We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portobello House

Certificate of Excellence
225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portobello House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Portobello House
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    40
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
48
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Plus. Modern clean great location near tube and portobello road friendly helpful great bar Minus. Rooms bit small no bath breakfast basic entrance off street up a fire escape All in all I would recommend for couples wanting to be near Portobello or even Notting Hill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

7 mins walk to underground. Compact, cosy & clean hotel room with an espresso machine :)...The only negative thing is that hot water supply is only just warm... It is being fixed as advised. We enjoyed the cocktail hotel bar on ground floor very much... it opens until late. It has got picture (old movies) projected on the wall...quality drinks,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

My mother and I stayed last night and were both very happy with our stay. It was easy to find from Ladbroke Grove tube station, come out, turn left straight up the road and it's on your left. We were welcomed politely by staff members and shown to our nice and very clean room. We both slept well and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We stayed at Portobello House on our wedding night. Pros: Friendly, helpful manager; clean, quiet and comfortable room; good location. Cons: Lack of privacy - someone walked into our room at 10.30am (checkout is at 11) at a rather embarrassing moment!! Also, very slow/poor service in the bar downstairs - asked 3 times for a menu before finally receiving one.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
limatad, Front Office Manager at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking time to write a review, and I am sorry that you had an issue, which I checked, because we do care that all our guests have a lovely stay. The reception cctv noted that the housekeeping arrived at !0 .50 am. and were on your floor 3 minutes after that. Even if it was... More 

York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

We booked 2 rooms for a nearby family wedding. Accommodating and attentive staff, able to check in early, helpful throughout stay. Rooms small (but with comfortable king size bed) but spotless. En suite very clean. Our room was reasonably quiet. We ate evening meal in the bistro downstairs, food & service good (also had free cocktail & 10% off). Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I popped in for food with my boyfriend as we were passing and I'm so glad we did! Staff were very attentive, but not annoying and really made us feel welcome. I think that little details make all the difference; my boyfriends coffee came with a biscuit and the waitress (I think her name was Daizy) ensured we always had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bratislava
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I wanted to right a review for just the staff. Very accommodating, nice and professional! Very cute neighborhood and nice breakfast options. Georgina was especially friendly and helpful! I will be staying here the next time I come to London!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Overall a really nice hotel on the surface but unfortunately there are a few things letting it down. On arrival (we had been let down elsewhere on parking), it was fairly late and asked about local parking, the receptionist had no idea, not even about the parking immediately outside. Our room was very small, that I don't mind but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015 via mobile

Did not stay in the hotel itself have regularly popped into the pu itself for lunch/dinner on a Sunday, we have 3 young children and the stuff are always more than friendly and helpful would recommend for family meals

Was this review helpful? Yes
northampton
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

You get to the hotel part of "Portobello House" by means of a code through a door on the street and up a sort of fire escape. Reception is tiny and a steep climb awaits you to your room. There is no lift, so anyone with mobility issues will have a problem. Booking in was quite ellaborate with photographic evidence... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
limatad, Manager at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your very comprehensive and positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you soon, Come back and see our wonderful Sunday Cabaret.. Some of the things you were not sure about are there for a good reason . As you noticed we have a lively bar and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities