We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

3.0 of 5 Low Lane, Stainton Village, Middlesbrough TS17 9LW, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    97
    85
    61
    87
See reviews for
39
88
30
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (374)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
stoke on trent
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We spent 1night here and found it needs a little updating .The towels and bedding were spotless clean and the room not bad .We had evening meal 3courses really good staff very efficient and helpful .Breakfast full English all you can eat no complaints .Its location in the middle of no where but it had nice grounds to it we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We read some of the reviews on here when we found out our coach trip was booked to stay at the Sporting Lodge and were very anxious about it. We needn't have worried and it's taught me to ignore the bad reviews. All the staff we met were pleasant, efficient and friendly. The room was spacious (room 152) with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside. I am glad that you found your room spacious and had an enjoyable stay here at the Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again in the near future. Yours sincerely,... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked 2 rooms here at the end of August for a family wedding in the area. Prior to arriving I contacted the hotel and explained the situation and enquired if there was any chance of an early check in, I was told that if we arrived early and the room was ready we would be able to check in. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about the experience that you had on a recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the shortfalls in service levels that you received from the Receptionist on shift. Where possible we endeavour to check Wedding guests in to rooms if the rooms are ready and... More

Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stayed here as part of a weekend coach trip, and before we went I went on this site to find out more. Most of the reviews said this hotel was dirty. However we were pleasantly surprised! One week before I telephoned the hotel to request a ground floor room as I am disabled. ALISON took my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside. I am glad that Alison and Margaret looked after your needs. I can however only apologise for the way another team member spoke to you and advised you of the 'system'. The service style... More

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went with my young son first room was so dusty so asked to be moved 2nd room was much better can't see how these are executive rooms unless aimed at executives wanted out of the business. very tired and need a good makeover. The staff were all friendly. The breakfast was nice shame I normally need more than 1 coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside. I am sorry to read of your disappointment with your first room, but I am glad that we were able to rectify the situation for you. When we have large groups coming in to... More

Gloucester, UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a while since I have stayed at the Sporting Lodge just outside of Middlesbrough, and at that time I assessed it as OK. I mean, it doesn't pretend to be The Ritz, but it is clean, the beds are comfortable and the food is good and value-for-money. All in all, this is an OK place to stay when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside. I am sorry that you feel that there has been little investment in the Hotel since you previously stayed with us a few years ago. In the last few years, we have been gradually... More

Luton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ended here as the Premier Inns were full. Upgraded to an "executive business room". Room 264. Room dirty; long hairs found in the sink, toilet is loose on the wall, previous occupant's half used shower gels left in the shower. Extractor unit has come away from the ceiling exposing screws and rawl plugs. A one inch gap under the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside. Please accept my apologies for the shortfalls in cleanliness and Maintenance levels that you found in Room 264. I have addressed your comments with the Maintenance team about the Toilet seat. the room in... More

Worksop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked in here on business trip. OMG. Apart from friendly staff nothing to recommend about staying here. Dirty tired place that needs totally gutting. Or flattening! Sticky filthy carpets. Mould in bathrooms, as well as hairs in bath, sink, floor. Stains on chair in room. Dust on light fittings. Tired breakfast was cold. Depressing bar and restaurant...yesterday there were buckets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside. I am sorry to read of your disappointment with your accommodation and the Bar and Restaurant. I have addressed your comments about the cleanliness and the poor standards in the bedrooms with both the... More

ASHFORD
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on a coach tour of North Yorkshire, and stayed here for 3 nights.It looks more like a leisure club when you walk in than a hotel. I reckon many years ago it was a Forte Hotel, but that was in the dim and distant past. The carpets were all threadbare in the public areas, lampshades were broken, carpet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room and the service in the Restaurant. Last weekend we had 3 large parties dining on the Saturday evening, which meant that the Bar and Restaurant were... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was here recently for a meeting as the larger meeting rooms at our office were all booked up as I live local I fortunately didn't have to stay overnight. The hotel is in need of a refurb and carpets in the corridors are joined together with gaffer tape! The standard of cleanliness in the meeting room was shocking with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent use of one of the Conference rooms here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside. I have been made aware of the Wifi issues that you experienced on what should have been the first day of your meeting and I am extremely sorry... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

Address: Low Lane, Stainton Village, Middlesbrough TS17 9LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough Hotel Middlesbrough
Sporting Hotel Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Sporting Hotel

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay