We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Normandie Hotel

96 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Normandie Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    4
    14
    22
    22
    54
See reviews for
24
36
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's an excellent choice when you need a place to sleep in London. The hotel staff is very kind and friendly, rooms were cleaned every day. Full English breakfast is included in the price, there is free wi-fi. It's only a 10-minute walk from Marble Arch and Oxford Street. I'll definitely choose it again when I go to London and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel satisfactory. I look forward to see you again. More 

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well no bed bugs in our 2 rooms in a few days... The building is old so you get the Victorian feeling of an old London houses which is interesting as well (squeaking stairs, small corridors, small rooms...). We slept ok, the breakfast was good - all as expected in this price range. The best thing is location - so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I hope you will be returning to the hotel and please make yourself known to me when you do. If you are not happy with anything please speak to the reception staff and we will help you with any problems. More 

Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Writing this review is long overdue for me, but here goes. We were lured in by the cheaper price and the central location (Paddington) which would allow us to explore London with ease one last time before leaving Europe. We had spent the previous few months using AirBNB for our accommodations, but decided we wanted to change things up and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

I stayed in this hotel for one night and I know it's not meant to be anything really special but I was glad that I didn't stay longer. The checking process went well but when I got to my room I found that there were no tea and coffee making facilities, no mirror in the bedroom at all, mismatched furniture,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize for your disappointment but we advertise that tea and coffee facilities are available on request .I am surprised that you felt that the furniture was mismatched and that the bathroom was very small.Unfortunately since the hotel is very small we have no alternative but to have small bathrooms in some of the rooms.The hotel has been decorated recently... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

My wife and I booked this hotel as a base to visit central London, thinking it appeared adequate for somewhere simple to sleep in. We were wrong. The hotel appears nice from the road. The room was shocking, the bed looked uncomfortable and was clearly well used. There were hairs in the bed and the throw over the bed I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am surprised you found the room shocking as it is one that is requested by regular guests. The beds were all changed last year and so was the throw in that room. We have regular pest control inspections and do not have problems with rodents. I have checked the e-mails I sent you and could not hear any laughter.In... More 

Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

I was really apprehensive after reading the bad reviews but I must admit the staff and especially the girls in the kitchen were really friendly and helpful. My husband and I have mobility problems and the hotel put us on the ground floor. The only problem is going down the stairs to the dining room. Luckily I can walk but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We can take breakfast to the room for people with mobility problems. I look forward to seeing you again. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in!! A place where they solict prostitutes,rat traps in the rooms,bad management,terrible food,not child friendly we was gave a single bed for a 10 week old no kettle nor micro wave! Pubic hairs in bedding and shower and sink.no parking. Shock all round!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

We do not solicit prostitutes! Neither do we have mouse traps they are mouse boxes which are a legal requirement. Nor public hairs in shower and bedding as I check the rooms before the guests check in. If you had advised us that you were bringing a ten week old baby we would have provided a baby cot. Microwave???? in... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I stayed here 2 nights with my brother. I expected worse according to rating and reviews, but it was sufficient to our needs! We got good sized room. Facilities were really old and in poor condition. Bathroom in suit but small! Smallest handbasin ever. But u do what u need..Great water pressure in shower! But the bathroom door- It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. The facilities have now been refurbished but unfortunately the bathroom doors can only close as they are due to the size of the rooms. Andy Morphakis More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I don't understand why people in these ratings are telling to avoid this hotel. Me and my boyfriend had a lovely stay when we visited London during couple of days. Location was awesome, we walked 5 minutes to Oxford st. Staff was always friendly and the most important; rooms were clean (pretty small though but it was ok to us).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy M, Manager at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for your kind comments. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Andy Morphakis More 

Athens
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

It was not terrible or dirty or small. It was uncomfortable.The breakfast room was...actually there were no room and when I was expected a classic British breakfast I saw two eggs and a can with beans. Find another hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andy M, Manager at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I think this comment has come to the wrong hotel, as all our rooms have en-suite bathrooms. We also have a lovely dinning room and we serve Full English Breakfast not just eggs and beans and by no means in a tin!! Best wishes Andy Morphakis More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Albro House
Albro House
#672 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avon Hotel
Avon Hotel
#766 of 1,054 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#703 of 1,054 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#787 of 1,054 in London
2.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queensway Hotel
Queensway Hotel
#769 of 1,054 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#632 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay