We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,073 London hotels

Opulence Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Gloucester Place, Off Baker Street, London W1U 8JE, England (Marylebone)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Opulence Hotel to your Saves list
Opulence Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
13%
Ranked #995 of 1,073 hotels in London
  • Overview
  • Reviews (143)
  • Photos (55)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    14
    36
    75
See reviews for
16
54
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is never a four star hotel it needs the authorities to do a thorough check. I booked this for a present but I was thoroughly embarrassed. Th bedroom was at the very top of the hotel three floors up with no lift and just a box room.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ipswich, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I paid £137.70 via Lastminute.com to stay here and it was appalling. I stay in London for work regularly so I know what's available and for what price. You should avoid this hotel at all costs. I was on the top floor (there are a lot of stairs) bedroom which was baking hot (no air conditioning), thick dust on everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked two rooms via a secret hotel deal. One twin and one double. The double (room 4 was not too bad) the twin (awful basement room)was so bad we ended up staying in a double (room 2 I think) Not a great room. Shower had two settings freezing cold + boiling (a scaulding danger that was apparently 'fixed' but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Do not stay here, wallpaper falling off the walls, rooms are tiny, beds looked dirty, decor simply awful. Needless to stay, we didn't even stay! If you have heavy suitcases, there is no lift either... and lots of stairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
opulence01, Front Office Manager at Opulence Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, It is refreshing to note that even guests who claimed they didn't stay feel obliged to comment on the hotel regardless of the input. However, in this particular case after paying for three nights in advance for a standard room, this customer requested to speak to the manager. The night manager at that time was informed that guests... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We arrived at the opulence and were surprised to be told that we had been upgraded, to the executive room, which was unexpected. The room was a good size, loads of pictures on the rusty red coloured wall paper, big television, four poster bed, big windows that looked out over Gloucester place road. The room was very dark and with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
opulence01, Front Office Manager at Opulence Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the décor taste differ (the same Suite has been used for filming three BBC productions), but would like to point out that there was a closet inside the jacuzzi to prevent the water splashing over the bathroom. We would have gladly provided fresh towels and toilet paper, should you have contacted... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The far from Opulent hotel is basic & pays little attention to the finer details. Though it's fairly clean the mould in the fridge, torn wallpaper & basement/dungeon room hardly screams Opulence. Alex Politzi would have a field day. The photos on the website are misleading so I've included some of my own.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The decor looks extraordinarily overdone - lots of pictures, bonsai, tapestries; chandelier and huge mirror, rich burgundy coloured bedspreads and curtains in the bedroom, nicely tiled in the bathroom but the 4 flights of very steep stairs are a killer, the wallpaper is scuffed all the way up from people lugging suitcases up the stairs. Carpet on the stairs has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
opulence01, Front Office Manager at Opulence Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet, Thank you for your feedback. You have booked a room only tariff, which does not include breakfast & wifi, therefore these were not provided free of charge as clearly states on your booking confirmation. Since we have opened nearly 10 years ago we have never changed our breakfast & wifi prices and we believe they are reasonable and... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We reserved a room at the Opulence Hotel because the location and the amenities it promoted. This hotel did not live up to our expectations. When we saw our room we tried to get our money back but the management refused and charged us for two nights even though we never stayed the night. I would not recommend this to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
opulence01, Front Office Manager at Opulence Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you felt we did not meet your expectations during your recent trip to London. However, our records indicate that you were a walk-in customer who asked to see the room before paying. You then happily have paid for your stay in full, knowing quite well in advance that this will... More

Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I'm home again from a trip to England that was wonderful until the very last night that was sadly spent at the Opulent Hotel. Opulent? What a misnomer. The place is an unmitigated dump and, for me, it proved a real health hazard. Let's start with the full staircase to the tiny landing that houses the reception desk. The carpeting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
opulence01, Front Office Manager at Opulence Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were disappointed to learn that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We have checked with the receptionist that checked you in and would like to comment as follows: Firstly, it is customary from all receptionists to welcome each and every guest before asking for the name. In this particular instance he asked for your... More

Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed here for one night, it was fine. I had a junior suite and was offered the choice of two when I arrived. Decor slightly odd in places within the room (actually had all the ingredients to be stunning with the right eye for detail - high ceilings and fireplace in the room). Plenty of space in the room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
opulence01, Front Office Manager at Opulence Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Further to your recent visit I wanted to thank you for your positive feedback. We appreciate your input and take your comments on board. I only wanted to mention that the TV is adjustable to any angle for your comfort. Thank you once again and we are hoping to serve you soon in the near future. Kind Regards,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Opulence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Opulence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opulence Hotel

Address: 47 Gloucester Place, Off Baker Street, London W1U 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Opulence Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Opulence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opulence Hotel London, England

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
19

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Opulence Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer