We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 50 Norwich hotels

BEST WESTERN George Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arlington Lane, Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2DA, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN George Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
AndyNorwichUK Norwich, United Kingdom
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    65
    48
    35
    22
See reviews for
23
70
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've never stayed there but have eaten there many times. Alsdo have a weekly Rotary Club meeting there. Food always good and reasonably priced. Staff exceptionally friendly and nothing is too much trouble. And they serve decent real ale!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel, the room was recently refurbished. The room was pleasant, quiet and very nicely decorated and clean. The staff were very friendly and the food in their restaurant was delicious. I had breakfast lunch and dinner - it was a brasserie style restaurant with an interesting menu, beautifully cooked with fresh ingredients. I highly recommend the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be returning. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I never have great expectations of UK chain hotels, this one mostly met them. Our original room was clean but tatty. The furnishings seemed quite old. It was also cold - would have thought it'd be an idea to put the radiator on if you know a room is going to be occupied. So this was all fine. However -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and we are pleased that we met most of your expectations. We are of course sorry you were disturbed by the party, unfortunately it was a very last minute booking which then went on for a little longer than anticipated.We will do our very best to prevent this from happening in the future. More 

Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my 12 year old Daughter have been going to The George for 4 years now. We always spend Christmas with them and have the odd weekends throughout the year. The staff are amazing and it really feels like we are visiting family and true friends when we go. Although there have been a few staff changes, most of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your brilliant review.It is a total pleasure to have you as a guest, and we look forward to your next visit. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No rooms available with shower Room allocated with bath and shower head which did not work. Ordered food and food was burnt and clearly cooked several days ago and re heated, decided to walk 1 mile than risk it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

We were of course expecting your review as you quite clearly stated that you intended to write it regardless of everything we tried to do to assist you with your stay. We do find this happen from time to time and have come to accept that there are some guests we just can not please. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for three night Christmas break and from start to finish the staff and hotel were brilliant! It was even better than last year! All staff including the chefs were always friendly, polite and nothing was ever a problem! Tom, Al, Andy, Hanna and the rest of the team made our Christmas break so special. We even had a perfectly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Really pleased you all had an enjoyable Christmas. You are a pleasure to look after, including the adorable Scamp!! More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to have a different Christmas for 2014 and stay in a hotel. I stayed here with my partner, two young daughters and parents from Christmas Eve to Boxing day. We stayed in the attic room, which was very spacious, with a huge bathroom and Jacuzzi bath. Our stay was excellent and could not fault it in anyway. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your Christmas break and hope you and your lovely family will come and stay with us again in the future. More 

Northants
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Stayed as part of a coach trip to Thursford. a warm welcome room was clean and warm. Bathroom although it was clean was very dated the shower was powered by the taps and a very poor water pressure if we had been staying another night would have used the bath instead. service in the restaurant was for our evening meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of updating all the bathrooms in the hotel and are pleased to say we only have just three rooms left to complete which we hope to have done by the mid February.We do cater for parties over Christmas so apologise if the groups were celebrating a little loudly. More 

Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Stayed with a coach party overnight at this charming well run town house hotel. Warmly greeted by Jane, very helpful and pleasant staff, warm comfortable rooms with all facilities, excellent meals, and only 10 minutes from Norwich shopping centre. All round a great experience which I hope to repeat next December.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Address: Arlington Lane, Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay