We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Settle B&Bs / inns

Oast Guest House

Save Saved
You added Oast Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Penyghent View, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD24 9JJ, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (60)
  • Photos (6)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Oast Guest House
Ranked #8 of 11 Settle B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Settle
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
18
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ignore the bad reviews, my party of 6 who were walking the 3 peaks in 12 hours stayed at the Oast Guest House.The hosts Helen and Martin were great and very helpful who told us the best places to eat and drink. I enjoyed the homemade cheese and ham croissants, muffins and all the jams were also made by Helen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
oast99, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be glad to greet you again in the future. Congratulations on the ' 3 Peak Challenge,. hopefully it didn't cause too many blisters and sore feet. thank you once again Regards Martyn. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A small group of us had an overnight stay on our '2 Roses Way' cycle trip. A clean, comfortable Bn'b with all we could expect to make for a good start the following morning for our 170 mile cycle ride. Good shower and comfy beds. The breakfast was excellent with much of it home-made, and plenty of it. The proprietors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oast99, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, even if we struggled 'to get our ear in'. It is probably good that we all didn't have broad regional accents or that could have been confusing. I hope that you enjoyed the 'Way of the Roses', and managed to see some of the... More

London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at Oast for the weekend with a few friends to attend a wedding at nearby Taitlands. The guest house is very cozy and clean throughout. Martyn and Helen who run Oast were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. The breakfast choices were varied and very tasty, especially the homemade jams! We would highly recommend this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
oast99, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review it is very much appreciated. Helen and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a good weekend in Settle. Hopefully if you return to the area you will see a bit more of the stunning Yorkshire Dales. Once again Thank You for the review. Regards Martyn More

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at this b and b with 2 other couples during a charity cycle ride. Whist the bedroom was ok, the ensuite shower room was very small, with a tiny washbasin, and the shower did not work. A dribble of water, mostly cold, meant that we could not have a proper shower or Hir wash after a very hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
oast99, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your viewpoint has been noted. I hope that you successfully completed the Way of the Roses More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Myself and 3 friends stayed here last Saturday night, as we had an early start on the Sunday morning. We were greeted with a very friendly welcome by the hosts. Our twin rooms were clean and comfortable. As soon as we arrived we were offered a drink and some homemade cake, which was very nice. Unfortunately we needed to set... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oast99, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is very much appreciated. Helen is very pleased that you enjoyed the early breakfast and that the croissants and muffins were to your liking. We hope that you had an enjoyable day walking the Peaks and appreciate that you would return to stay if you visit the area again. Once again thank you for... More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed as part of our Settle to Carlisle train journey. Lovely comfortable room. Helen and Martin were extremely accommodating and the breakfast was lovely. Thank you for the homemade cakes also! A lovely guest house which made our stay in Settle very enjoyable. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oast99, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is very much appreciated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Oast and that you had a good experience of the Settle area. I hope that the Settle -Carlisle lived up to your expectations it is supposed to be one of the best journeys in the world Regards Helen and... More

Martham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Once again a faultless stay fantastic hosts great breakfast good clean room.I bet the weather has changed now Helen see you next year.Helens breakfast special is great and all the jams are homemade as are the cakes left in the lounge for you to enjoy with a cup of coffee plus fresh fruit in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oast99, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review

Mel It was great to see you again. Thank you for your review it is once again very much appreciated. I am really happy that you enjoy your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. Best Wishes Helen More

London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I only stayed one night at the Oast Guest House in Settle, but I can confirm that every detail was perfect and the lovely hosts are incredibly helpful and accommodating (including driving us to the station when our lift fell through). Really lovely breakfast too!! Will be returning - thanks Martyn and Helen! L

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
oast99, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was no problem with the lift. A pleasure to help Regards Martyn More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I cannot recommend this lovely guest house, run by a charming couple, for whom nothing is too much trouble. I am very surprised to see the comments on here to the contrary - I can only assume they were rather unpleasant guests! The breakfast was excellent and nutritious. And best of all, they drove us to the station when our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oast99, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, it is very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you had a safe and good journey home. Once again Thank You. Regards Helen and Martyn More

Dumfries
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at the Oast Guest House on Friday 8th November. It had been a fraught journey due to traffic delays and frightful weather so it was nice to be greeted warmly by Martyn and immediately shown into the lounge where I could get tea or coffee. I was accommodated in room 1 which was large enough for me although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
oast99, Owner at Oast Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, it is very much appreciated. Helen and myself are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You will be pleased to know that the weather is better but the traffic on some routes is not necessarily better! Regards Helen and Martyn More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Oast Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Oast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oast Guest House

Address: 5 Penyghent View, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD24 9JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oast Guest House 3*

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Settle with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oast Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer