We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,064 London hotels

Grove Hill Hotel

Save
You added Grove Hill Hotel to your Saves list
38 Grove Hill | South Woodford, London E18 2JG, England
Hotel amenities
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #922 of 1,064 Hotels in London
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    3
    4
    11
See reviews for
8
11
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Been going to this hotel for 20 years and find the staff excellent an been through different ownership an never encountered any problems. Been looked after very we'll an any issues sorted out straight away albeit a rarity. Price and value for money is very good especially for London! Looking forward to my next stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and positive review. We do aim to please and rectify any problems encountered as soon as we become aware of them. We do hope you enjoy many more occasions staying with us in the future. More

Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was to be a fabulous family weekend in London for my sisters Civil Partnership. I had originally made direct telephone contact with the manager of Grove Hill (Mario [--]) earlier in 2014 to book four en-suite rooms for myself and my children and their partners. I then confirmed all of my requirements by email to Mr [--] and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Michael C, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

This review describes a 'problem' essentially created by the author's own making. Despite us doing everything to improve a difficult situation, on arrival and during their stay, with apologies and discounts, the guests left without complaining to us about their stay, and have rather, turned on us, after the event, on-line. Enquiries to reserve rooms for a wedding party commenced... More

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked a twin room at the grove hill hotel after booking I read the review board and very nearly cancelled my booking as a lot of the reviews were so bad. I'm really pleased I never cancelled. A beautiful old end of terraced house with many of the original features. There were two lovely polish ladies who booked us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
grovehillhotel, Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind sentiments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad that you gave us an opportunity to receive you as guests. We always do try to make our guest's time with us as comfortable as possible and we endeavour to address any issues or problems as they arise, if... More

Shotts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 10 nights and had no hot water in my room for three nights as I work long days you would expect a hot shower when you get in , when I complained I was told to use the shower in another room then I didn't get clean towels for three days when I asked for clean towels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
grovehillhotel, General Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek, We are very disappointed that two months after your stay, you have vindictively chosen to publicly air your complaints, having left the premises with hardly a mention of any issues, apart from the defective shower. You have chosen to cloud the true picture with pure lies. Accordingly, I will address your points in the order that you mention... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The location is perfect, very close to amenities and shops and about 8 min walk to the station the hotel inside looked not very clean and very old I imagined it from the photos to be comfortable nice looking place, shame on the looks

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael C, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay with us. Unfortunately, you booked one of the only two rooms that have not been refurbished, although one of these has since been upgraded. Even so, these rooms are very clean and tidy, Tye Duty Manager checks each room personally prior to them being offered. We were entirely... More

Alicante, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

booked this hotel for 8 nights the manager rudly kicked us out by saying we smoked in the room which we didnt and theres a fire alarm aswell it would of gone off they called the police as the came they made a reference even said it was completly wong disagreed with the manager attitude and wanting us out with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
grovehillhotel, General Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

You indeed stayed with your boyfriend at our premises having booked a room at a discounted rate and had booked in for a weeks stay. On the the Thursday of your stay the Housekeepers noticed that there was a very strong smell of herbal cannabis smoke coming from your room and you were kindly asked you to stop. You were... More

Bourg Saint Maurice, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at short notice over the Christmas period as everywhere else was full up. Took one of the last rooms available and negotiated a better rate. It was just what I needed, clean and tidy. The breakfast was nice and unlimited free wifi. I have booked to stay again next weekend when I'm back in London.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We booked a hotel for tonight New Year's Eve we put in our deposit and it said we had booked it. We called your hotel this morning and you said you have your booking to someone else, what a joke. You have disappointed us all on a time that was meant to be our happiest. Thank you very much. Now... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
grovehillhotel, General Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

You booked a greatly discounted room through an Agency, for New Year Eve and paid a deposit to them. You did not complete the booking form correctly and did not indicate the approximate time that you would arrive. You were contacted and changed your mind three times on throughout the day you were due to arrive. You then wanted to... More

Gravesend
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Warm friendly greeting on my arrival. My room was comfortable and clean, with plenty of tea and coffee making facilities. Bed was comfortable with fresh linen. Room had a wall mounted free view tv. Wrapped soap bars in the sink and shower gel provided for the ensuite shower which again was clean. Ideal location for trips into London. Met with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My companions and I were booked at this hotel for a weekend in July. After arriving in London to find they no longer had our booking (via phone) then finding they wouldn't take any further calls we had to seek alternative accommodation. Since then the manager had offered personal compensation, and after accepting this kind offer he has backtracked and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
grovehillhotel, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, You have maliciously given us the lowest possible rating for our premises when you never actually stayed at the Hotel. Instead of dealing with the relevant and salient points, so that we could draw this matter to a close, you have now resorted to publicly airing your grievances. You claimed to have stayed in a Hotel on the... More

Been to Grove Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Hill Hotel

Address: 38 Grove Hill | South Woodford, London E18 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #922 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Family run, long established Guest House in a lovely part of London. Easy access to the West End and City, approximately 20 to 30 minutes. Close to the Central Line Station at South Woodford. Situated in a quiet Residential Street and yet 2 minutes walk to shops restaurants and Cinema. M25 and A406 a 5 minute drive. All rooms refurbished and great value for money. Prices include a Full English Breakfast, Tea and Coffee making facilities. A lovely area to stay in if you want peace and quiet at night but easy access to all facilities and Central London. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grove Hill Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grove Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.