We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

3.0 of 5 Low Lane, Stainton Village, Middlesbrough TS17 9LW, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    100
    93
    68
    94
See reviews for
42
90
30
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (400)
  • Mar-May only
    (104)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Dont bother with this place. went to a tribute night here recently. had trouble from 2pm when we booked in. wrong rooms. terrible food. and the tribute night act...ROBBIE WILLIAMS. hahahah who the hell are you kidding. he was like a throw back to the 80's and was more like rick astley. don't waste your time and money. stay well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Tired, dirty rooms and halls. Noisy plumbing and electrics. i actually had to repair the cistern at 23:00hrs as it was dripping constantly, this was after i had changed room as my first one was connected via a locked door to next door, who had tv on, i could hear everything. staff not apologetic at all (though friendly enough), just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mike w, Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay with us at the Sporting Lodge. Our rooms and halls are currently undergoing a refurbishment program and we hope to have a more modern feel to the areas very soon. I am sorry also that we were unable to locate your phone charger, but I can assure... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

dirty rooms, threadbare carpets, dreadful food, surly staff who don't give a dam about customer service and the worst reception staff I have ever come across.. Don't bother you will regret it... Had the unfortunate luck to have to stay here for two nights... Dreadful

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
C_Martin_Midds, Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

We are really sorry you did not enjoy your recent visit to the Sporting Lodge. Sorry we did not get an opportunity during your stay to resolve any of your issues. All feedback received is taken very seriously in order to maintain standards and to develop staff through training. Thank you for your review, Craig Martin Operations Manager More 

Pontefract
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was a little apprehensive about visiting this hotel, as I'd looked at some of the reviews posted recently. My husband & I had booked a National Holiday with overnight stay here, so we didn't get a choice of where we could stay. I was pleased to find that, despite its tiredness, the hotel was fine. Yes, the carpets in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

In one word... Don't After a 5 hour drive to get there for work the next day this place is truly astonishing. Stuck in a 1980's time warp with worn dirty carpet, surly staff, an inability to get any kind of table (a lucky break given some of the reviews) it's hard to find anything positive to say. I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I needed to stay somewhere near Thornaby for a meeting. There were "hotels" nearer to the office but a quick look on Google Streetview told me all I needed to know about "Luxury Rooms £15 per night"!! So The Sporting Lodge it was. On arrival, it wasn't clear where the entrance was (it's on the right side of the building)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Not a very pleasant experience. The huge swimming pool the only reason to venture close to this place. Service from the reception team very poor. First night, room freezing, phone not working. To access the restaurant is via an outside corridor, not very great in the winter. Rooms dated and smelled mouldy. The food was poor, first night I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

This was a return trip for new year and this time decided to stay over. Ok the rooms could do with a little upgrading but value for money compared with hassle waiting for taxis at stupid o'clock in the morning. Top night to celebrate new year. The staff were amazing. Warm welcome, great food, top tunes to dance the night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

Classed as a 4 star hotel but it really isn't. Our room smelled old and the matress was collapsed on one side, curtain ripped, lamp shades broken. Rooms look very dated and generally arent nice to stay in. This place is basically a travel lodge with a pool and gym. I would not recommend it to others unless they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

Took my family out for Sunday lunch. Totally disappointed. We waited for 30 minutes for our starter. Then we waited 25 minutes for our main. Found this difficult as there was only 8 people in the restaurant and 8 front of house staff. When our mains came they were cold. When asked if everything was ok we said no. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

Address: Low Lane, Stainton Village, Middlesbrough TS17 9LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough Hotel Middlesbrough
Sporting Hotel Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Sporting Hotel

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay