We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 79 Norwich B&Bs / inns

Gothic House

Save
You added Gothic House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   King's Head Yard | Magdalen Street, Norwich NR3 1JE, England
Hotel amenities
Gothic House
Ranked #10 of 79 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
68
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (143)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

We returned to Gothic House and had almost forgotten how wonderful it is!! A short walk into Norwich City Centre with all the lovely shops and places to eat, but you go back to Gothic House, through the gate and you're in another world! Peace reigns and Clive goes out of his way to make the stay perfect. The house... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

A step back in time to this Georgian town house, it could be older - not sure. Beautiful breakfast served with fresh coffee Portree from a silver pot. However the bathroom was disappointing, it desperately needs a refit and to be honest was a bit grubby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gothichouse, Owner at Gothic House, responded to this review

Jacqueline, it might have been more useful and helpful to me if you had expressed any disappointment you had felt regarding the bathroom when you were here. If I had missed anything when I had cleaned the room I am very sorry - I do everything myself, so I cannot blame the staff..! More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

This place has real character and the owner has thought about every little detail. Not only does your room have the usual tea and coffee but here it's ground coffee, and biscuits, and fruit, and sherry! Decor is luxurious, antique and very individual. The breakfast is superb, and the location right in the middle of town yet quiet. You could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Gothic house is amazing, full of lovingly collected pieces, pictures and books. Clive is a gracious host along side the charming kharmer (sorry if the spelling is wrong) Parking is convenient and the location is perfect. Our double room was so lovely, beautifully decorated. Fruit, biscuits, tea, coffee and sherry in a cut glass decanter were provided as were bathrobes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lando, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

What a beautiful stay my friend Judie and I had in Norwich at the Gothic House! If you like sumptuous beautiful interiors this is the place for you! Beautifully decorated, super clean, quiet and a great location to the city. What more could you ask for? A great breakfast prepared by a great host! Lots of charm and Clive is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

What a fantastic find. A beautiful bed and breakfast in Norwich City centre with private, gated parking. We loved being able to park right outside and forget our car for the weekend as everything was within easy walking distance and next to one of the best real ale pubs in the city. We had the windows open as it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We are so pleased that we chose to stay at Gothic House. Everything about it is right. Location - right in the heart of the city, yet quiet and peaceful. Accommodation - comfortable, spacious, beautifully furnished and equipped. Breakfast - delicious, individually prepared. Hospitality - friendly, helpful, attention to detail, nothing too much trouble. We heartily recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wigston, Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This lovely guest house is a little gem in the heart of Norwich. It's like going back in time to a more relaxing era. Great accommodation and breakfast personally supervised by Clive who is quite a character.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Beautiful Grade II listed house in the yard behind a pub. Furnished with taste in a compatible style. Had room at front for two nights which was bright and spacious, with a private bathroom across the landing. Excellent breakfast including luscious fruits. Handy for restaurants. Stayed here whilst walking Boudiccas way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The house is beautiful and very thoughtfully decorated/furnished. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and comfortable and everywhere was spotless. Clive is a great host....very helpful and cooks a splendid breakfast ! It is easy to walk into the old town/cathedral area from Gothic House and the house itself is set back from the road and therefore not at all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gothic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothic House

Address: King's Head Yard | Magdalen Street, Norwich NR3 1JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gothic House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Gothic House Hotel Norwich

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay