We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Hotel website
West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HA, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £99
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Gill H Wakefield, United Kingdom
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    270
    129
    66
    44
See reviews for
85
357
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (655)
  • Mar-May only
    (169)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (155)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (156)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (175)
All months
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If your looking for boutique or luxury this hotel is not for you. We stayed for one night and it was excellent for us, we stayed in room 202 (second floor) with excellent uninterrupted views, for one night the location and views where much more important than added luxuries. The room was big enough it had a wardrobe, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbyshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We did a Shearings self drive 3 day (2 night) stay last week but not as impressed with this hotel compared to other Shearings hotels. All public areas were quite acceptable, entertainment was average, staff very friendly and helpful, meals were ok but not much selection and portions were small. The room we had was on the third floor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've stayed at this hotel many times and I've always found it to be a great place to stay. I won't stay anywhere else in Whitby. The staff are very helpful and the food is top notch. I haven't been to the hotel since last September because I have been recovering from Pneumonia and I've brought a new house but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Bay Royal is a large well situated hotel. The recreation rooms and Bar lounges and ,reception areas are clean and comfortable. The entertainment room is large and well maintained. The room are clean and beds comfortable. There was no drawer space for clothing other than a four foot wardrobe with a shelf half taken up by spare bedding. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winter Springs, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We live in Florida, so when we visit my Mother in Cheshire, she likes to take us with my sister, on 5 day Shearings Holidays, this Hotel is getting old, like all the other Shearings Hotels we have stayed, but clean, 2 meals a day, entertainment at night, it is a nice break, with no driving, no cooking, good day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we ticked the box throughout. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal some time. Vicki Glen General Manager More 

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. If I had realised the hotel was a Shearings Coach destination would not have booked it. Expected a relaxing break in a lovely hotel. Firstly the rooms lack any comforts. Throw away plastic glasses in bathroom. Very poor towels. A Yorkshire hotel with Tetley teabags?? No teapot to make tea in. No tisues,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with your stay here at the Royal. It is clear we did not meet your expectations and after having looked at your second hotel on here and other websites, I can see why we wouldn’t. I do, however, find many of your comments harsh. We are part of a national group who pride... More 

Travelers are raving about these Whitby hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My two sisters and I have just returned from this hotel having been regular visitors for many years . We have always overlooked problems in the past as we love the views from all round this hotel. However, this time we could honestly say the standards have slipped badly. The food was abysmal we really had to try hard to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel probably would not survive without Shearings coaches financial input and was Whitbys best in its day. Its now a shadow of its former self but the hotel is trying to improve and up grade what is a very big hotel. We stayed for 4 nights on a Shearings break.. The location is fantastic for sea views, but there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your detailed review. It certainly seems that you saw plenty of the local area during your stay. As you mention in your review we have refurbished many areas of the hotel whilst trying to maintain many of the original features including the revolving doors etc. I will be sure to pass your... More 

Exeter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you Shearings! We had 4 nights at this delightfully situated hotel last week, it was the first time we had been on a coach holiday, there were 8 of us altogther, 2 friends drove there but joined in the days out from the hotel. Mike, our driver, was brilliant, his funny stories and knowledge of the area are superb,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Another 5* review – thank you. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we ticked the box throughout. I will pass your comments to the team, especially Allison and Josef (but please don’t encourage him with that hair ha ha). We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Vicki Glen General Manager More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bay Royal is level with the Abbey, with the town in the valley a long way down. Superb walks along the cliffs and the bay with many paths leading to the theatre, beach and town. For less able-bodied people there is an open-top tour bus (every 30 mins £4/£5 for 24 hours), and also an hourly service bus into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your review to the team. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon. Vicki Glen General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (167)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities