We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gothic House

Certificate of Excellence
King's Head Yard | Magdalen Street, Norwich NR3 1JE, England
Gothic House
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
71
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (148)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a hidden gem. A beautiful building and Clive and his Puss are the puuuuurrrrrfect hosts. This B&B is luxurious and represents amazing value for money when you consider the extras - fresh fruit in room, robes, SHERRY !!!!!!! Beautifully appointed room with comfy beds, gorgeous linens and REALLY comfy beds. Well done Clive, Puss and team for adding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I want to say please don't stay here - but that's only because I want it to remain a secret! I can only agree with Martin S - don't waste time booking anywhere else - I guarantee you will not find better in Norwich than this wonderful B&B. The house itself is gorgeous - lovingly and sensitively restored and decorated,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We stayed here over valentines and really had a truly memorable experience! Very unique accommodation and run by lovely owners. Location is fantastic for popping into the city and parking is a good bonus. The room was one of a kind and the attention to detail was excellent. thr breakfast is excellent and customised how ever you would like. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

My wife and I are considering moving to Norfolk, and in particular, Norwich. We had never been to the city, so decided to visit for two days in December. We found Gothic House on line. Clive and his partner were ever so welcoming, gracious, helpful, and informative. The perfect hosts. The house is lovely, inside and out, from another era.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

If you are planning a visit to Norwich please don't waste your time looking at any other Bed and Breakfast or Hotel accommodation reviews - just book your stay at Gothic House and you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We returned to Gothic House and had almost forgotten how wonderful it is!! A short walk into Norwich City Centre with all the lovely shops and places to eat, but you go back to Gothic House, through the gate and you're in another world! Peace reigns and Clive goes out of his way to make the stay perfect. The house... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

A step back in time to this Georgian town house, it could be older - not sure. Beautiful breakfast served with fresh coffee Portree from a silver pot. However the bathroom was disappointing, it desperately needs a refit and to be honest was a bit grubby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gothichouse, Owner at Gothic House, responded to this review

Jacqueline, it might have been more useful and helpful to me if you had expressed any disappointment you had felt regarding the bathroom when you were here. If I had missed anything when I had cleaned the room I am very sorry - I do everything myself, so I cannot blame the staff..! More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

This place has real character and the owner has thought about every little detail. Not only does your room have the usual tea and coffee but here it's ground coffee, and biscuits, and fruit, and sherry! Decor is luxurious, antique and very individual. The breakfast is superb, and the location right in the middle of town yet quiet. You could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Gothic house is amazing, full of lovingly collected pieces, pictures and books. Clive is a gracious host along side the charming kharmer (sorry if the spelling is wrong) Parking is convenient and the location is perfect. Our double room was so lovely, beautifully decorated. Fruit, biscuits, tea, coffee and sherry in a cut glass decanter were provided as were bathrobes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lando, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

What a beautiful stay my friend Judie and I had in Norwich at the Gothic House! If you like sumptuous beautiful interiors this is the place for you! Beautifully decorated, super clean, quiet and a great location to the city. What more could you ask for? A great breakfast prepared by a great host! Lots of charm and Clive is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities