We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cleveland

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cleveland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Cleveland
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    203
    50
    13
    12
See reviews for
127
145
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (414)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (109)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (107)
All months
Fribourg, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was quiet, clean, nearby all the activities with the tube. The staff was nice and efficient. The room was spacious and the little kitchen practical. The bathroom was neat and good provided.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and efficient. Also we are glad to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and practical. We are looking forward to hosting you again. Kind regards, Marcin Jagodzinski More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean, comfortable, well maintained. Friendly, helpful staff. Quiet. Be warned of steep stairs - there is a lift. Good location about 5 minutes walk from Bayswater Tube, a little more to Paddington. Smallest rooms are small - but this is London. Overall good value. Would come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Assistant Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked our service and the condition of the rooms. We would be more than happy to have a chance to host you again. If you would like a bigger room, we might suggest booking an Executive Studio Suite, it is usually just £10 more expensive than the Standard Studio but... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

+ Lovely entrance - asthetics and keep of the place superb; + Extremely well equipped room - kitchenette included! + Very spacey; + Beautifully clean. - Did not look like a lot of room / facilities on the ground floor / main hotel area although never really got a change to look.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of the rooms, it is part of customer service, which we try to pay most attention to. It is true that we do not have much common space. We also do not have a dining room, therefore... More 

Hexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Elegant quiet hotel in good location. Staff helpful and friendly. Only downside was tiny room on top floor lots of stairs and heavy luggage. Maybe my own fault for requesting qiet room away from reception!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and liked our hotel. Unfortunately we do not have access to all the floors but, as you have mentioned, if you requested room with lift access we could arrange that. And, as for the luggage, we will be happy to help you with it, should you... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for a special birthday surprise weekend for my mum's 60th. But what a surprise I had staying at this hotel was ........... a dirty quilt to sleep in!! When I informed the receptionist in the morning, there was just a 'sorry' ! No offer of compensation when I said I had to sleep with my coat!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the quilt up to standard. Had the receptionist known about it in the evening I assure you he would have arranged for a fresh one. The receptionist was not aware that you were expecting compensation, that is why he did not offer. Usually if someone... More 

Cymru / Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Situated on a quiet road and barely noticeable from the outside, the Cleveland was welcoming, clean and comfortable. We were fortunate enough to have a room at the top of the house - not served by the lift - which made it even more quiet and private. The studio was comfortably furnished and the small kitchen area hidden within the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You are most welcome! We figured that after their journey our guests want to go straight to the room that is why we showed you in and also explained what is there and how it works. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your remarks about our staff, we appreciate... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located in a quiet but convenient place, the room was quite lovely and clean, and the staff are really nice. Breakfast was delivered to our room every day which made the mornings easier. Part of the facilities were a tiny bit of old but that's the only weakness. Generally speaking, we did enjoy staying there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. It nice to read that you have found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed the breakfast. I am not sure which facilities did you find a bit oldish but this year we are changing the carpet in the corridors, mattresses in all rooms, refreshing the... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff are very professional and polite. Local knowledge was very good so were able to direct us to the best restaurants and local shops. They called a taxi for us to get to the bus station which arrived on time and got us to our destination without any problems. Room was very clean and had everything required to have... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found both our services and rooms first class. We are looking forward to hosting you on future occasions. Meanwhile, Happy Easter! Kind regards, Marcin Jagodzinski More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Very friendly staff, clean and tidy little room, lovely kitchenette. Clean bathroom, hot water. Good complimentaries. Good location although a bit too scary neighbourhood late at night. Will stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Assistant Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the amenities and cleanliness met your expectations. The neighbourhood is very quiet at night (due to lack of main road) and might seem scary but this is as far as it gets, it does not make it dangerous. We are looking forward to seeing you... More 

Wakefield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Was a nice quiet place to stay. On a dead end street in the Cleveland Square neighborhood. Entire area is white marble and attractive architecture. A short walk to Bayswater station and Paddington station with shopping and resturants all around. Hyde park was about a 5 minute walk. Staff was so friendly and willing to help with any and all... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Assistant Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. The area is indeed very beautiful and we are ourselves enjoying the peacefulness of the street outside. I suppose we are pretty lucky to be a hotel in central London with hardly any traffic outside. Thank you for your kind word about our staff, it is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question