We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lion at Settle

Certificate of Excellence
Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Hotel amenities
The Lion at Settle
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Robbie d Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    108
    29
    20
    7
See reviews for
47
131
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (299)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed and had dinner here. Firstly the younger staff members were really very good however the same can not be said for rest of the hotel nor the lady who was apparently the "manager" who was really very rude. The room we stayed in was grubby with spilt coffee on skirting boards, mouldy curtains, dirty bath tiles and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First the good points. Pleasant helpful staff, good beer at a reasonable price. Now the rest. Room very dusty and tired looking. Bathroom really small and dirty, with an extremely small shower cubicle. Very difficult to get in and out of. My partner says anybody above a size 10 would struggle to use it safely. Breakfast was particularly disappointing due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Lion. We are pleased you found the staff were pleasant and helpful. I apologise that you found the rooms were small and dirty, if we was aware of the dirtiness at the time we could have corrected this problem. As we are very central in Settle, we feel... More 

east mids
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really disappointing to report that the comments about cleanliness will be repeated again here. Room 12 needs a complete makeover, shaky headboard, dusty dirty tired furniture, dreadful weak shower that leaks before it flows, lack of adequate mirrors for hairdryer, window looking over scruffy courtyard and neighbouring rooms....etc A real shame as lovely bar area- and great food. Suggest spending... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I apologise our rooms were not up to our usual standards. We are having our rooms refurbished in the next few months. Hopefully you will decide to give us another chance in the future. I apologise again. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the first time we have been to settle and stayed at the lion pub. When we walked in the first thing you see is the lovely fireplace and friendly staff who are really helpful. We were taken to our room which was nice and tidy but a bit on the small side.The shower worked great and was nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for an 'Outstanding' 5* review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here at the Lion. We can't wait until your return. Thanks again More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent two nights here. Staff are very friendly. Food was superb. Log fires made it very homely, and they make attention to detail look easy. Will definitely stay there again. Will also try out one of the other Thwaites establishments.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you found the food was superb! We look forward to you staying with us again! More 

lake district
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Went for mothers day lunch with party of 6. Menu was very limited (only roasts). Roast beef very tough no trace of pink. veggies stewed and flavoured with star anise!. Altogether a very poor exprience

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manger at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had a poor experience dining here. If we had known at the time of these problems something would have been sorted out for you then and there. We hope you decide to give us another chance in the future. Thanks for your comments. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Stayed here on one of their winter offers, (DB&b), and had a great time. Staff were wonderful, food simply perfect, and we had a great night at a folk evening with the brilliant Mike Harding. We will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a lovely review, we look forward to your return. Thanks again, all the team at the Lion More 

Hebden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We had lunch here yesterday, having eaten here on our last visit to Settle . Again, we weren't disappointed ; there was a welcoming log fire with inviting tables nearby , next to the bar, or a very nice dining room with a more formal touch. Staff were very friendly and pleasant and we were seated and offered drinks very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review

We are very pleased to see you were not disappointed when you visited us again and that you found the food was delicious. We look forward to your return. Thank you very much, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We visit the Lion every couple of weeks. Has excellent beer and very good food. Could do perhaps with a bit more seating during the day. Often struggle for a table but plenty of space. I have often seen people walk out because of lack of seating. No problem in Summer as a lovely big garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit here. We are getting a refurb very soon and are looking into the seating arrangements. We hope to see you again very soon. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at the Lion More 

UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over the 2015 Valentines weekend following lengthy reseach some weeks beforehand. At the time of booking, we asked the receptionist if they were proposing to do anything special for valentines night in the associated restaurant? we were informed that the chef would be, and with this in mind we also booked a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion at Settle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here. I apologise you were told by the receptionist that chef would be doing something for valentines day, however our booking system was central and reservations were not being taken at the Lion itself. Our staff uniform does not state that staff have to wear flat black shoes. We are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question