We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portobello House

Certificate of Excellence
225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portobello House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Portobello House
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    38
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
46
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Portobello House on our wedding night. Pros: Friendly, helpful manager; clean, quiet and comfortable room; good location. Cons: Lack of privacy - someone walked into our room at 10.30am (checkout is at 11) at a rather embarrassing moment!! Also, very slow/poor service in the bar downstairs - asked 3 times for a menu before finally receiving one.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
limatad, Front Office Manager at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking time to write a review, and I am sorry that you had an issue, which I checked, because we do care that all our guests have a lovely stay. The reception cctv noted that the housekeeping arrived at !0 .50 am. and were on your floor 3 minutes after that. Even if it was... More 

York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked 2 rooms for a nearby family wedding. Accommodating and attentive staff, able to check in early, helpful throughout stay. Rooms small (but with comfortable king size bed) but spotless. En suite very clean. Our room was reasonably quiet. We ate evening meal in the bistro downstairs, food & service good (also had free cocktail & 10% off). Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I popped in for food with my boyfriend as we were passing and I'm so glad we did! Staff were very attentive, but not annoying and really made us feel welcome. I think that little details make all the difference; my boyfriends coffee came with a biscuit and the waitress (I think her name was Daizy) ensured we always had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bratislava
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I wanted to right a review for just the staff. Very accommodating, nice and professional! Very cute neighborhood and nice breakfast options. Georgina was especially friendly and helpful! I will be staying here the next time I come to London!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Overall a really nice hotel on the surface but unfortunately there are a few things letting it down. On arrival (we had been let down elsewhere on parking), it was fairly late and asked about local parking, the receptionist had no idea, not even about the parking immediately outside. Our room was very small, that I don't mind but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015 via mobile

Did not stay in the hotel itself have regularly popped into the pu itself for lunch/dinner on a Sunday, we have 3 young children and the stuff are always more than friendly and helpful would recommend for family meals

Was this review helpful? Yes
northampton
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

You get to the hotel part of "Portobello House" by means of a code through a door on the street and up a sort of fire escape. Reception is tiny and a steep climb awaits you to your room. There is no lift, so anyone with mobility issues will have a problem. Booking in was quite ellaborate with photographic evidence... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
limatad, Manager at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your very comprehensive and positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you soon, Come back and see our wonderful Sunday Cabaret.. Some of the things you were not sure about are there for a good reason . As you noticed we have a lively bar and... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Best things first... . comfortable bed. Nice bistro with great atmosphere and good roast dinner. Polite friendly receptionist. Good location, short walk to Portobello Market. Average things, room was a bit grubby (stained bed throw, brown finger smears in bathroom!!) and very small. Although to be fair , we were made aware of room size on the website. Now for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
limatad, Manager at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind things you said about us. Bad things first ! Sorry that our substantial complimentary breakfast was a disappointment to you. An additional option of hams and cheese is clearly offered, but most people love our help yourself complimentary breakfast , so we have little demand for the option but are happy to oblige... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Great little hotel a bit out of the manic centre london. Rooms are quite big for london standards and the bathroom is new and really nice. We had a receptionist called Louise (i think) and she was lovely and went out of her way to help, and make us feel welcome. Would recommend the hotel only on her they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

It's always hard to find a good, independent boutique hotel in London that lives up to the hype and website pictures but Portobello House is a truly superb find, for business or pleasure. Eclectic Ladbroke Grove has everything on its doorstep and this hotel matches that cultural vibe perfectly. The decor is modern and the rooms are a good size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
limatad, Owner at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very fortunate to have a great many interesting people staying and we really try to make their visit a happy time. Kindest regards Louisa More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question