We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Middlesbrough

Certificate of Excellence
Fry Street, Middlesbrough TS1 1JH, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thistle Middlesbrough
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle Middlesbrough
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    132
    46
    10
    9
See reviews for
31
60
26
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (328)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for my husband's birthday and going to see a show. Staff were all friendly and room was lovely and clean. Enjoyed the breakfast on the morning and was surprised at the choice available as the price of breakfast was included in the price of stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I just wanted to say thank you to team Middlesbrough. They were all such caring and kind staff. Jade and Emma were on reception and nothing was too much trouble. I had an amazing suite and the team had some trainees working alongside the team and they were all lovely. The food was perfect and the chefs catered to all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I recently stayed at the thistle in Middlesbrough, although it was a nightmare to park (due to a function I think) it was fantastic besides this. I had a lady called Samantha check me in and she was great, lovely person and very helpful, she had a young man help me with my bags. I was in middlesbrough for business... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear MrsWilliamson87, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your recent stay at Thistle Middlesbrough. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that Samantha and Amy offered such great customer service. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the facilities at the hotel, its great to hear that you... More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel does the job, it gives you peace and quiet in a decent enough room. I wouldn't call it a 4 star but I guess it's that with Middlesbrough being such a boring and crap city. The room is a bit too white and plain. There were leftover clothes in the shelf that hadn't been removed by the last... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Raj K, thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay here at Thistle Middlesbrough. We apologise that some items were left in the room from a previous guest, I understand this was dealt with immediately once we were notified, but this is not typical of the high standards that we pride ourselves on and I am sorry that... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed here for 1 night and the overall experience was phenomenal. Jade was brilliant at check in. Marieta was outstanding during breakfast that Sunday morning, along with Geoffrey and Adele (loved her accent :D). We had a lovely dip in the pool on Saturday evening and even though it was only a quick one as it was near the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear JRussell22, thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay here at Thistle Middlesbrough. I’m delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and will pass on your comments to the team members you’ve mentioned. It’s such a shame that your jump from the Transporter Bridge had to be postponed but we are pleased this gives you... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Arrived and was pleasantly surprised to be told that breakfast was included in price, room well equipped and spacious, enjoyed the leisure facilities, pool, jacuzzi and sauna, breakfast was very good too, only negative was that a member of staff walked into our room without knocking which was a bit disconcerting, would stay here again though

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Andrea, thank you for posting your feedback following your stay here at Thistle Middlesbrough. It's great to hear that you had the pleasant surprise of having breakfast included in your rate when this wasn't expected and that you found this to be a good experience - we truly believe that a good breakfast starts your day off in the... More 

london
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Got good deal inc breakfast...only to find they charge £3.50 for hot chocolate. Tea and coffee comes with brekkie but hot choc extra. Ridiculous. Hope manager attends to this. Apart from loss of star for that, happy to recommend hotel, also close to Boro FC ground.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear benbLondon. Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle Middlesbrough. I was very pleased to find that you are happy to recommend the hotel to other guests, I will pass on your hot chocolate comments to our central food and beverage team. Thank you for choosing Thistle Middlesbrough and we look forward to... More 

Porth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
62 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Have stayed at this hotel approximately three times over last few years. It`s in a good location, just off main A road, close to town and only 5 mins from Riverside stadium. Nice modern rooms, not too big, comfortable beds and good shower. Friendly ladies on reception, very helpful. Excellent Wi-Fi @ hotel all-over, was advised it had been upgraded.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear welshone03, thank you for posting your feedback following your return visit to Thistle Middlesbrough, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our reception team to be friendly and helpful. I appreciate your comments regarding the hotel location, close to the many shops, restaurants and bars in the town centre and we are the closest hotel to... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

The staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was adequate but no more. The breakfast was similarly adequate. Strong smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor on returning to our room although this is the fault of the guest rather than the hotel. Lack of choice of hotels in Middlesbrough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for providing me with your comments, I am delighted that you chose to stay with us when you visited the town and that you enjoyed the service offered by our team. The hotel team go out of their way to look after our customers and it is nice for them to receive your positive feedback. I... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

I had a really bad stay in the hotel. Slept horribly, woke up with head aches. I felt the rooms where too claustrophobic. plus the TV connection is horrible here so nothing to pass time. the Rooms have really small windows with no view of the outside world so you just feel trapped within the four walls. Though the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DR0b1, General Manager at Thistle Middlesbrough, responded to this review

Dear Piyush K, Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay, I am disappointed to read that you did not sleep well and did not have a good signal on the television. Thank you for raising this with our reception team while you were in the hotel giving us the opportunity to change your room... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question