We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Middlesbrough

4.0 of 5 Fry Street, Middlesbrough TS1 1JH, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thistle Middlesbrough
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle Middlesbrough
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    132
    45
    10
    9
See reviews for
30
60
26
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (323)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived and was pleasantly surprised to be told that breakfast was included in price, room well equipped and spacious, enjoyed the leisure facilities, pool, jacuzzi and sauna, breakfast was very good too, only negative was that a member of staff walked into our room without knocking which was a bit disconcerting, would stay here again though

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Andrea, thank you for posting your feedback following your stay here at Thistle Middlesbrough. It's great to hear that you had the pleasant surprise of having breakfast included in your rate when this wasn't expected and that you found this to be a good experience - we truly believe that a good breakfast starts your day off in the... More 

london
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got good deal inc breakfast...only to find they charge £3.50 for hot chocolate. Tea and coffee comes with brekkie but hot choc extra. Ridiculous. Hope manager attends to this. Apart from loss of star for that, happy to recommend hotel, also close to Boro FC ground.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear benbLondon. Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle Middlesbrough. I was very pleased to find that you are happy to recommend the hotel to other guests, I will pass on your hot chocolate comments to our central food and beverage team. Thank you for choosing Thistle Middlesbrough and we look forward to... More 

Porth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed at this hotel approximately three times over last few years. It`s in a good location, just off main A road, close to town and only 5 mins from Riverside stadium. Nice modern rooms, not too big, comfortable beds and good shower. Friendly ladies on reception, very helpful. Excellent Wi-Fi @ hotel all-over, was advised it had been upgraded.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear welshone03, thank you for posting your feedback following your return visit to Thistle Middlesbrough, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our reception team to be friendly and helpful. I appreciate your comments regarding the hotel location, close to the many shops, restaurants and bars in the town centre and we are the closest hotel to... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was adequate but no more. The breakfast was similarly adequate. Strong smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor on returning to our room although this is the fault of the guest rather than the hotel. Lack of choice of hotels in Middlesbrough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for providing me with your comments, I am delighted that you chose to stay with us when you visited the town and that you enjoyed the service offered by our team. The hotel team go out of their way to look after our customers and it is nice for them to receive your positive feedback. I... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a really bad stay in the hotel. Slept horribly, woke up with head aches. I felt the rooms where too claustrophobic. plus the TV connection is horrible here so nothing to pass time. the Rooms have really small windows with no view of the outside world so you just feel trapped within the four walls. Though the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Piyush K, Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay, I am disappointed to read that you did not sleep well and did not have a good signal on the television. Thank you for raising this with our reception team while you were in the hotel giving us the opportunity to change your room... More 

York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived with my daughter for a short business trip, very impressed with the room, the cleanliness, the food, but the most impressive part was the staff, excellent service from start to finish. Helpful, polite and very accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear LOYORK, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle Middlesbrough. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit, and were impressed by the service delivered by our team and as with all guest feedback I will pass your comments on. Thank you for choosing Thistle Middlesbrough and we look forward to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Me and my wife stayed at your hotel saturday the 23rd of january and i have to say that our stay was really enjoyable,the staff couldn't do enough for you the room was really clean and comfortable and the breakfast was something else.i wouldn't hesitate in staying again and will do so.thank you very much and thanks to the staff.steven... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Steven Parker, thank you for posting your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend, found your room to be clean and comfortable and enjoyed the food and service offered by our team. The centre of Middlesbrough is right on our doorstep with some great shopping and entertainment. I hope that we have the... More 

Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 via mobile

A very Spacious room. Great tranquil views. Clean and comfortable. Great value food and such a awesome menu. Super customer service. Shame I couldn't stay longer. Beautiful hotel. Nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Getmetothehotel, thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at the hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and found your room to be clean and comfortable and our team offered super customer service. I hope you will return to see us soon and use the hotel as a... More 

Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

I stayed here for 1 night for business, I ate in the restaurant in the evening and also had breakfast. The hotel was clean and so was my room. I didn't sleep particularly well as the room was pretty warm. I did turn the radiator off and open the window which helped. (I live in an old house which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Dee12321, thank you for adding your review to Trip Advisor, I am delighted you enjoyed your business stay and enjoyed your meals at breakfast and dinner and I have shared your positive comments with our chefs. I am sorry that you found your room to be too warm, this is very much a personal choice, we have recently hosted... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We had an over night stay here and it was absolutely beautiful,fantastic service very friendly atmosphere ,very clean ,the food was beautiful and this hotel was smack bang in the town centre so not far to walk to shops at all our stay here was to go and see ub40 and none of us wanted to drive home so after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Joanne S, Thank you for posting your comments, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the friendly atmosphere offered by our team. The hotel is very well situated with the centre of Middlesbrough right on our doorstep with some great shopping and entertainment, including the UB40 concert which you attended last night. I hope that we have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thistle Middlesbrough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Middlesbrough

Address: Fry Street, Middlesbrough TS1 1JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Middlesbrough 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Middlesbrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Middlesbrough Hotel Middlesbrough
Thistle Hotel Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Thistle Hotel

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay