We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grove Hill Hotel

38 Grove Hill | South Woodford, London E18 2JG, England
Hotel amenities
Save
You added Grove Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    12
    3
    5
    14
See reviews for
12
12
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

The room had 3 single beds in and was not really big enough for all 3. The bathroom stank, I believe we were getting fumes from all the other rooms when they used the Loo, an electric socket was loose and could have come away from the back plate. Breakfast sausages probably never saw any meat ( unless it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jenny N, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr H, You booked a discounted, budget room through Travelstay at a greatly reduced price, including Breakfast. On your arrival, you indicated that you were unable to manage stairs very easily and asked for a room on the ground floor, we had a triple room only available, as we were full otherwise. You immediately asked for a further discount... More 

beverley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

My family recently stayed at this hotel and we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and breakfast was very good. We were made to feel very welcome with my 3 year old son. I did read the other "bad" reviews but it didn't put me off. I would say they were a bit harsh and very biased. So don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to please and try and address any issues if they are brought to our attention at the time. We are indeed situated in a very nice part of London, with easy access to the centre with a range of interesting... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015 via mobile

I stayed at Grove Hill for 4 days whilst my property was being tefurbished. I found the staff helpful and matter of fact. Breakfast was substantial enough for my requirements. I spoke to the manager a large man with a good sense of humor who chatted to me each time I saw him. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jon, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do not hesitate in contacting us again in the future if we can offer our services again. Kind regards, Edwin More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Awful experience with this hotel. The manager took umbrage at an average (and not unfair) 3-star review we posted elsewhere. Shockingly, this resulted in our being turned away on Christmas Eve and my elderly father being treated disrespectfully when he came to check in on our behalf. We, of course, have reported this to our booking agent but they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms M. Thank you for your feedback ,however as you know, you had stayed two weeks previously and did indeed rate us highly but complained about being provided with disposable plastic cups as do many similar hotels these days. These are used as we consider this to be more hygienic. You could have had glass ones for your water... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

After 3 months of calls, emails, meetings and 500 pounds deposit we received a text from Mario, the manager, saying that the deal was broken because the hotel was full! We booked rooms for 16 people and suddenly we didn't have any place for them. We quickly booked Hotel Saint Georgios in Gants Hill (super professional, clean and cheaper!!) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Regarding your comment, your friend Pierre has failed to inform you of the full circumstances and therefore I can understand why your assertions are biased, factually incorrect and not objective. In order to assist further I can say that Pierre, having entered into several weeks of haggling and negotiation over the rates, agreed to provisionally book almost the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

Rooms booked weeks before with a deposit and canceled two days before due date by the hotel management who has no intention to give the money back! I read earlier reviews and understand similar cases were already reported. This hotel should simply be blacklisted.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philippe, Regarding your comment, your friend Pierre has failed to inform you of the full circumstances and therefore I can understand why your assertions are biased, factually incorrect and not objective. In order to assist further I can say that Pierre, having entered into several weeks of haggling and negotiation over the rates, agreed to provisionally book almost the... More 

Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Been going to this hotel for 20 years and find the staff excellent an been through different ownership an never encountered any problems. Been looked after very we'll an any issues sorted out straight away albeit a rarity. Price and value for money is very good especially for London! Looking forward to my next stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and positive review. We do aim to please and rectify any problems encountered as soon as we become aware of them. We do hope you enjoy many more occasions staying with us in the future. More 

Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was to be a fabulous family weekend in London for my sisters Civil Partnership. I had originally made direct telephone contact with the manager of Grove Hill (Mario [--]) earlier in 2014 to book four en-suite rooms for myself and my children and their partners. I then confirmed all of my requirements by email to Mr [--] and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Michael C, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

This review describes a 'problem' essentially created by the author's own making. Despite us doing everything to improve a difficult situation, on arrival and during their stay, with apologies and discounts, the guests left without complaining to us about their stay, and have rather, turned on us, after the event, on-line. Enquiries to reserve rooms for a wedding party commenced... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I booked a twin room at the grove hill hotel after booking I read the review board and very nearly cancelled my booking as a lot of the reviews were so bad. I'm really pleased I never cancelled. A beautiful old end of terraced house with many of the original features. There were two lovely polish ladies who booked us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
grovehillhotel, Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind sentiments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad that you gave us an opportunity to receive you as guests. We always do try to make our guest's time with us as comfortable as possible and we endeavour to address any issues or problems as they arise, if... More 

Shotts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed for 10 nights and had no hot water in my room for three nights as I work long days you would expect a hot shower when you get in , when I complained I was told to use the shower in another room then I didn't get clean towels for three days when I asked for clean towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
grovehillhotel, General Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek, We are very disappointed that two months after your stay, you have vindictively chosen to publicly air your complaints, having left the premises with hardly a mention of any issues, apart from the defective shower. You have chosen to cloud the true picture with pure lies. Accordingly, I will address your points in the order that you mention... More 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grove Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Amenities