We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 525 London B&Bs / inns

The Cleveland

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
Hotel amenities
The Cleveland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
80%
Ranked #84 of 525 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Coral W Adelaide, Australia
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    153
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
91
125
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (320)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Husband, daughter and I spent 4 nights here late August. We choose this room due to good reviews and because it had a kitchenette. We were not disappointed. The location is fantastic, minutes from Paddington station, high street shopping and M&S and Hyde Park. One day we walked into Central London through Hyde Park which was delightful. Our room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Assistant Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your visit to London and that staying in our hotel made it even more fulfilling. We would be more than happy to have a chance to host you again, hopefully you will have a chance to come to UK once more. Kind regards, Marcin Jagodzinski More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got a room at the top floor. Taking the suitcases up was a challenge. We got a room for three (sofa was transformed into bed) and this felt a bit too small for three people. No breakfast was a downside - not so easy to find a place for breakfast nearby. Clean and quite. Nothing extraordinary.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Assistant Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not like the room. We do understand that at some occasions it might be a struggle to get the luggage to the room. Unfortunately, as much as we were trying, it was not possible to have a lift access from every floor as this is an old building. If... More

Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night in a double room with its own kitchenette which was lovely except the electrical items such as the kettle had to be used away from the kitchen due to the lack of socket provision [health & safety issues]. Despite this quirky arrangement, we were very impressed. The hotel is clean and the staff on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Assistant Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do understand that it would be more convenient to have the sockets in the kitchenette but, as you have mentioned yourself, health and safety - we cannot have sockets in close proximity to running water source. We hope you will come to visit us... More

Littleton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

24-27 AUG 2014 The Cleveland is situated in a normally quiet section of London very close to Notting Hill. Carnival was going on while we were staying at the Cleveland, but all the activity was a few blocks away and the only real impact on us was when taking the underground from central London to the hotel. The Lancaster Gate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Assistant Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. We would be happy to see you again on the next carnival or any other occasion. New shampoo shelves are already on the way :) Kind regards, Marcin Jagodzinski More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hi guys Stayed 3 nights in room 31. Myself and my girlfriend were in London for Notting Hill 2014. Great location to tubes and Hyde Park and immediate vicinity packed with trendy bars and restaurants along with the run of the mill high street stores. Attentive and courteous service from hotel staff along with the attention to detail in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Assistant Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that we managed to make your Carnival even more enjoyable. We are even more happy to hear that you have made your enquiries for the next year already. If requested with long notice, we can arrange the same room for you. See you next year :) Kind regards, Marcin Jagodzinski More

Newcastle-under-Lyme
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with my two daughters in July 2014. It was a comfortable, clean room and the helpfulness and professionalism of the front of house staff was excellent. We were really pleased with our 2 night stay at this hotel. It was a great base for getting around London. A 10 minute walk in any direction took you to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we also hope that the concert you have attended met your expectations as well. We hope we will have a chance to host you again on future occasions. Marcin Jagodzinski Assistant Manager More

San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a great location, first off. It is in close proximity to Paddington, Bayswater, Hyde Park, and Lancaster Gate. There is a great garden across the street which is good for an evening stroll. If you're up at 2am there is also Edgware Road not too far away. The ladies at the front-desk are great, they are friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Assistant Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The fact that you had a great stay and were happy with our hotel makes us very happy as well. Next time you are in London you know where to go. Even just for a cup of coffee :) Marcin Jagodzinski Assistant Manager More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice and clean, very good shower and excellent kitchenette. Good location near Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. They employ a taxi service which picked us up at Heathrow. Cost £63 for 4 pax and 4 large suitcases. 5 minute walk to Hyde Park and probably 20 minutes to Oxford st.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Assistant Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will have a chance to provide for another enjoyable stay on future occasions. Kind regards, Marcin Jagodzinski, Assistant Manager More

Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Stayed here with my Husband & two Sons, ages 17 & 20 for 5 nights. Lovely & spacious room with queen bed & double pull out sofa. Kitchenette cleverly hidden behind pantry doors. Fridge, sink, microwave, stovetop, and kettle. Very convenient for making toast & coffee before heading out for sightseeing. Liked the large vanity that separated the bed &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Front Office Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to hosting you again. Kind regards, More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Great hotel close to Queensway so lots of shops and places to eat. Walking distance to Hyde Park 2x underground stations and Paddington station if you need to go to Heathrow. Has free Wifi, safe, kitchenette, coffee making and fridge. Good size room and bathroom which were spotless. In a quiet area. Reception were helpful. Would stay there again and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Assistant Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff helpful. Now you know where to stay next time you are in London. We would love to host you again. Marcin Jagodzinski Assistant Manager More

Do you own or manage The Cleveland?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Cleveland