We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

3.0 of 5 Low Lane, Stainton Village, Middlesbrough TS17 9LW, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    100
    92
    67
    91
See reviews for
42
89
30
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (395)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I needed to stay somewhere near Thornaby for a meeting. There were "hotels" nearer to the office but a quick look on Google Streetview told me all I needed to know about "Luxury Rooms £15 per night"!! So The Sporting Lodge it was. On arrival, it wasn't clear where the entrance was (it's on the right side of the building)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not a very pleasant experience. The huge swimming pool the only reason to venture close to this place. Service from the reception team very poor. First night, room freezing, phone not working. To access the restaurant is via an outside corridor, not very great in the winter. Rooms dated and smelled mouldy. The food was poor, first night I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a return trip for new year and this time decided to stay over. Ok the rooms could do with a little upgrading but value for money compared with hassle waiting for taxis at stupid o'clock in the morning. Top night to celebrate new year. The staff were amazing. Warm welcome, great food, top tunes to dance the night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Classed as a 4 star hotel but it really isn't. Our room smelled old and the matress was collapsed on one side, curtain ripped, lamp shades broken. Rooms look very dated and generally arent nice to stay in. This place is basically a travel lodge with a pool and gym. I would not recommend it to others unless they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took my family out for Sunday lunch. Totally disappointed. We waited for 30 minutes for our starter. Then we waited 25 minutes for our main. Found this difficult as there was only 8 people in the restaurant and 8 front of house staff. When our mains came they were cold. When asked if everything was ok we said no. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

super venue food excellent hotel rooms really good breakfast first class ,staff very helpful cannot fault it well done.large party of us and all really enjoyed, it will return to one of the theme nights next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Art Nouveau portions served at school dinner standard. You have two choices when you serve a meal, quality or quantity. The budget and appearance of this establishment suggests they might opt for the latter but they didn't and failed. What they served up was measly portions of very average food that left everyone hungry and disappointed. If you want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mike w, Guest Relations Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at the Sporting Lodge Inn. It is especially sad to hear you did not like the food, as the general feedback towards our festive dinners has been positive. We take all Feedback very serious and pass this all on to the relevant departments... More 

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Stayed in early December for a night - found the whole place was run down, carpets threadbare, skirtings and wall coverings chipped and marked. Room was clean but needed a revamp. in general the place looked a bit un-cared for. Food was reasonable and staff were friendly but restaurant is dark and dingey, especially where breakfast is served.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mike w, Guest Relations Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you liked the food offering, thank you also for the kind words regarding our staff. The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment and we are looking closely at guests comments like your own to ensure this is done in such a manor to cater to all tastes. Craig Martin Operations Manager More 

Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

1970's style dated interior and no style. Food like pub grub, everything with chips!!, my wine came with complementary cork. Trying to be something it can not be, my room I would say was a good size and on initial night time arrival looked good but in the morning found in day light the carpet very stained and generally felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mike w, Guest Relations Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback on this site. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment plan and we hope this to be completed very soon. We agree our beds are very comfortable, we do hope you hade a comfortable stay. Craig Martin Operations Manager More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Visited Sporting Lodge on Sunday 7th December for a Michael Buble / Robbie Williams Tribute Night with a group of friends. Although we made the best of it, the food was absolutely dreadful. My main course was stone cold, the sprouts were raw (literally!) and the roast potatoes appeared to have been cooked the day before they were so dry.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

Address: Low Lane, Stainton Village, Middlesbrough TS17 9LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough Hotel Middlesbrough
Sporting Hotel Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Sporting Hotel

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay