We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Normandie Hotel

96 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Normandie Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Normandie Hotel
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    21
    21
    52
See reviews for
22
35
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Heywood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

I was really apprehensive after reading the bad reviews but I must admit the staff and especially the girls in the kitchen were really friendly and helpful. My husband and I have mobility problems and the hotel put us on the ground floor. The only problem is going down the stairs to the dining room. Luckily I can walk but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We can take breakfast to the room for people with mobility problems. I look forward to seeing you again. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in!! A place where they solict prostitutes,rat traps in the rooms,bad management,terrible food,not child friendly we was gave a single bed for a 10 week old no kettle nor micro wave! Pubic hairs in bedding and shower and sink.no parking. Shock all round!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

We do not solicit prostitutes! Neither do we have mouse traps they are mouse boxes which are a legal requirement. Nor public hairs in shower and bedding as I check the rooms before the guests check in. If you had advised us that you were bringing a ten week old baby we would have provided a baby cot. Microwave???? in... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I stayed here 2 nights with my brother. I expected worse according to rating and reviews, but it was sufficient to our needs! We got good sized room. Facilities were really old and in poor condition. Bathroom in suit but small! Smallest handbasin ever. But u do what u need..Great water pressure in shower! But the bathroom door- It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. The facilities have now been refurbished but unfortunately the bathroom doors can only close as they are due to the size of the rooms. Andy Morphakis More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I don't understand why people in these ratings are telling to avoid this hotel. Me and my boyfriend had a lovely stay when we visited London during couple of days. Location was awesome, we walked 5 minutes to Oxford st. Staff was always friendly and the most important; rooms were clean (pretty small though but it was ok to us).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy M, Manager at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for your kind comments. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Andy Morphakis More 

Athens
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

It was not terrible or dirty or small. It was uncomfortable.The breakfast room was...actually there were no room and when I was expected a classic British breakfast I saw two eggs and a can with beans. Find another hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andy M, Manager at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I think this comment has come to the wrong hotel, as all our rooms have en-suite bathrooms. We also have a lovely dinning room and we serve Full English Breakfast not just eggs and beans and by no means in a tin!! Best wishes Andy Morphakis More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I spend last week at Normandie Hotel and overall was really happy. The staff were available 24 hours and always ready to help. We spend a whole week there and honestly because of bad reviews I expected worse. Although the room was a bit small for 3 people and had mouse traps under the beds they were clean. Every day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Incidently, they are mot mouse traps but mouse boxes and please understand that they are a legal requirement. We do not serve buffet breakfast since this is a very small 14-room hotel and the food would get cold by the time the guests arrive into the dining room. (We also strongly believe that cooking... More 

Tambov, Russia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

You can survive there just because of people working there. Veeeery pleasant and helpful night guy and a lady, which was very polite and helpful serving the breakfast. Breakfast....Don't expect much...two eggs and beans...Don't even try the sosages...some jam and butter r on the table...and breakfast is over at nine, not very good if u r on your vocation... Room...nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to give yor opinion about the hotel. Yes, my staff are very pleasant and helpful. I'm surprised that you found everything very old in the rooms, as most things have been replaced recently. Only the furniture needs replacing, but it is only 13 years old. I am surprised that you didn't like... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

More like a hostel with private rooms. The staff is great and helpful. The night guy from Bulgaria was excellent and helpful. The breakfast lady works really hard. So the toilet was slow flushing and an alarm went off one night, your on vacation for an adventure! You dont spend much time at the hotel because there is so much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and find my staff helpful and polite. We hope to see you again in the future. Mrs Andy Morphakis, Proprietor. More 

Joensuu, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have visited over 35 countries during the past 25 years. I don't usually stay in fancy hotels but in Scandinavia Hotel Normandie would not even be called a hotel but rather a hugely over-priced hostel. Our family paid 300 euros a night for two rooms. In most of the major northern European cities we could have gotten a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

First of all, there were never any bed bugs in Room 8; the room was thoroughly checked by our pest control company. I distinctly remember who you are and I recall that I personally bent over backwards to deal with your constant and numerous complaints and enquiries. I also remember recommending that you let the cold water run for a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities