in the not too... More

Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I went on a Shearings coach holiday with my mum on 4th August and had a lovely time. Room 329 was lovely and much better than we expected. It was great value for money. Everywhere was very clean and the bed lovely and comfortable. TV was great, as was coffee and tea making facilities. Room cleaned everyday by Nan Only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay and we even exceeded your expectations in some areas. I will have our maintenance dept action the slight issues you mention. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon. Vicki Glen General Manager More

hemsworth
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from a wonderful 7 day stay at The Royal Hotel Whitby,we had a superb premier room 105 which has the most spectacular views over the abbey and harbour and is cleaned immaculatley every day.The staff at reception are very friendly and helpful especially Becky.The food was great with a variety of choices and we were served by Daniel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

5* reviews are always a pleasure to receive so thank you. It’s great to see we ticked the boxes throughout. Room 105 is a very popular room and when you see the views it offers it’s easy to understand why. Becky and Daniel are both great team players and they will be delighted with your comments. We look forward to... More

Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
54 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I entered for a drink as was staying in a guest house round the corner. The beer was the most expensive I payed in Whitby and easily the worst - 100% more than the cheapest and over a period I visited 8 establishments. I entered the ballroom was entertainment was advertised and felt I had gone back 30 years and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you sharing your review although I am a little confused by some of your comments. We find our bar prices competitive with many establishments in the area offering the same kind of services and I am unsure where in Whitby (or anywhere else for that matter) you would find a pint around the £1.70 price range. Our ballroom... More

leicester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

arrived 4 august 2014 travelling with shearings coaches, a great trip, no hassle and everything went according to plan. I do agree with some of the other reviews regading the rooms looking a little tired, however, the service here was excellent, rooms cleaned on a daily basis and plenty of coffee and tea making facilities. The downside of this was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I‘m pleased to see you found your accommodation to be clean and comfortable. To be honest, there are a large number of very good fish and chip restaurants in Whitby at greatly varying prices but all of a very high quality. If you visit again, ask us at Reception for... More

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 5 day Holiday by Coach with Shearings .The Hotel Staff were very good and the Service and Food was also good .We toured the area by Coach and the scenery is just Stunning our driver Mike is from the local area and was Excellent his knowledge was great. We have travelled to this Hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

It’s always lovely to see returning guests and to know that we continue to meet their needs and expectations. I will be sure to pass your comments to all and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Vicki Glen General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a weekend break at The Royal Saturday 2 to Monday 4 August. The room we had on the second floor had a lovely view, which I had paid extra for, and was clean but basic. We had booked half board and when we went into dinner on the first evening, I can only describe this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I’m sorry to see you were disappointed during your short break with us. We receive a lot of praise on our food offering and am concerned to find this wasn’t the case in your experience. I am also very concerned about the comments with regard to our FOH staff and would have appreciated the opportunity to discuss this prior to... More

Travelers are raving about these Whitby hotels

Merseyside, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Royal Hotel from Friday 1st August to Sunday 3rd August, after being recommended to stay here from our parents. We found the rooms outdated and in need of urgent renovation, (We stayed on the third floor) however this was something we could have overlooked. When we arrived we found a dirty room. Bits on the carpet,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (132)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Whitby with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
100

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bay Royal Whitby Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer