We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Norwich Hotel

121-131 Boundary Road, Norwich NR3 2BA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Add Photo

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    90
    94
    101
    44
    35
See reviews for
58
118
8
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (364)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Huntingdon, Cambs
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is tricky to rate. It is easy to see why people will differ in their opinions. The room was acceptable although there is some ammunition for someone to complain. Sticky hair dryer, very mild mould in the bathroom (really not enough to mention), room keys that needed resetting during a stay (a common minor issue at many hotels),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a break with my sister. Receptionist wasn't very friendly, dark haired girl, wasn't a great welcome to be honest. Took the break for a well needed few days off from work, was hoping for a lay in but got woken up twice by housekeeping, at 7am. Then as we were just about to leave for interrupted again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable room, convenient for the airport, but a little distance out of town. Could not get BBC4 even though the helpful reception tried, and difficulty in logging on to WiFi. The bar was very limited in whisky, a good choice of single malts, but limited "ordinary" blended stuff. At these prices I expected more than I got. Disappointing

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry we failed to WOW you but thank you for your kind comment regarding our bedrooms. I would agree we are a bit light on the stadard whiskys, that's a fair comment. Sorry you had trouble logging on but our free WIFI has been a massive hit recently and the subject of several compliments. Hopefully next time we will impress... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mercure Hotel Norwich may not be the most swanky or picturesque but hands down the staff make this one of the best places to stay in Norwich. We held a 20+ short notice dinner party for family and all I can say is bigger and more prestigious hotel chain staff would not have gone to the lengths Kayleigh, Kelly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review

Ian, thank you for a lovely review. I understand that Saturday was very busy so I am delighted that my team were able to impress you with their service levels. We do believe in "going the extra mile" and it's always great when that is recognised. We will be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel where you can... More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The front desk staff and regular bar staff are very friendly. I stay here regularly for work, 2weeks at a time. I have a £25 evening meal allowance. I would recommend staying clear of the chicken as it is usually dry. I order food to my room and I cannot think of one occasion I have had everything on my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review

Damien it's always a little disappointing to have shared a building with someone for so long and to end up communicating via Tripadvisor. My card is always available at the front desk so please e-mail me any issues in the future and I promise to deal with them personally. It would appear we have a training issue with charging for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Used for buisness recently room was acceptable , quickly used the steam & sauna which was great Breakfast was absolutely fine & nothing to grumble about ,wifi had good servicein room Perfect for my business visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review

Dazza thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our services and thank you for mentioning the free high speed wifi, we have had so many glowing comments about that recently. I hope you have an opportunity to stay longer next time or return on a leisure-based visit to discover our beautiful county. My thanks once... More 

uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

first room had about 50cm between all walls and the bed to spare. Offered to pay an upgrade for better room and changed to room that had had two different colours and lengths of hair in bath, bathroom floor and three hair grips on floor in room. Had meal and pulled pork with chips, onion rings, salad, and bread. Basically... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review

I am aware of your stay with us and am obviously sorry that you found your first upgraded room not to be 100% clean. I understand that you were grateful for the response from my team and the complimentary wine we provided. It's not often our cleanliness standards slip so again, my apologies. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I regularly have to eat here for work, when they get your order correct, the food is never what you'd expect for the price you pay. In the past week had steak and doom bar pie and the mash was inedible, had an anti pasti that look liked it had been ready sometime, had a chicken burger, a chicken Caesar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review

Now I am very surprised at this review because as a regular guest I would expect to have learned of your complaints. I would ask that you e-mail or ask to meet so we can discuss these issues; it's always frustrating to learn of a disatisfied from a website when we've been sharing the same building for weeks. I am... More 

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was excited about staying in a Mecure hotel as the one in Sheffield is lovely. However, on approaching, the building looked very drab on the outside and that unfortunately was how the rest of the hotel felt during our stay. The staff were really friendly and we all got a warm welcome on arrival. All the staff throughout our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review

Nicola thank you for taking the time to post a review. Obviously I am disappointed that you didn't feen we were four star but equally I am delighted that my team here were so friendly and welcoming. We are not the prettiest building in Britain but we do claim to have some of the greatest staff in Norfolk which I... More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arriving at the entrance to an industrial estate on a wet evening the first glimpse of the hotel was not inspiring. However, an excellent welcome at the reception, clean public areas, and a clean and well maintained room with a large comfortable bed soon changed initial perceptions. Breakfasts were just about adequate rather than inspired and staffing levels in all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review

Shropshire born thank you very much for writing a balanced review. I am delighted by your description of our accommodation but still saddened that we failed to exceed your expectations over the breakfast table. I am pleased my staff made an impact, especially on reception. Thank you once again for your kind review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay